We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely staff and beautiful Riad in fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Verus

Save Saved
You added Riad Verus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Verus
1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 163 Fes B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely staff and beautiful Riad in fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

loved our stay here. Felt very happy to arrive whete i was welcimed by such friendly people in a homely family environment. Lots of otger trsvellers and good vibe all around. Excellent breakfast and no noise complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the review and we are so pleased you found the staff to be lovely and you liked the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    48
    29
    20
    20
See reviews for
17
49
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay and it was so kind that the staff went out of their way to guide us through the maze that are the streets to their favourite restaurant (a local, non touristy, also trip advisor rated restaurant called Sekaya). Jo (joseph, or yousef?) even picked us up from the restaurant to guide us back to Riad Versus. Fantastic !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We were so pleased that you thought that the staff were amazing and you so liked the rooms and the service on offer of helping you find a restaurant and someone bringing you back so you dont get lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I found the staff here very friendly and helpful, without being in your face over pushing trips/excursions.

The Riad itself is nicely decorated and there are communial spaces downstairs and a great roof terrace, with some nice views of the Medina and surrounding area.

The directions given from the Rad provided an easy arrival and i was greeted with a welcomed mint tea, this was a nice touch after a long train ride.

The bedroom was spacious and clean and had everything you would require. There was no issue with noise and i had a great nights sleep.

I didnt have the breakfast as i was leaving early and i think it starts at 9.30am.

It is located near one of the main gates of the medina and i was provided with good instructions on getting to it and then advice for getting around once there.

I would recommend this Riad as a place to stay.

One note is the city tax that i didnt know about and wasnt made aware upon booking, but its only an extra £4-i think?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review and we are so pleased you had a great stay and thought the room to be spacious and clean and that the staff were not pushy or in your face iro trips or tours. we are also pleased you had a great nights sleep and that you didnt experience noise and you loved the roof terrace, the views and how easy it was to find and that you were greeted well and made to feel so at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very clean and tidy facilities with english-speaking, friendly staff, besides being close to one of the main gates of the Medina at a very quiet place perfect if you want to have a good night sleep. I spent 2 nights here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We were so pleased to read your review thinking that we were a great option for your stay in Fes and that the Riad was tidy, clean and that the staff were English or English speaking and that you were made to feel welcome in our Riad. Also pleased that you had a great nights sleep and that you found the place to be ambiental aswell as quiet at night and that you found the location to be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We had read some mixed reviews on this place but we had a great stay. The rooms were clean spacious and the general chilling area down stairs gave a good atmosphere with other guests. The breakfast was perfect set us up nice for the busy shopping days that lay ahead in Fes.

Would definitely stay here again, but don't try to walk to or find on your own from the train station, just get a cab to the fountain.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and yes you are right we get a mixed bag of reviews, some people love us and some not so much. The clients that we vibe best with are open minded, chilled, looking for a high standard and are on a tight budget but realise we cant offer 5 star hotel service and that we are a hostel run by a young management team but then again we dont charge 5 star prices!

We are so pleased you would love to return and we are so pleased you liked the breakfast so much and the cleanliness of the rooms, the spaciousness and also the great atmosphere from fellow travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice and clean raid, and the first impression was very friendly. They give us a good room. And we did book just one night there. And we desited to stay one more, and they sad we can, we ll probably just have to switch the room. And that was fine with us...but nobody told us, that they will move our things. They packed up our backpacks and move them to another room, without our knowledge. I think that nobody give you the right to pack you guests stuff. And at the end the manager sad, that we should check out by 12.00. But in the morning they said that we can stay. And the price of one night was higher then on booking.com. So if you go there, be careful, they dont trick you, like they did us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the review and we are pleased you thought it was a nice clean Riad and friendly too. You stayed in our value priced room which is cheaper than anything you will find on Booking.com in the morning you mentioned that you would like to stay another night and we said that you would have to change rooms which you were fine about. Come 12 noon, check out time you were nowhere to be found and I had another guest moving into the room, so as not to charge you for making this room now not habitable I asked the maids to carefully pack up your luggage and move them to another room, your new one. I think that had you been the new guests arriving you would not have appreciated having to wait until 5pm for the maids to get into the room to clean and make new beds because previous clients hadn`t checked out. We did what we had to do in this scenario and saw no other option. I am sorry that you felt dissatisfied with what we did but we were left with no other choice and by no means were we out to trick you? All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had a great experience at this beautiful riad. Youssef (spelling?), the receptionist, is very friendly and helpful and works very hard, as does the woman who cleans/cooks. The two of them work tirelessly to keep the place running smoothly. The food is good, and you can get free Moroccan mint tea, which is a fantastic perk.

I was there during Halloween, so they threw a party on the terrace. There was free food and a shisha. They ran out of drinks kind of early on, but we all had a grand time chatting, eating, smoking, and banging on drums.

The location of the riad is decent, because it isn't too far a walk to a taxi or the souks. For those of us cursed with poor internal compasses, it can be hard to find, but if worst comes to worst you can always pay some kid the equivalent of a couple dollars to take you there.

It isn't too expensive, especially if you stay for more than 3 nights, because the fourth night is free during most of the year. I ended up paying about 21 USD per night total. I enjoyed the fact that although it's priced like a youth hostel, it hosts people of all ages, so you get to meet a wider variety of people than you would find at a youth hostel.

The walls are thin and noise travels through easily, but it didn't bother me because I sleep like a rock.

I would recommend this place to others, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next romp through Morocco (whenever that may be).

Room Tip: The private room has no windows and thus gets no sunlight. I would go for a dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Riad so much and that you would certainly return again one day. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and how they tirelessly work very hard to maintain standards and to make sure all the guests have an excellent stay. So delighted you enjoyed the free Halloween party we laid on for all our guests, every week we aim to have a BBQ and we are pleased your stay coincided with one of the best parties we have had this year! We will post photos up so you guys can see. Glad you liked the free Moroccan tea during your stay and the cleanliness of the Riad and the atmosphere too of a mixed age lot of guests and that despite it being hostel prices there is a sense of decency and high standard to the Riad that is hard to come by. Thanks for pointing out to future guests that without printed directions it could be hard to find the Riad alone, worth noting that from the Batha fountain we do have sign posts on the walls and to be wary of the faux guides who will show you the way for a tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Verus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.