We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laayoun

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Laayoun
Save
You added Riad Laayoun to your Saves list
47 derb Thakharbicht | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€45 (EUR)
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Fes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

AMAZING STAY. BEST PART OF FEZ WAS STAYING AT THIS RIAD. Beautiful building with beautiful rooms and a beautiful roof deck.
Jean-Claude and Simo were amazing, sweet and helpful.
I would love to come back and visit again.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    43
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
193
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the best Riad in Morocco. The building is restored with great taste, very clean, beautiful and well located. The staff is great, very cordial and helpful. The cuisine is excellent. The owner Jean Claude is a real gentleman, easy to reach, always involved in the daily activities of the hotel and willing to help. He makes feel at home. We left the Riad feeling that we have a friend in Fes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were able to book our room about 10 days before our arrival in Fes.
Booking, payments, & pick-up/drop-off arrangements were easy & went off without a hitch. It's good to have a cell phone for instant communications to confirm arrival time/place. We did so 20 minutes before arrival at Fes Gare & our driver was waiting to whisk us away from the fray upon arrival! (Sim Cards are readily available anywhere in Morocco for about $12 for a month's usage, pre-paid. They work fine.)

Jean-Claude, the owner, was always quick with responses to inquiries & for arrangements. He was not present during our stay but away in France. His assistants, Simo & Raschida, who is also the cook, took very good care of us. Simo was Johnny-on-the-Spot for anything we might need. He was even kind enough to pick up some medicines for us when we were hit by stomach problems, not due, we are certain, to the in-house cooking! :-( But we were well taken care of.

Since we were at the riad during a lull, we were upgraded to a Suite from a Standard Room. My wife was in Seventh Heaven (one wonders where the first 6 are!?) We stayed a full 5 nights/days & were pampered throughout.

Simo was especially helpful with directions, maps, routings through the medina. All one needs to do is ask for help & Simo is ready with an understandable explanation.

Would we return? You bet we would! Riad Laayoun is discreetly appointed, well located in the medina (easy to get into & out of after being taken in by Simo), quiet, & with pleasant inner courtyard & terrace.
It is a beautifully restored and tastefully decorated former mansion and a feast for the eyes!

We found our way around the fascinating if maze-like medina with some orientation from Simo and loved being able to walk down the street from the riad to the center of medina life. The location of Laayoun is ideal, as you are just inside the medina and can easily walk across the Taala Kebira to the Blue Gate and back, exploring endless alleys and souks in a very medieval pedestrian zone (excepting donkeys).

Room Tip: The Suites are roomier than the Standard Rooms although all rooms are nicely appointed & have en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Riad is beautiful.

Jean- Claude was very friendly and super helpful (e.g. finding a guide) throughout our stay. Un grand merci!

Food was very good and they took my allergies into account (=challenge so thank you for this).

Rooms were good. Bed was maybe a bit hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Riad Laayoun is simply amazing! Booked with just couple of hour in advance, the great disponibility of Mr. Jean Claude was very welcome. Thanx to him and his wonderful staff the time in Fes has been fantastic. Simon came to greet us at Rcif plaza to help us untangle in the mediana small streets, even if properly signalled, the Riad is bit complicated to reach without a guide, at least for "medina's beginner" like me.
The location of Riad is in the centre of medina and from there is easy to reach the most touristic places arournd without getting lost, but is also not so close to market areas so it is not noisy at all!!
Spent 2 night in a big suite at ground floor with bathroom inside on the upper floor reachable via a wooden stair inside the room... so cool! While the rest of the staying we were located in the higest floor, in a small but comfortable room.
The breakfast at the terrace with the view of medina and Bourj Sud is stunning ans so pleasant to enjoy the cozy sofa and sun beds up there. Fresh crépes, juice and mint tea along with delicious jams are served up to late morning, so no need to feel the pressure, just relax!
Riadf Laayoun gave also the possibility to had dinner, simply reserve in the morning what to eat and at dinner time will be presented in nice tajin plate! You can also get the chance to enjoyt the company of Jean Claude and Simon for a shisha tasting session... simply amazing

Room Tip: Tried suite at ground floor and a standard room on upper floor. No noise, comfortable matrass, maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester, essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staying just one night whilst on our recent trip to Morocco was not enough. The outstanding hospitality of Jean-Claude and the team made this stay very relaxing.

We walked into the peaceful patio area, being welcomed with Mint Tea and Pastries (which I have to say were some of the best that we had during out travels). Whilst we sat relaxing our bags were taken to our room and more pastries arrived. What a great start to our holiday, considering we had just spent the best part of an hour queuing at passport/visa controls. After showing us to our room, the Paprika Room, we were also told about the fantastic views from the terrace - it didn't take long before we were up there having a look.

The Paprika Room, is one of the smaller patio rooms available at the Riad (Its sister being the Vanilla Room) - now even though I say smaller - it was ample for our needs with a large double room, a walkway come balcony area and a fully functional bathroom. The windows opened up onto the small patio so you could gain air but noise way minimal - likewise we left the door to the bedroom open slightly to gain air from the balcony (there is a further main door which we did lock but I don't think that was really necessary).

The Riad is spread out across four floors - rooms on each, surrounding two patio areas and a small library area to relax in. The main draw however, is definitely the roof terrace - views across the whole Medina are unbelievable and we made sure that, even during our brief stay, we made full use of it - drinks after dinner and breakfast were both served to us up there. It is also a remarkable quiet place to be able to sit and reflect on the day or listen to the call to prayer (adhan).

As we were only there for one evening we also took advantage of the amazing cooking - a full spread appeared for us - Moroccan soup and salads to start (which really would have been enough) followed by a Lamb Keftas for my husband and a legume (vegetable) medley for myself, finished off with cheese and fruit. Wonderful - I would recommend the cooking to anyone and is a must when staying here.

Nothing was too much trouble for the team and we felt very welcomed into the beautiful surroundings. It is close to the main souks, meaning that it is a great location to truly experience the life of the old medina.

If we were to return to Fes I would definitely consider returning to this particular Riad and would recommend it to anyone.

Thank you once again Jean- Claude for your hospitality.

Room Tip: There is no A/c in the Paprika room which was not an issue for us - if you would prefer a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had 3 nights at Riad Laayoun. As hosts Jean Claude and Simo were helpful and jovial. The building itself is quiet and a peaceful haven from the Medina which can at times be overwhelming. The rooftop terrace has a stunning view and is a good place to unwind when you feel like some quiet time. The rooms are clean and the air-conditioning was effective. The guide which Jean-Claude organised to show us round the Medina was knowledgeable and worth it. Jean-Calude also showed us the best shops within the Medina to buy pottery which was useful. Would recommmend staying at Riad Laayoun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laayoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laayoun

Address: 47 derb Thakharbicht | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvelous old house located in the heart of the medina close to the world's oldest university and the souks, built nearly 4 centuries ago. We offer to you 3 suites and 2 rooms with all the modern confort. Riad Laayoun is a marvelous place for your stay in the most beautiful medina of Africa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laayoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.