We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Dar Roumana
30 Derb el-Amer, Zqaq Roumane | The Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
+212 5357-41637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $44
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: An intimate dining experience in a beautiful setting, dinner at Dar Roumana's restaurant is a must-do for any visitor to Fes. Our talented French chef serves Mediterranean food with a Moroccan twist, and can be described as French/Moroccan 'fusion'. Changing daily, the dishes on the menu reflect the produce that's in season and bought fresh from the markets every day. Start with a drink on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the ancient medina of Fes, then dine in our courtyard restaurant. Decorated with colourful zellij tiling, carved cedar wood, a beautiful hand-painted bartal and intricate plaster, the restaurant is breathtakingly beautiful. In the winter, reserve a table for two next to our open fire, and in the summer be cooled by the splashing sound of the central fountain. Adding to the romantic setting is the attentive but discreet service. Allow us to transport you to a world of fine cuisine for the evening. We look forward to welcoming you to Dar Roumana. Reservations essential.
Tangier, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Superb food, excellent service, fine wine in magical surroundings. Elegant dining for an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    30
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant only has a few tables so it is well worth reserving in advance. The email communication with Vanessa (the manager) was efficient and excellent (she even asked if we had food allergies). They sent a porter to fetch us from our hotel which was about a 15-minute walk away. We would never have found it on our own. It is down a small alley but then opens into a beautiful home with a stunning interior. There was a selection of food and you could either have the 2-course or 3-course menu. We took our 4 children and everyone had food they liked! Vanessa also comes around to each table checking how you are enjoying the food, etc. It is a really great place to eat in Fes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
“Beautiful Ambiance, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I had heard good things about the restaurant at Dar Roumana, and it exceeded our expectations. The atmosphere was calm and romantic, everything a romantic Moroccan evening should be. We were blown away by the variety and impeccable preparation of the meal. The rabbit my husband ordered still lingers as one of the richest dishes we've tasted! I can't recommend our dining experience enough, and we will sure to be back and bring friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Food, service and ambiance - a dining experience not to be missed in Fez. Be sure to reserve in advance as getting a table can be impossible but certainly worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
528 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wonderful elegant meal. Starts with almonds/pistachios in sitting room with fireplace. Dinner in the center of the riad. 2 or 3 course meals offered. About 4selections offered in each category. I had delicious risotto, lamb, and fried banana. Really enjoyed everything. Offerings change regularly. 3 courses, meal only without beverages or service, was about $40pp. There are only 5 tables. Reservations are essential. No walk-ins permitted. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Roumana also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.