We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience all the comforts of home in this hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Verus

Save Saved
You added Riad Verus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Verus
1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 166 Fes B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Experience all the comforts of home in this hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I visited Morocco over a year ago, and during the trip was fortunate enough to meet one of the owners of Riad Verus while I was traveling through Fes.

I had booked a hotel located just outside the medina, but after meeting the owner and getting a tour of Riad Verus, I chose to stay there for my remaining two nights.

Riad Verus is vibrant, beautiful, comfortable, and best of all - the owners bring a European flair to the establishment. Of course, it is in every way a traditional Riad, but they have an understanding of what travelers from America (like myself) or Europe, may want in their hotel stay. For example, there are iPod docks in the rooms, fun activities, and a trendy roof lounge area that overlooks much of the city.

Expect to be pampered by the very attentive staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I visited Morocco over a year ago, and during the trip was fortunate enough to meet one of the owners of Riad Verus while I was traveling through Fes.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Riad experience and that despite the Riad is traditional we still understand what our clients want and so kit them out with all the amenities like idocks etc and a trendy terrace and plenty of activities.
We are pleased you felt well pampered by the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    51
    29
    20
    23
See reviews for
18
51
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Their tajine was excellent, free wifi was great but... We book this B&B on April 6 for 3 nights base on Tripadvisor's reviews but was quite disappointed. The room which we stayed was not clean, a layer of dust in all the drawers, floor quite sticky, broken shower although the owner did try to tape it. Every morning, they served breakfast AFTER 9AM, despite that we have told Rashid that we were leaving early next morning for our tours. There was no proper place to eat your meals except in your room. 70 + 4 euro city (per person per night) is not value for money

Room Tip: The twin room, Lucius was on the ground floor so at night it can be quite noisy although they normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased you found the tagines to be delicious and that the free wifi was great. We served you your food in the room as a complimentary private service but there is the terrace and general patio areas aswell as the balconies for meals aswell. Yes Riads can be noisy but as your correctly stated by 11pm usually guests have retired to their rooms or the nightclubs.
We were most disturbed to hear that the floor was sticky and that there was some dust in the room, all our rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily and the shower in question was fixed the day you left so apologies if it caused an inconvenience in the interim whilst I tried to fix it during the weekend when the shop was shut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My two girlfriends and I chose this hostel based on other people's reviews and they were SO right. The moment you get there you feel so safe and it's so clean and nice. They even helped arrange a taxi to pick us up at the train station from Marrakech, just so there wouldn't be any issues since we were three girls travelling alone. The owner, Noor, is such a great guy and offers to help you with everything, and Leonora, the manager, is just as nice. They have a rooftop and they offer cooking classes and have great suggestions for everything in Fes. Noor took really great care of my friends and I, and we will forever be grateful. I would go back time and time again just for the people and the hospitality they provide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased you had a magical stay in Fes and that the reviews were right which were posted and that you were made to feel safe and that the property is very clean and nice, that there was a taxi waiting for you at arrivals and that there was no issues as 3 girls travelling alone. We are pleased you found Noor to be a great guy and that the other staff were equally as nice and that amongst the activities on offer there was plenty to do and that you were well taken care of and that you enjoyed the hospitality provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Fes. I stayed there for two nights with two of my girlfriends. It's in a great location in a quiet area of town, but just a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Fes. The owners were very warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived and the rest of the staff was a delight as well. They were happy to set up any activities we we interested in and were always happy to offer assistance. Plus they were always looking out for us.
We reserved the triple room and it was spacious and very clean with complimentary linens and towels. There is a really fun energy in the riad. Most of the guests hung out in the first floor common area where there was music and people just happy to be there. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased you would highly recommend the hostel to anyone coming to Fes and that you liked the prime location and the warmth from the owners and the welcome you all received. We are pleased you liked all the activities and the assistance and that we looked out for you all.

Pleased you liked your triple room, that it was spacious and clean and had complimentary towels and linen and that the energy in the hotel was upbeat and that everyone of the guests were having a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hostel is amazing. We stayed just one night as a group of six. They were out of room but converted their upstairs rooftop room into a bedroom for us. The building is beautiful and definitely a great value at 15 euros a person. Staff was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious, roof terrace and center room were great, the wifi was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
So pleased you found the hotel to be amazing and that you liked your bedroom and the vibes and that it was such good value and beautiful too. That wifi was excellent and also you liked the staff, breakfast, atrium and the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Riad Fez was just an incredible introduction to Fez. Set a short walk back from the hustle and bustle of the medina meant it was so peaceful at night, making the amazing roof terrace even more breath taking. The rooms were luxurious, and the staff couldn't do enough for us. They even booked us excursion to the dessert without even having to leave the Riad. All staff had great knowledge of the area, and were happy to assist. Because it isn't huge you really get to know the other guest, especially with the built in social room. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased you found Riad Verus to be an excellent intro into Fes and that you liked the location, roof terrace and the views, the luxurious rooms and also the desert excursion and that you would definately return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in April with my friends. its comfortable, clean and good value for what we paid. the staff were all so very welcoming and help with organisation of desert trips and cooking classes amongst others. the hotel was meticulously clean and bed linen was of high standard. full marks on atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for finding the property to be such value for money and that you had a comfortable and clean stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Verus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.