We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spotless accommodation in Fez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Houdou Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Houdou Guest House to your Saves list
Dar Houdou Guest House
42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spotless accommodation in Fez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would highly recommend Dar Houdou. I recently stayed there for a week and the owner,Steve, and his friendly staff were great. Beautifully clean accommodation,comfortably furnished,it was an ideal place from which to explore the interesting city of Fez,an amazing place. Breakfast was excellent,and well presented, thanks Mohammed. Steve,is very knowledgable and is always helpful. An excellent,very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooftop bedroom is excellent with lots of sitting out areas,in both sun and shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    39
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
144
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at Dar Houdou and found it to be an excellent Dar with a warm, welcoming atmosphere and a perfect location in the medina. Steve is the perfect host and his manager, Mohammed, is always helpful and friendly. Sadia keeps Dar Houdou spotless and provides delicious breakfasts. As a bonus, we were at Dar Houdou during the Fes Music Festival and it was a very convenient walk to all the venues. We cannot recommend this accommodation too highly.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms and all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We would highly recommend Dar Houdou. It was the best accommodation we stayed at during a two week trip in Morocco.

The place is small and charming with an intimate feel. Our room was spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and nice little touches like a bowl of dried roses at the end of our bed.

The breakfast really is great: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh Moroccan breads, cheese, jam, cereal, cakes, fresh fruit platter, tea and coffee...and plenty of it! The wifi works in the courtyard and common living areas, but doesn't reach the rooms. The location is great, on a small side street in the Medina and isn't noisy at night.

What really makes this places special though are the staff. Mohamed is the perfect host, he will greet you with tea and delicious sweets and then sit with you and a map to explain the old Medina. The staff really make sure you have a great experience and will help you with anything you need. This was exemplified when I got severe food poisoning in Fez and ended up in hospital. We had already left Dar Houdou but needed accommodation after being discharged, we called Mohamed and he came in a taxi to pick us up from the hospital and helped communicate with the staff, as they didn't speak much English. Getting sick wasn't fun, but it was made easier by having Dar Houdou to come back to. We couldn't recommend this place more highly, they even did our laundry for free!

A couple of tips:
Get the airport pickup, the place would be near impossible to find by yourself.
Do the Medina tour. Fes Medina is like no other, you will get lost and doing the tour will add a whole other level to your experience you can't gain by yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh bird in England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is our third visit to the wonderful Dar Houdou, that says it all. It's like our home from home.We really enjoy our visits here, it has become an annual outing for us. We love staying in the room at the top which has a terrace just off it, so comfortable. The whole place is spotless. The breakfast is great, lots of fresh fruit and bread, homemade cakes, cereal, pancakes, local honey,freshly squeezed orange juice and lemonade.The location is perfect, just off Talaa Sghira, Talla Kbira near The Blue gate ,Bab Joujloud and Batha. The principal entrance to the medina. Steve is a great host, helpful, friendly, funny with a great line in leather bags.We will return to Fez and Dar Houdou next year such a great place to stay in a fascinating city.Make sure you take a little taxi up to Hotel Merinides for a fab view of the whole of the medina, thanks for accompanying us Steve, well worth it. See you next year. The sisters.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This riad is with 3 rooms small, but very conveniently located in the middle of the medina. Do book a taxi via the owner Steve, as it is not easy to find, if it's your first time. Steve and his staff are super friendly, speak English and they keep everything very clean. We were lucky to have our room on the quiet side of the house. Our friends had a bedroom with window, the morning prayer did interupt their sleep a bit. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable the bathrooms are OK, the location is superb...but If you like a nice breakfast...this is the place to be! It was tasty, healthy and yummie!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very nice guest house, with only three rooms. We really enjoyed our night there! It's like an oasis in the middle of crazy Fes, we felt as at home. The owner Steve is very friendly, he received us with a fresh home-made lemonade that was great.
The bed was very comfortable, nice shower; no curtain in the shower though, so every time after having a shower you will have to mop the floor.
Everything was absolutelly clean, nice smell, really enjoyable!!!
I would recommend to arrange with the owner a transfer from the train station/airport to the guest house, as it's a little bit tricky to find it the first time.
Breakfast and location: THE BEST!!!!! REALLY WORTH IT

Room Tip: I would go for the room in the terrace which offers more privacy, though in summer might be too warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were met at Fez airport by Dar Houdou's taxi and taken right to the door in the midst of the Medina. Greeted by Steve with a right nice cup of tea and plenty of advice on where to go, what to do.. Very comfortable beds and a great breakfast and after three weeks in Morocco we looked forward to returning to these comforts at the end of the trip.
Based on all our experience of hotels, ryads, tents, you name it - this was the best.

Room Tip: All ( three) rooms are first class although the terrace room may be hot in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Houdou Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.