We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and central with beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Le Calife to your Saves list
Riad Le Calife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly and central with beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I traveled with her mother, so we had a room upstairs, Emerald, which was a delightfully large room with well appointed ensuite. The Riad is well located, at one end of the 'blue' medina walk, close to the main road, about 200m into the medina. Of course they meet you at the airport, and carry your luggage etc, so you feel like royalty.
Breakfast is substantial and delicious.
We ate one night in the Riad, couscous of course, and it was the best we had in Fes.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow - OK for 90% of the population, but if you can't manage narrow stairs, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
389
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The medina in Fes although amazing with it's history can be exhausting and bustling during the day. We always looked forward to arriving back at Riad Le Calife after roaming the medina. It truly is a diamond. Walking into the Riad, I felt like I was surrounded by luxurious Morocco. Yasmine, Alexandre and the rest of the staff make you feel apart of the family. This is something I do not experience at any american accommodations. Our room was comfortable, luxurious, and clean. The food was beyond amazing and till this day I miss it! I have no hesitation in recommending this Riad to anyone. Thanks again for everything !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was exactly what we expected and what we wanted. The rooms (we traveled with another couple) were beautiful - the location easy to find. Perfect for wandering the Medina. Breakfasts were included and were delicious and varied. All in all, the perfect place for us in Fez.

Room Tip: Look online and choose the exact room you want. That's what we did and both were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This wonderful Riad scores full points on every aspect. The room is beautiful, with great attention to detail. The building is stunning, with a lovely courtyard and rooftop terrace. Mint tea is free and always available. The views from the rooftop terrace are wonderful. Dinner is fantastic, though there is too much of it!!!
The owners and staff could not be more helpful, and it is in a convenient but quiet location. It doesn't get any better than this. Lots of nice places to relax when you need a break from the souks. We also like Fez very much - less hassle and fewer tourists than Marrakech. Very good for photography. This Riad is very convenient for the souks. Thoroughly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The riad is owned by a lovely couple who were very helpful with places not to miss in Fes as we were only in the city for 1 night. The room was the best of all the places we stayed in whilst in morocco. The raid is a wonderful mix of Moroccan decor and modern touches like wifi & cable TV. We were welcomed with sweets & fruit in the room and departed with pastries! Not only was the room great there is also a bar and roof terrace to relax in. They recommended to us a restaurant called Cafe Clock which was a great evening of food and music with a mixed crowd. The breakfast was also fantastic, all I can say is you won't be disappointed with anything if you stay here. I would advise to call ahead as the riad is a little hard to find the first time. Other hotels should take note!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Riad Le Calife is as good as it gets. Fes is a marvellous city, and the hospitality offered by owners Jasmine and Alex and Soumia, the assistant manager, is exceptional, as is chef Fatima's exquisite cuisine ( don't pass up the nugat glace!). The decor and personal style of this riad are exemplary. Service overall was impeccable and the special warmth and extra efforts Jasmine, Alex and Soumia made to make us feel at home and to enjoy the very best that Fes has to offer made this an absolutely memorable trip. Five stars and shining!

Room Tip: They are all picture perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We landed at this riad after 4 days in Marrakech for a 4 day trip.
From the moment we arrived it was a truly wonderfully serene and beautiful experience - it thoroughly enhanced our journey.
Yasmine and Alex were very hospitable and offered as little or as much help as we required.
The riad itself is bliss - it is very tempting not to leave the compound at all! The terrace is an explosion of lemon and berry trees with intricate mosaic and wooden work. The rooms are tastefully authentically decorated, with all the mod cons and lovely little perks (sweets and fruit).
I would thorough recommend this riad to anyone travelling to Fes!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#3 Business Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Calife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.