We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite gem in the heart of Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Melody

Save Saved
You added Dar Melody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Melody
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 99999, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 165 Fes B&B and Inns
Orange, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“An exquisite gem in the heart of Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wow! Dar Melody was an amazing riad with the most gracious of hosts. Laurence and Bernard treat you like family and made our stay in Fes extra special. You have to see this beautiful home to appreciate the grandeur and history of this almost 1000 year old property. With modern bathrooms and gorgeous furnishings, I wanted to stay forever! The breakfast was fabulous and the price was incredible. You will love your stay at Dar Melody.

PROPERTY: Dar Melody is a multi-level riad in the heart of the Fes Medina. Bernard and Laurence are friendly and warm french hosts who exhibit a wonderful level of care for their guests. Upon arrival, Bernard met us outside the medina and made arrangements for a porter to bring our bags. He led us into the winding alleys and passages of the medina (no cars in the medina). We arrived later in the evening and settled in after the restaurants closed. Bernard arranged for a neighbor girl to lead us to a deli to grab sandwiches for dinner. At night, the medina was quite confusing for unfamiliar touring so we were very grateful for a guide. The entrance to the riad is a giant ornately carved door. Once inside, the interior opens up into a grand room that stretches three stories high. At the top, an open ceiling reveals the night sky. On the rooftop, you can sip wine at the full length table or read a book in the shade of the canopied cushioned lounges. What a view! The riad only has 3 rooms so you truly have an intimate guest house experience. I can't do the riad justice with words.

ROOM: We stayed in La Chambre Menzeh on the rooftop level. What an amazing room! A gorgeous 4-poster bed was covered in gorgeous linens and beautiful sequined and beaded pillows. the giant windows had ornately carved wood shutters that opened to the sprawling rooftops of Fes. This is a HUGE room with lovely Moroccan and eclectic furnishings. The bathroom was fantastic with modern fixtures and detailed tile work. Little trinkets and baubles are placed throughout the room giving Menzeh a stylized personal touch. There is something beautiful everywhere you look. The roof boasted ornate wooden carvings and colorful Moroccan lamps. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I loved this room and having traveled many places and stayed in many hotels, far and away, this was my absolute favorite. The room was very quiet at night and Menzeh's door is right across from the entrance to the rooftop. I felt like I had my own personal paradise inside and outside the room.

LINENS: The towels were soft and lovely. The bed linens were fine.

SERVICE: Melody is a small operation but very professionally run. Our room was cleaned daily and everything was thought of and provided for. Bernard and Laurence were there when you needed them, and often out of sight when you did not. If we needed anything, they had an answer or advice. Their English is a little limited though it is most definitely good enough for communication. As I was traveling with a native french speaker, he was able to chat with Bernard and Laurence quite often.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is served downstairs in the open central area. As I mentioned, the roof is open to the sky so you feel like royalty eating at a grand dining table in the middle of the main room. We ate with other guests and chatted about our travels. The food was great with fresh orange juice and tea or coffee. Bernard and Laurence provide a large selection of breakfast foods from local delights to eggs as you like them. It was a great start to Fes adventures.

PRICE: Depending on your exchange rate, it was roughly $100US a night. They prefer payment in euros but will take dirhams. No credit cards - cash only. They do not require a deposit - just your good word and confirmation. Communication was very easy via email. They will help you arrange transportation if you are arriving from an airport.

LOCATION: Dar Melody is inside the ancient and giant medina of Fes. You do not have to walk far to visit the famous tanneries (yuck) or peruse the artisan shops. The medina is very confusing at first but you will get used to it and will find your way around. Bernard pointed out landmarks to help guide us. Within the medina, there are many steps and steep inclines and declines throughout. Make sure to wear good walking shoes when venturing out. The Fes medina is enormous and absolutely fascinating. Artisan craftsman from tanners, metalworkers, embroiderers, bakers, tailors, woodcarvers, lace makers and on and on and on have been living and working inside the medina for generations. There is so much to see it is overwhelming and fantastic! Inside the medina, it is safe and Dar Melody is in a safe location. Bernard and Laurence will point out the unsafe areas outside the medina and will steer you clear of them (pickpockets). ***When you approach Dar Melody, at first, you may be daunted by the spray paint on the walls, low ceilings of the medina and less than immaculate alleys. This is just part of a medina that has over 500,000 residents and is nothing to be concerned about. The Medina of Fes is both the largest and the oldest medina in the world!

You will be ecstatic with your stay at Dar Melody. Cheers and happy traveling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
183
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duren, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely amazing 900 year old, beautifully decorated and refurbished dar in the middle of the medina of ancient Fés. Beautiful rooms and very hospitable owners. Thank Laurence and Bernard for accommodating us and organizing pick up and all for us. Breakfast was amazing and we truely enjoyed staying with you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are avid travelers and Dar Melody is a rare find, our three nights were wonderful. The Riad is a paradise in the heart of the Medina and is a must stay if visiting Fes. The rooms are spotless the beds are very comfortable. Staying in the rooms makes one feel like Arab royalty! The breakfast were amazing. On top of everything else the hosts Laurence and Bernard were very helpful, which is very important as your first visit to the Medina can be overwhelming. Staying here would be a deal at twice the price. Thank you Laurence and Bernard for making our visit to Fes very special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is one of the nicest places my husband and I stayed in our 2 weeks in Morocco. Laurence and Bernard were very good hosts - around and helpful when we needed them but otherwise leaving us be. The first evening we got there Laurence met us from the taxi drop-off and had arranged two boys with a hand cart to transport our luggage. She and Bernard gave us a map and showed us where to go for eating, entertainment and transport and also a couple of areas to avoid where pickpockets were prevalent. It was exciting to be staying actually within the old Medina - having a smart phone helped a lot with not getting lost when on our own!
The riad is beautiful - from the main room where breakfast is served all the way up to the roof terrace. Our room was a lovely double with pretty drapes over the comfy bed. The bathroom had twin sinks and was attractively tiled in green.
The breakfasts were absolutely amazing - among the best we have had when staying anywhere. So much variety and all quality ingredients - including chocolate pancakes, fresh fruit, smoothies, scrambled eggs and dates stuffed with walnuts. They were also happy to sell my husband a few cans of beer in the evening.
All in all the nicest atmosphere of anywhere we stayed on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are two couples from Australia who stayed at Dar Melody for two nights in May. Our hosts Laurence and Bernard were just wonderful. We were a bit nervous as we were driving independently through Morrocco and had a stressful time finding our Riad in Tetouan the night before. Bernard met us at Maccas and we followed him to the carpark and then he guided us on foot to Dar Melody. Our bags were carried through the maze of little streets there and back a couple of days later with no cost to us. We really appreciated this service. Laurence cooked the most amazinfg breakfasts I have ever had in my life. It They were a highlight of our 3 months holiday. On our first night there she led us through the maze of streets (????) in the Medina to a restaurant for dinner. She pointed out all of the landmarks and then we were challenged to find our way home... which we did successfully. We were very pleased with our selves. Laurence also organised a wonderful, knowledgeable, clever guide for us and we saw so much of the Medina and of Fes and learned so much of the hstorty of the city and of Morrocco. If you could only visit to one city in Morrocco it must be Fes. Our rooms were huge and sumptuous and impeccably clean. My husband and I were on the top floor and our room opened to the rooftop balcony. Wonderful but boy there were a few steps to get up there..... A wonderful experience and we would go back in a flash. Thank you to Laurence and Bernard for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I do not understand the incredible rating the Dar Melody received. I booked this on the ratings from TripAdvisor.

The best service and incredible breakfasts could not make up for the cold uncomfortable room, which had not been dusted. The floors and window sills were dirty, bed lumpy and the toilet ran unless the flusher was constantly jiggled. I understand it is an old building, but the dust and dirty floors were not necessary with a 10 minute cleaning, this is what I paid for.

I am sorry to give a disappointing review, but it is what it is. Otherwise the host and hostess were magnificent, and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quimitou, Propriétaire at Dar Melody, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are very surprised by your comment.

In each room dar melody, we have heating.
if you set it to 25 degrees, it will be very hot

in your room, the mattress is a mattress FUTON traditional Japanese.

(I remind the benefits of futon:
it is often very attractive
it is cotton, it is very "soft" sensation, feeling really interesting ...
sleeping well above (but again it depends on people)

The room cleaning is performed every morning.

and if you have a problem with the toilet, for example,
every morning at breakfast, we can talk, to fix this.

during your stay, I think that every morning we asked if everything was okay ..

and you never said a problem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Fes and although we only stayed a couple of nights, the Riad was by far the best place we stayed in during our Moroccan adventures.

Laurence and Bernard were superbly friendly and really made us both feel like we were guests in their home rather than customers at a hotel or B&B. Definitely worth all of the positive reviews they have received already - and worthy of at least one more from me. The other travellers staying were also friendly and great to chat with.

Breakfast - they say that it is the most important meal of the day... well L&B certainly give it the attention and love it deserves. The best breakfast we had in Morocco and that isn't to say that the others were all poor. The fresh fruit, crepes, tasty bread and orange juice was enough to see us late into the afternoon.

If you are reading the reviews and wondering whether to stay here or not... please stop. If it is available, book it! You will not regret it in the slightest!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Melody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Melody

Address: 18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 99999, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Melody 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional house morrocan, in the médina 3 rooms of hotes with independant bathroom air conditioning internet. breakfast included transfer included for the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Dar Melody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Melody Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Melody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.