We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Houdou Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Houdou Guest House to your Saves list
Dar Houdou Guest House
42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Great staff, good accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is small and therefore very calm. The staff is perfect and the rooms are small but with every comfort (heating in the cold days, shower, toilet, etc.). Situated in the middle of the medina it is still very quiet. Great hotel and also gay friendy!

Room Tip: On the roof there is a very good view over the medina of Fès, but also the other 2 rooms down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    40
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
147
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Dar Houdou is a great value for money B&B. The guest house is located at the medina and it is a convenient starting point to any of the tourist places of Fes. Our room was kept clean everyday. Due to the architectural built of this house, the ceiling in our room was high and the electric heater could not possibly make the room warm. But owner Steve provided us with electric blanket which gave us sound sleep after a day of walking and sight seeing.

Steve was so helpful. We were supposed to arrive 6am at Fes but due to unforeseen and unexpected circumstances, we arrived at 330 am. I had to give him a ring otherwise we will freeze to death at the bus station. Steve woke up and met us at Bab Bou Jaloud. Without any sign of annoyance for having been woken at that hour, he welcomed us to his abode.

He showed us around the main roads near Dar Houdou and gave us tips on where to go and how to get from one point to another.

We highly recommend Dar Houdou.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a fantastic experience here! The room was very comfortable, clean and warm (very important after sleeping in a tent in the Sahara the previous night) and the kitchen and lounge downstairs are very cosy. Different kinds of tea, several magazines and comfortable furniture to relax in. Steven prepared an excellent breakfast spread! He's generally around to chat and offer any help you need with booking guides, taxis etc. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

great location within the Medina, lovely owner Steve - very nice talking to him and getting some really good restaurants recommendations and thanks for lending me a guide book on Fes. Breakfast is awesome.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the beautifully restored Dar Houdou. The accomodation was spotless, the breakfasts were delicious and the location was very convenient. Dar Houdou was the perfect retreat after a busy day in Fes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We felt like home while staying here! We would highly recommend this Dar (guest house). Steve (owner) and Mohammed (manager) were very, very helpful. Service, breakfast and location are excillent. Listen to every single advice that Stive and Mohhamed give you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dar Houdou is an excellent place! A very relaxing place to rest after being in the caotic medina! Steve (the owner) is a lovely person, always helpful and very very friendly! The place smells nice, is very clean and has a really good breakfast included! Best choice and very affordable!

Room Tip: The room in the terrace (where we stayed) is very nice and has air conditioning, which compensates t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Tara
Riad Tara
#17 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#13 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Drissi
Dar Drissi
#44 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#2 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Melody
Dar Melody
#6 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Houdou Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.