We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming riad in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Le Calife to your Saves list
Riad Le Calife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The most charming riad in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Riad Le Calife was one of the highlights in our 14-day trip around Morocco. The place is unique, combining the autenticity of the traditional riad with the charm and confort of a boutique hotel. Nice details, like a radio-alarm clock with a good selection of music that comes from a pen drive, a mini bar (not common in most of the riads), or the colorful bathroom, everything made the difference. Another reason for staying there is the hospitality from the owners, Alex and Yasmina, who from the very first moment helped us in every detail. One day we forgot to ask in advance for the dinner, so their staff improvised a very nice and delicious vegetarian meal, for a reduced price. The other day we were checkin our e-mails at the notebook that the guests can use for free and were surprised by a cocktail prepared by Alex and accompanied by a friendly chat.

Since the medina in Fes is probably the busiest in all Morocco, you can easily get lost or be intimidated by locals trying to get your money , so we hardly reccomend you to use the services of a guide suggested and booked by Alex and Yasmina. Our guide, Hassan, was very nice, and we were able to discover all the details of that nice city. Since we had to pay 400 dihrams to him and 300 dihrams to the driver that took us up and down the whole day, it may be expensive, but it´s worthy if you don´t have more than two days to know Fes. And the guide will also explain you why the doors in moroccan houses have two knockers...

After two nights in Le Calife our only regret was...not staying longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marceloetnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Braintree
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Like everybody else who has reviewed Riad Le Calife we were blown away by it – the ambience of the place together with the warmth of Alex, Yasmine and the staff makes this the top place to stay in Fes. I cannot add to the reviews – they say everything about the place in terms of luxury, food (except you get too much) and location. The view from the roof terrace across the medina will stay with you forever both during the day and at nighttime. The advice and knowledge given by Alex and Yasmine is excellent and just follow what they say. Finally, the only thing that has not been mentioned in other reviews is that there is Wi-Fi in every room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We have never visited anywhere where we've had such warm and friendly stay. The benefit of Calife being a small place and the attention to detail that they put in means that you get a very personal experience. Yasmin and Alex have clearly put a lot of time and love into making a very stylish and intimate riad. The room we had was a good size (although was a suite) with lots of presonal touches. The breakfast that is included was great, especially with the view from the terrace. We also had an evening meal which was cooked by the their chef just for us - no menu just what was fresh in the market!
Great location too, 5 minute walk from the heart of the medina and without wanting to be cliched - it was an oasis of calm. Quite sad to be home!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Riad Le Calife (and Fez in general) was the best part of our honeymoon. We stayed there 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer, as we truly were sad to leave. The staff (headed by Alexandre and Yasmine the friendly owners) was very welcoming and helpful from our arrival on. One of the employees came to meet us to help us park our car and carry our luggage to the riad (very useful as you easily get lost in Fez).
The riad overall is wonderful, very quiet, amazingly decorated and has a peaceful patio with a fountain and a beautiful jujube tree ; it has two rooftop terraces with comfortable seating space and tables for breakfast and dinner, and above all, an astonishing view over the whole medina, the old city and the mountains in the distance. Every evening, at sunset when the muezzins call for prayer from all over the city, the sight of this ancient city is a truly mesmerizing experience.
But the best part may have been our room, the Suite Diamant, simply fabulous : huge, with two mosaic-covered columns and a fantastic wood-decorated ceiling. It was the perfect place for our romantic stay and it was a heartbreaker to have to pack and leave.
Finally, on the last day, we took a cooking class with the super friendly and talented riad's cook : it's free if you have dinner at the riad, and i highly recommend to try it once, especially since you get to choose the menu ! We actually had 2 dinners at the riad during our stay and they were by far the best we had during our whole trip in Morocco.
Overall, my only slightest criticism -- that's saying a lot -- would concern the absence of fruits at breakfast (apart from the freshly squeezed orange juice). Everything else during our stay was perfect and I hope Alexandre and Yasmine will keep the riad as it is for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were so sad to leave Riad Le Calife after just two days and wished we could have stayed longer. Yasmine and Alex were excellent hosts and made sure we had an incredible experience in Fes. From the restaurant recomendations to the car service at the train station and the last-minute massages they booked for us, our entire stay was spectacular.

We stayed in the Emerald Suite, which was gorgeous (photos don't do it justice) and the service from everyone at Raid Le Calife was unparalleled. Definitely have dinner at the Raid at least one night -- their cook is amazing and it was by far the best meal we had in Morocco. Also, Take them up on their offer to book you a guide -- it was our only regret.

Bottom line, if you want a to stay in an elegant yet authentic environment with every ammenity you could imagine, this is the place for you. We would go back to Morocco in a heartbeat just to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I loved everything about the place and the friendly owners wo were very helpful. really stunning and worth splashing out on too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was the perfect beginning of our vacation to Morocco. My 23 year old daughter joined my husband and I on our trip through Morocco. We stayed for three nights. If I had to do it again I would spend at least one more night and travel to Mekes for a day trip. Raid Le Calife is everything you want in a vacation; beautifully decorated clean rooms, excellent cuisine prepared by Fatima, a relaxing massage, and the perfect host and hostess,Yasmine and Alex. I picked this Raid in Fez because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. You will not be disappointed if you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manlyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#5 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#4 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing