We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Calife

Save Saved
You added Riad Le Calife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 hotels in Fes
chile
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Liked this riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We like this hotel even if you arrive at late night your first impresion can be diferent ,is located in a very dark and dirty alley
On the other hand we stay at rubi suite which means a lot of stairs and an outstanding terrace looking to the medina at your door step i believe that moments spended there worth the trip
Rooms are very big to any standard with every amenity little overdecorated for our taste
I really recomend this property if not perfect has many unique features
The riad is in the other side of the medina in relation to food street were most of restaurants are dont be afraid to take a red taxi its a very inexpensive 10 minutes drive
We recomend cafe clock which veg food was outstanding and Fes restaurant near by which is very very vey expensive (3 times normal prices) but quality was oustanding and view better ,daughter of owner spend like an hour chating with us during tea time adding to the overall experience
We disagree with most other guest we found breakfast less than average

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
370
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Riad Le Calife we knew we had made the right decision! My husband and I traveled with two other couples and it was the first trip to Morocco for all 6 of us. The rooms are very well appointed and the public areas are beautiful. The breakfast each morning was served in the upstairs terrace overlooking the entire city. Not only was the view wonderful so was the breakfast! Dinner each night was an event in itself with excellent tasty dishes and perfect service. Thank you Yasmine and Alexandre for your wonderful hospitality!!

Room Tip: If you have trouble going up and down stairs request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Words cannot express the experience of staying at Riad Le Calife. Beautifully restored. Best breakfast. Alexandre, Jasmine and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Had two dinners here - absolutely the best! Close to all of the action. They make this your home! And there is Darwin if you would like a most gracious pet. They also arranged tour guides for us - definitely recommended. We stayed in the emerald suite. Large, comfortable, private. Wonderful views from the two terraces. A must place to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived later than anticipated to Riad Le Calife our first night in Fes. Sumiya, the hostess that evening, was incredibly accommodating and arranged for a "light" supper since we did not reserve dinner in time. It turned out to be an amazing meal and just what we needed to ease into our stay in Fes. The next morning we were greeted by Alex and Yasmine, the owners, and their Jack Russell terrier, Darwin. On Fridays the Medina closes midday for prayer. It was the perfect time to wander about and get lost since our tour guide was scheduled for Saturday. We also got the opportunity to take a cooking class at our Riad with Fatima. It is tradition to cook couscous on Fridays since it is such a lengthy process. I can't explain how great and patient she was with us. If you have the time while in Fes and stay at this Riad I would recommend taking a class with her. The meal turned out wonderful despite us lol. Overall they were very hospitable, the Riad was beautiful and situated centrally in the Medina with panoramic views from the rooftop. And from start to finish they were very accommodating to our schedule. Our flight was at 5 in the morning and they made sure that we were picked up and that a light breakfast was prepared for us. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

From our reading of previous reviews we had high expectations of Le Calife and we were certainly not disappointed in any respect. In fact it exceeded even our most optimistic hopes. The building is superb, beautifully Moroccan but with obvious added French flair in design, the breakfast easily the best we have had in Morocco, but it is the people that really set Le Calife apart. Unfortunately we did not meet Alexandre, who was in Paris during our stay, but Yasmine was special, as were her staff. Thank you so much from both Gaye and myself. We will always remember Le Calife and will recommend it everyone we know without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I traveled with her mother, so we had a room upstairs, Emerald, which was a delightfully large room with well appointed ensuite. The Riad is well located, at one end of the 'blue' medina walk, close to the main road, about 200m into the medina. Of course they meet you at the airport, and carry your luggage etc, so you feel like royalty.
Breakfast is substantial and delicious.
We ate one night in the Riad, couscous of course, and it was the best we had in Fes.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow - OK for 90% of the population, but if you can't manage narrow stairs, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The medina in Fes although amazing with it's history can be exhausting and bustling during the day. We always looked forward to arriving back at Riad Le Calife after roaming the medina. It truly is a diamond. Walking into the Riad, I felt like I was surrounded by luxurious Morocco. Yasmine, Alexandre and the rest of the staff make you feel apart of the family. This is something I do not experience at any american accommodations. Our room was comfortable, luxurious, and clean. The food was beyond amazing and till this day I miss it! I have no hesitation in recommending this Riad to anyone. Thanks again for everything !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Calife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.