We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay and feel at home in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Le Calife to your Saves list
Riad Le Calife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay and feel at home in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our tour guide from Morocco Overland book us two nights at Riad Le Calife Ourand had a wonderful experience.The Riad is stunning and the whole team did everything to make our stay an experience to remember! Breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of Fez is amazing. Nothing was too much trouble.

Unfortunately due to flight times and connections home we were only able to stay two nights in Fez - definitely not long enough. But a great reason to go back one day and stay again and explore the medina a little more.

We would definitely recommend the Riad Le calife and Morocco Overland tours I would love to return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
388
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Calife during our trip to Fez. The hotel has a good location with easy access inside the Medina. They have clean and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The crew is very careful and friendly but definitely the highest point is how the owners Alex and Jasmine take care of you during your stay. They really do all their best to give you the right directions, the best suggestions accordingly to what you want to do and they always like to make sure that we are having a great experience inside the Medina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Riad Le Calife for 4 nights and I have to say that on arrival I was overwhelmed by the decor and amazing design of all the rooms - the photos on the website do not convey how impressive the rooms are!
Yasmine and Alexandre were incredibly welcoming and organised and had plenty of suggestions and recommendations for places to see and eat and we really appreciated the tips as it can be difficult to make a decision around the food areas of the medina (because so many people try and coax you in to their restaurant it can get quite frantic!) so that was a real help. We did not take up the offer of a guide although this was available as we were happy to wander but Yasmine and Alexandre made sure we knew how to find our way back - the Riad is quite well hidden but we managed to find our own way back every day and took a petit taxi on the one day it was raining with no problems.
We ate 2 evening meals and had breakfast every day and the food was wonderful, Fatima was the chef while we were there and both evening meals were traditional but presented in a modern way and the desserts were amazing!
The Riad was fairly quiet while we were there (there was 1 or 2 other couples there) and on the 3rd day our room was upgraded (from Ambre to Opaline) - both rooms were gorgeous and lavishly decorated, the Opaline room was slightly larger and on the middle floor but it was a nice touch to see a bit more of the Riad and it's clear that Yasmine and Alexandre are understandably proud of the Riad they have rebuilt and designed themselves. We had a kir with Alexandre one evening and a really nice chat which genuinely felt as though he was welcoming us into his home.
We also had the run of the bar and spent a few very pleasant evenings playing board games over a bottle of wine - it almost felt like it was our own personal Riad on the final evening!

I would recommend this Riad as it is very luxurious and it's design and running has clearly been a labour of love. M. & Mme LeComte are fabulous hosts and will genuinely do anything to help your stay in Fes be what you want it to be.

Room Tip: Ambre is on the ground floor, Opaline on the middle floor - all the rooms face into the courtyard bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We like this hotel even if you arrive at late night your first impresion can be diferent ,is located in a very dark and dirty alley
On the other hand we stay at rubi suite which means a lot of stairs and an outstanding terrace looking to the medina at your door step i believe that moments spended there worth the trip
Rooms are very big to any standard with every amenity little overdecorated for our taste
I really recomend this property if not perfect has many unique features
The riad is in the other side of the medina in relation to food street were most of restaurants are dont be afraid to take a red taxi its a very inexpensive 10 minutes drive
We recomend cafe clock which veg food was outstanding and Fes restaurant near by which is very very vey expensive (3 times normal prices) but quality was oustanding and view better ,daughter of owner spend like an hour chating with us during tea time adding to the overall experience
We disagree with most other guest we found breakfast less than average

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Riad Le Calife we knew we had made the right decision! My husband and I traveled with two other couples and it was the first trip to Morocco for all 6 of us. The rooms are very well appointed and the public areas are beautiful. The breakfast each morning was served in the upstairs terrace overlooking the entire city. Not only was the view wonderful so was the breakfast! Dinner each night was an event in itself with excellent tasty dishes and perfect service. Thank you Yasmine and Alexandre for your wonderful hospitality!!

Room Tip: If you have trouble going up and down stairs request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Words cannot express the experience of staying at Riad Le Calife. Beautifully restored. Best breakfast. Alexandre, Jasmine and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Had two dinners here - absolutely the best! Close to all of the action. They make this your home! And there is Darwin if you would like a most gracious pet. They also arranged tour guides for us - definitely recommended. We stayed in the emerald suite. Large, comfortable, private. Wonderful views from the two terraces. A must place to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived later than anticipated to Riad Le Calife our first night in Fes. Sumiya, the hostess that evening, was incredibly accommodating and arranged for a "light" supper since we did not reserve dinner in time. It turned out to be an amazing meal and just what we needed to ease into our stay in Fes. The next morning we were greeted by Alex and Yasmine, the owners, and their Jack Russell terrier, Darwin. On Fridays the Medina closes midday for prayer. It was the perfect time to wander about and get lost since our tour guide was scheduled for Saturday. We also got the opportunity to take a cooking class at our Riad with Fatima. It is tradition to cook couscous on Fridays since it is such a lengthy process. I can't explain how great and patient she was with us. If you have the time while in Fes and stay at this Riad I would recommend taking a class with her. The meal turned out wonderful despite us lol. Overall they were very hospitable, the Riad was beautiful and situated centrally in the Medina with panoramic views from the rooftop. And from start to finish they were very accommodating to our schedule. Our flight was at 5 in the morning and they made sure that we were picked up and that a light breakfast was prepared for us. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#3 Business Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Calife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.