We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Calife

Save Saved
You added Riad Le Calife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 85 hotels in Fes
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved everything about our 3 night stay, the flavorful breakfasts, beautiful rooftop view of the medina, stunning courtyard and room decor, and the personalized service. The staff and hosts were extremely attentive, genuinely helpful and concerned about the quality of our stay. An oasis of tranquility amidst the medina's fervor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
370
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Well, it is hard to add anything new to the positive feedback about this place:)
Truly deserved number 1 in reviews rating says it all.
Perfect welcoming service prior to arrival? - Yes, of course.
Charming Management? - Absolutely and even more than you've expected.)
Rich and colourful traditional interior? - You'll be surprised even more!)
Nice dining experince is there as well.
Not to forget spacious, cozy rooms and very realistic room photos on all sites.
Plus complimentary... one of the best rooftop terraces in Morocco!
And the last thing - read the couple of negative reviews about Le Calife AFTER you were there and have a good laugh on you way back home.))
Warmest greetings to the owners - Alex and Yasmine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived at this oasis after a 5-hour stifling journey on a train from Tangier to Fes.
The taxi driver who drove us from the train station called the Riad who sent us one of their men to meet us in the main square where the taxi dropped us off. This gentleman then took our luggage and led us up the alleyways to the Riad door – an imposing door set a little apart of the walkway up to it.
Like most Riads, (or for that matter, medressas and other well-constructed buildings) in Morocco - you cannot tell what beauty, tranquility and comfort awaits you from the exterior of a building. Whatever the reason for such construction, the contrast certainly serves to heighten the impact on your senses upon entry.
You are greeted by a beautiful fragrance (orange blossom? grape?) as you enter but this fleeting pleasure is quickly forgotten at the sight of the lush courtyard and the sound of the bubbling fountain which immediately transports one to the Morocco inhabiting the dreams of a hopeless romantic. The courtyard of the Riad is one of my favourite memories of all of Morocco.
First order of business, are invited into the office of the Riad by Alex to fill in some necessary paper work. During this, we are served cold, home-made mint tea – absolutely delicious and refreshing! Then we are shown to our room – a charming room on the main floor. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. One of the best (and the only integrated) air conditioning systems we encountered in Morocco. Unique to riads, it had a mini-bar (very useful for keeping water-bottles cool). The room has all the expected comforts of large, chain hotels while retaining the charm and intimacy of a Riad.
The bathroom was updated nicely and the shower drain was fast (something I value highly!) The Riad practices a “natural living” philosophy and thus provide 100% natural soaps, shampoos and washes in the bathroom which smell wonderful!
We actually looked forward to returning to our room after a morning spent in the souks to escape the afternoon heat, enjoy the complimentary cold mint-tea and possibly a plate of pastries. When we ventured out in the evenings for Isha prayer at the mosque or for dinner in the medina, it was comforting to know that their staff member (name?) was waiting for us to open the door and let us into the Riad no matter when we returned.
We stayed three nights at the Riad and enjoyed our time thoroughly. Alex and Yasmine were warm and welcoming. The staff were perfect – helpful, pleasant and discrete. We had breakfast – fresh, simple food on the upstairs terrace with beautiful views of the city. They morning of our departure, they very kindly served us very early breakfast in the main dining room downstairs. Very much appreciated! We also had dinner at the Riad one night and it was superb. Definitely recommended if you feel like staying “home” one night for dinner.
We also utilized the laundry service which is incredibly fast and the airport transfer at our departure which was comfortable and hassle-free.
It is abundantly clear that the Alex and Yasmine have put their hearts and souls into the set-up, décor and running of the Riad. Everything comes together beautifully.
We could not imagine staying anywhere else if we ever return to Fes. Thank you Riad Le Calife for a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The common areas of the hotel were beautifully decorated and extremely peaceful. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the lovely courtyard sipping mint tea and munching on moroccan pastries while listening to the fountain and the birds. The rooms were finished to perfection and very cosy. The attention to detail was remarkable. We highly recommend the diamond suite...your palace away from home! The service was impeccable with Yasmin and Alex being the most attentive hosts we encountered on our vacation. The in-house restaurant is excellent and highly recommended. They were extremely considerate of specific dietary restrictions. The hotel has an excellent location within the medina.

A couple of notes about Fez in general:
1. The hotel arranged a fantastic guide to tour us around the medina. He was a wealth of interesting information and made the medina experience much richer. However, both of us acquired some sort of intestinal bug from the restaurant that he directed us to for lunch; therefore, we would caution you about this food. The restaurant was a tourist type restaurant and quite pricey to boot.

2. If you're planning to take a bus from Fez to another destination in Morocco, it may be best to reserve in advance. We arrived at the bus station to discover that there were no seats available on the bus we had hoped to catch. The alternative is to take a petit taxi (old, white Mercedes) located just outside the bus terminal. The taxi drivers will have a list of prices for each destination, and the prices corresponded to what our guidebook had indicated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a wonderful Riad in the heart of old Fez. It is a beautiful Moroccan home that has been renovated into a guesthouse with only 7 rooms but feels spacious and private. The owners, Alexandre and Yasmine, have done a wonderful job making sure that the rooms and the property are authentically Moroccan, incredibly comfortable, spotless, and that you feel as if you are staying at a wonderfully wealthy friend's house. We ate one dinner there and it was absolutely scrumptious. For our second night we wanted to try a new place and Alex recommended a wonderful restaurant overlooking all of Fez, called Palais Faraj. Alex called ahead, booked our dinner, and we were treated like royalty. Wonderful table, wonderful wine, wonderful dinner, and spectacular view of the entire city and surrounding olive groves. Yasmine knew we had only one day to explore Fez, so she got a map and figured out the perfect itinerary that allowed us to see everything we wanted without rushing, including the tanneries, palaces, medersa, and even lunch at the eclectic Cafe Clock. Fez was our favorite place in Morocco and the Riad Le Calife was definitely one of the reasons why. Merci, Alex et Yasmine!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I entirely agree with all of the glowing reviews of Riad Le Calife...it really is that good.

We stayed here in February 2013 for 3 days. We reserved another room, but were kindly upgraded by the owners to the Amythest room. This was one far and away the nicest place we stayed in Morocco. First, I would certainly agree with having transport arranged by the Riad. We arrived via train from Casablanca, and after numerous annoying taxi encounters it was a relief just to not have to worry, even if the price was a little more than could be bargained. The Riad is near the movie theater and near the Medina, and the hotel staff met our ride and walked us and bags up the relatively short path. From the old city, it is like walking into a quiet oasis, and it is tempting to not venture out once you get settled. The rooms are immaculate, the upper terrace gorgeous (recommend tea and cookies and staying out to view the sunset). The library is a nice place to unwind also and have a drink. Spend a day wandering around the medina, come back and relax in a calm and scenic place.

The owners Alex and Yasmine really make this a special place to stay. They treat their guests like friends not customers, and are wonderful to talk to. They gave us a detailed map, and good recommendations for navigating the Medina without a guide. All of their recommendations were spot on and very helpful. We ate dinner both evenings at the Riad, and while we did worry that we were missing out on eating in the Medina, I doubt anything would have beaten our dinners at Riad La Calife. Fatima, the chef cooked us meals that were to die for. The first night we had an amazing chicken dish, and the second night delicious tangines. Fatima even made us small cookie packets to take with us on departing for the train ride back to Marrakech--much appreciated.

I would love to come back here and must say this Riad was THE highlight of our trip to Morocco. Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My spouse and I spent three nights here during ourpricing 3 weeks tour around Marocco.
The riad is owned and managed by a maroccan-french couple who is putting its deep passion to this property and project of life. The result of their efforts is a wonderful riad, very well managed, with both a friendly and professional attitude. Starting from the moment of resevation and throughout the stay, we felt discretely cared (attentive info and real time assistance for getting there, useful suggestions for the city's visit, etc).
We appreciated their professionalism also when, having asked them for restaurants suggestions and having autonomously booked one of the best restaurant in Fes, we discovered by chance that it was owned by their parents with absolutely no push from them. Great attitude!
Location is convenient: although inside the medina, the car park or the taxi stop are very close to the riad which is easily r sachable. Our room (Diamond) was astonishing, great space, nice decorations, impressive design, very silent.
We had dinner at the riad two times: the food is very good, carefully prepared, with a homemade touch.
The service is very good, attentive yet friendly. Pricing is fully adequate to the quality of services.

All in all the experience has been excellent. Just because of that, we took the friendly freedom to suggest some minor further improvements. Definetely recommended for a special stay in fes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#7 Business Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Calife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.