We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Houdou Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Houdou Guest House to your Saves list
Dar Houdou Guest House
42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feel at home in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Dar Houdou is probably one of the best places I've stayed in Morocco. It is a cozy 'dar' (دار ) that has been recently and nicelly renovated by Steve, its owner. Steve himself is a great host that makes you feel comfortable and at home at his guest house. The room is very clean, cozy and well decorated (moroccan style). There's also a nice terrace with parcial views of the medina and its surroundings, great place to chill and see the sky and listen to the minarets' calls.
The staff is very amiable, very helpful and they prepare a fantastic breakfast.
The dar is nicelly located, in quiet street but close to Bab Boujloud.
I highly recommend Dar Houdou!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    39
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
146
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

One of the best places we ever stayed! A hidden Fez treasure--tucked into a side street of the labyrinthine Medina, you probably want to take Steve up on the offer to have a guide pick you up from the station and lead you there (Googlemaps hasn't figured out how to chart it yet). Mohammed welcomed us with refreshments in the gorgeous lounge of the riad and even arranged our wonderful day tour of Fez the next day. Awesome roof terrace and banquet breakfast. Definitely felt like royalty!

Room Tip: With only 3 rooms available, you can't go wrong. But book in advance in peak seasons. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Dar Houdou for 2 nights while we visited Fez in January 2012. Steve the owner is very hospitable and friendly and the guest house is really comfortable and clean. The location is fantastic for exploring the Medina. I highly recommend Dar Houdou as a place to stay while in Fez!

Room Tip: The room on the terrace is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Dar Houdou for 5 nights in early January and couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations. The guesthouse was clean, comfortable, quiet and was just a short walk to the gate and public transportation. Motor vehicles are not allowed in the Medina so this place is very convenient. Best of all, staff were helpful and the owner, Steve was most accommodating, meeting us in Batha despite our very late arrival of past midnight. He also arranged for our return transportation to the airport. A hearty breakfast of Moroccan breads, fruits, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and cereals are offered. There is free Wifi as well. We had a wonderful time in Fez and our stay at Dar Houdou definitely added to that experience. We would not hesitate to recommend Dar Houdou to anyone!

Room Tip: The terrace room is great if you'd like more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend traveled to Fez for new year's eve where we stayed for 3 days. Dar Houdou is the best place you can stay while being in Fez! We got in touch through email with the owner already before coming to Fez. Stephen was very helpful, explaining and answering all the questions. It was our first time In Morocco and in Fez, we were a bit scared of all the hustlers and different culture but staying in Dar houdou helps you relax if you are tired of exploring Fez. The location is perfect, right in the middle of medina, close to everything and at the same time peaceful and relaxing. It is tricky to get there for the first time so make sure you will contact them and they will be happy to meet you and take you to the riad. Breakfast was excellent, best we have had in whole Morocco, and we missed it a lot. We were al;so coming at the end of December and thought that Morocco would be warm... It was freezing, sunny but medina has all the tiny streets, so you are all the time in shadow and you are cold! If you are travelling in winter make sure to take a proper jacket and layers. Dar Houdou was the only place where we stayed in Morocco that had heating, which was great. If you git cold exploring medina you could just come back and warm yourself in a nice, warm room. The manager Mohammed is also a lovely person and always happy to give you tips and help with everything. We would certainly recommend this place, as everything was great about it. Our room did not have any window coming out but that is just the way they build houses in there so even though it would be nice to have some natural light, it did not bother us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the same room which did not have any window overlooking the street but was still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Dar Houdou is a beautifully restored guesthome conveniently located in the Medina near the Blue Gate. The owner is hospitable and friendly, as are the small staff members. The guest room located on the rooftop terrace is particularly wonderful, offering you a nice, cool respite from the busy streets of the Medina. You can't go wrong with this gem!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Dar Houdou for a whole week over Christmas and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We thought a week may be too long in Fez but Dar Houdou was the perfect place to make our trip comfortable and relaxing, which was exactly what we were looking for. We also have a 4 year old boy and he was well catered for and had a good laugh with Mohammed who provided very friendly service and helped us with guides and day trips. The house is clean and beautifully restored, there are heaters in the rooms, breakfast is plentiful if simple, the roof terrace is sunny and warm and there is a good selection of books to find out more about Morocco and Fez... Recommended.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Houdou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Houdou Guest House

Address: 42 Teriana Sghira | Talaa Sghira, Fes 30008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional house. Located in a quiet street within the ancient medina. Two minutes walk from historical sites, shops, restaurants, taxis and the famous blue gate (Bab Boujeloud). Three double bedrooms; each with on-suite bathroom. A terrace, courtyard, kitchen and a living room are available to all the guests. Airport collections, guided tours and additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Houdou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Houdou Guest House Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Houdou Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.