We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is like a Palace!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Verus

Save Saved
You added Riad Verus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Verus
1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 161 Fes B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It is like a Palace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are all centered around the beautiful patio, the Center and meetingplace of this Riad. The patio is highly decorated, like the traditional moroccan architecture as you find it in Fes. Rooms are very clean and the interior is in style and cosy. You really feel like a little king in an palace. The service is good, they can provide everything you need. Little tours and some entertainment are organised as well! It truly is a great place with a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you liked the Riad and the asthetics of the place and how you liked all the entertainment laid on and the tours on offer. We are pleased you were made to feel like a King.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    48
    29
    20
    20
See reviews for
17
49
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This has been definitely the worst hostel in Morocco. We have already informed Lonely Planet.

- Noor, the owner, is a very, very strange guy; the first thing he told us was that he likes to make money; well, maybe making money by ripping off tourists
- you have to give them all your credit card details which they will not throw away (like they promise when you give them your details)
- breaking the hostel rules results in a 100 Euro fine ("Girls groups and girls alone must be back in the Riad by 11 pm for their own safety")
- horrible rooms: we paid 40 Euros for a room with bunk beds; they did not fix our lock, our room was open for 2 days; the shared bathroom was very, very dirty
- there are a lot of negative reviews with a good rating on hostelworld.com - this is really strange; just read them and you will find out
- breakfast only from 9:30 on; if you want to eat earlier, you have to pay for it; making the laundry costs half a euro apiece, which is incredibly expensive
- the hostel is quite far away, we felt really uncomfortable at night
- you have to pay additional 4 euro taxes per person/night; we never paid that much in Morocco

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We were very upset to read your review and I would like to take the time to remark on some of the points raised in your review...

Noor is a very down the line guy, he is frank yes and maybe somethings were lost in translation at check in but it seems harsh to publicly vilify him on this website.

It is our policy to do a card authorisation on every booking that comes through the doors, as is the standard procedure in most hotels worldwide. We need to safeguard ourself against theft, damages so we do a swipe of cards, this information is destroyed upon check out and we run a very tight professional outfit here.

Yes we have rules in place, again like any reputable hotel worldwide, Morocco is a Muslim country where it is not common for women to be roaming the streets late at night and in order to mitigate trouble we do ask girls alone for their own safety to be back by 11pm, from personal experience myself I would never want to be out by myself at that time, perhaps in Europe this is the norm, but here in a totally different culture you are encouraging an attack and so yes I am strict on this but I think that if your 18 year old sister was staying here and something happened to her, then you would question why the hotel had not warned her of the dangers. At the end of the day I am responsible for the safety of my guests and I am not prepared to take the risks.

The room you stayed in is small yes but on tight budgets this is a great option, you have heating, shower facilities, breakfast, free wifi and damn comfortable mattresses. I was most surprised to read that you thought one of the shower rooms was not clean, our maids pride themselves on doing a really thorough cleaning job, especially in wet rooms but your points have been made and we will now be cleaning these areas 5 times a day to ensure this is not raised again.

As for locks, all our dorm rooms are non lockable from the outside but lock with catches from inside, as stated on the website you booked through but we do have individual lockers for clients possessions.

Again on the website we state that breakfast is from 09.30 as you were aware all the rooms face onto a beautiful courtyard which is where breakfast is served, so as to minimise disturbance in the mornings we serve breakfast from this time so our guests can have a lie in. There is also not alot to do in Fes before 10 am, most of the shops are shut, the markets are still opening and no museam is yet open. However I wish you had told me at the time that you wanted to go off exploring at the crack of dawn and I would have prepared up a packed breakfast or asked one of the cooks to come in early for you.

Cleaning is an additional service you can choose or not, we charge the same price as in town, 5 Dhm a piece of clothing, many hotels charge at least 5 Euros for trousers, so in comparison we could be seen as a bargain.

You also mention about the tax, another factor that is stated on the website prior to booking, so I feel I cannot be held liable for information that was available before you booked the place, reviews good or bad are subject to the individual, you didnt like our place but many others have and I feel confident with the other great reviews I have received.

We are really sorry that you felt so unhappy with your experience here - we are not the worst place in Morocco. 99% of our clients have an awesome time here. We wish you both the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

1 night here was enough.
the smallest room ever.
i booked a single room with private toilet and i founded a small wardrobe with extra super small toilet. crazy!
it was my room.
i changed my money with a good rate exchange for the manager... i needed it.

i do not come back here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, yes you did get a good exchange rate, 10.86 Dhm to the Euro, the same rate in the bank. As for the room you booked, you booked an INTERIOR SINGLE ROOM WITH SHOWER, AIR CON, HEATING AND SATELLITE TV, TOILET OUTSIDE and this is what you were given. For 20 Euros you had breakfast included and tax. You got an amazing deal and 99% of our clients love this room, we are sorry you felt so negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This riad is very pretty, each room is delightfully decorated and the detail in typical Moroccan style makes it lovely to stay in. The first night our shower was not functioning so to apologise we were offered a free upgrade and dinner which was lovely from the owner.

We did however feel that the staff were not as friendly or honest as other places we stayed in morocco. For example, we wanted to use our own guide that we had been recommended however the riad insisted on using their guide. The first guide was great (Siad) but we did end up In a carpet shop. The next day our guide was not very talkative and could not speak a lot of English, he also didn't explain any history to us.

The day trip to Maknes and the roman ruins is well worth while. It is very expensive however and I'm sure you could get it cheaper if you organized it yourself. We went in a group of 4 and the price of the car was €240 for the day and this does not include a guide.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but we just found the staff to be very focused on money and they could have been nicer.

Also the noise is an issue, we hardly slept one night due to workers and people shrieking in the street.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite has a great bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for the review and how you liked your free upgraded room and the decor of the building making it one beautiful Riad. I apologise about the noise on the street, this is something unfortunately we have no control over and we do our best to try and move on people from talking loudly on the street and we do employ a guardian to try and tell people to be quiet when they pass our property. As for the tour guide, each Riad is authorised in Fes to work with specific guides and although you could have used your own, we personally vet the guides who apply for permission to work with our clients and we know that they are honest and straightforward and we had no knowledge of your referral or even if he was legitimate, so sorry for this but we are glad you liked who you had, the guide you had on the 2nd day was not hired for history but to take you back to the carpet shop as you had requested to go back to continue haggling! As for the tour to Volubilis, yes the price is just 1200 Dhm but there were 4 of you who went and the car was only authorised for 3 so we had to hire a minivan which doubled the price but the driver did incorporate a tour of the Ramparts which made a saving of 500 Dhm, the car with the conversion rate was in fact just 210 Euros.
I am sorry you felt unhappy but we did explain this to you at the time of taking the tour so I am sorry you felt it was not resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staff at Riad Verus have made sure our stay in Fes has been the best it can be. As two young women travelling to Fes we were made to feel safe and welcome here. Our shared dorm was comfy, well equipped and more than met our needs. The Riad itself is beautiful and in a great location near to the souks and other attractions. If you are travelling to Fes then a stay in Riad Verus would be a great option!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased you felt as women travelling together so safe and well looked after at the Riad. As a foreign women myself in this city I know how important that is and I want all my guests, male and female to feel happy, welcome and secure. So pleased you found the shared dorm to be comfortable and that it more than exceeded your requirements and expectations. We are also pleased that you had a great nights sleep and that you thought the location close to all the main attractions in Fes and the souks to be ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived un announced and the team at verus were very accomodating in being able to place us in a room. The room itself was amazing, comfy beds, mod cons (air con tv docking station etc) and great bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and nice and healthy. The guided tours are a must which they offer to give you and are a good grounding on the town when you first arrive.

Lunch and dinner can be organised and there's good variety.

Great courtyard and rooftop to chill out and mingle with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so pleased to have been able to house you without a reservation and that you liked the room chosen for you with its comfortable beds and all the trimmings like the air con and the satellite flat screen and the idock station and that the bathroom was great in your opinion. Also so pleased that you found breakfast to be healthy, nice and plentiful.

The tours we do of the Medina are a great introduction to the confusing Medina so we are pleased you felt it a good start to your stay and that you liked the meals we organise and that there was plenty to choose from. And finally that you thought the patio was great and also the rooftop was a cool place to chill with other guests here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The riad in Fes, Morocco is amazing! The people that run the place are friendly and really helpful ensuring you are safe and happy. The place is decorated beautifully and is like a luxurious hotel. Awesome rooftop to hang out in with hammocks. Cleanest place we stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so pleased you found us to be an amazing Riad, so highly recommend us and that you liked how we run the place and that you found us to be friendly and helpful in making sure you were happy and safe. Also that you found the Riad to be beautifully decorated and that the Riad was comparable to a luxurious hotel. Again thanks for loving the awesome roof terrace and that you acredit us with being the cleanest place you stayed in during your time in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Verus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.