We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where to start!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laayoun

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Laayoun
Save
You added Riad Laayoun to your Saves list
47 derb Thakharbicht | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€45 (EUR)
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Stansted
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not sure where to start!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I can't really add anything more to the reviews already written about the Riad Laayoun, it really is an amazing place. Fes is up there with the best travel experiences I've had and I can't think of a nicer place to head back to after a long day of wandering around the alleys and haggling over a pair of pointy slippers.

Jean-Claude is a great man, from the photos in the hallway that capture the renovation of this Riad to what it is today, you can see a lot of hard work and passion has gone into this place and he deserves all the praise he is receiving... the Trip Advisor 2011 award plaque hangs proudly in the courtyard.

The Riad is amazing in itself, but for me the thing that made this stay extra special was Jean-Claude and his team. Simo gave us so much advice which not only helped us in Fes, but for the rest of our trip around Morocco. Rachida's cooking is amazing, one of the comments in the guestbook says it's the best in Morocco... I find it hard to disagree.

The thing that really topped it off was when Simo arranged a beautiful birthday meal for my girlfriend complete with flowers and a gift, I found it very hard to leave this place. It wasn't just a place to stay, but for a short time it felt like home.

Jean-Claude, Simo & Rachida... you are fantastic people!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    43
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
193
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

This Riad is just amazing! The building and rooms are well presented and offer a great retreat from the Medina!
Would definitely recommend the food, and dinner at least one night is a must! The roof terrace is great to unwind on and talk away the days events.
As well as an authentic way of living, one of the best attributes is the staff. Jean Claude and Simon were just brilliant! From picking us up from the taxi to the daily interactions to see where we were going, they would always recommend places and most importantly help us with the routes to get there! This stay made our trip. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My daughter and I spent two nights at Riad Laayoun in September... I chose the Riad from TripAdvisor comments and we were very pleased with our experience! I can't say enough about the helpfulness of Simo, the absolutely wonderful food prepared by Rachida, and the overall enthusiasm of Jean-Claude. We ate dinner at the Riad both nights in Fez - if you stay, don't miss the chance for Rachida's excellent meals! Simo helped us with maps and suggestions for our day in the medina, and made certain that we could find our way back to the Riad and could connect at any time by phone. Our room was comfortable and clean and the Riad itself is lovely... the roof terrace was a wonderful place to begin the day with breakfast and end the day relaxing while looking out over Fez. I would recommend Riad Laayoun for it's excellent food, clean and comfortable rooms, but most of all for the owner and his staff - it really did feel like coming home every time we came through the door... thank you again Jean-Claude, Simo, and Rachida for a memorable trip to Fez!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I found this Riad on Trip Advisor and found it to be exactly as described. Quick response for reservations, Simo met us at taxi and carried my suitcase to Riad, and happily met all our expectations the 4 nights we stayed there. Interesting, diverse music selection. Had one dinner by Rachida which was great. Breakfasts and views on rooftop were splendid. It was quiet in this part of the medina. If "emplacement" catagory below means "location" then a couple of comments. This is a residentail part of the Medina, so very few foreigners and a distance to tourist areas. The path to the riad is typically labyrinthine and there's a hill. If this is your first trip to Res, then this introduces you to what to expect. This made Simo's help greatly appreciated, especially on arrival. We had the great pleasure of meeting Jean-Claude the last night. Mabrook on a wonderful Riad!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

When you first arrive to the medine of Fez, you can see how busy is the medine Fez El Bali. The narrow streets are crowded of people, with plenty of markets around, and you just think: I don't know where I am going!. But when you arrive to the Riad Laayoun and you see the frontdoor you cannot imagen how beautiful is the Riad: It looks like a little palace, well-restored with the minimum detail and very peaceful.

The staff of the Riad, Simo & Myriam, were very kind and helpful to us. They do all the best for the guest to feel at home. Its a shame we couldn't meet Jean-Claude as he was away (The owner of the Riad).

The Riad offers the tipical Morroccan breakfast, which is very good, we especially enyojed the tipical crepe o pancake. You can also have dinner meal, but unfortunately we didn't have it as I heard that its very tasty.

You do not need to worry about arrenging a guide or trip for you travel before you go to Fez, as The Riad Laayoun provides you a guide (many spoken languages), and other type of trips if you wish to visit the sorrounding areas of Fez. Of Course, the guide or trips are not included, so you need to add an extra budget to your pocket.

I do strongly recommed The Riad Laayoun for your staying in Fez - Maroc!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

After reading some of the very good reviews on the Riad Laayoun me and my wife decided to stay there during our 5 day visit to Fes. The fact that Riad Laayoun is also very reasonable priced and well located in the medina also helped with our descision making. We arranged a cab from the trainstation through the Riad which would cost us 80 dirham. Later we learned that the petit taxis work very good here and would have costed us only 10 dirham! You would need to call the Riad to have them come to the Bab R'cif and guide you through the medina to the Riad though. Taxis can not get any closer to the Riad than that.
Uppon our very arrival all our expectations were met. The place is truly an oasis of Moroccon beauty accompanied by genuine hospitality provided by the owner Jean-claude and his second in command Simo. We had booked the cheapest room, but since we were the only guests at the time we were upgraded to the biggest and nicest room of the Riad!

We spend our days getting 'lost' in the medina and visiting the sights in and around Fes. And after a long day the Riads beautiful inner courtyard and roofterrace with stunning view of the medina were always the best place to come back to, to evaluate the day and plan for the next.

Our room did not have a tv, but in a place like this who needs a tv! There was however free wireless internet, a good toilet, shower and of course a working airco.

Breakfast was simple bread with jams, honey, orange juice and coffee and oh so idylically served on the roof terrace. We had diner at the Riad the first evening which was very good and the best we had since altough it was a bit pricy compared to the diners in town which were cheaper but by far not as good quality.

We had the most contact with Simo our host who was very helpfull and kind even though it was Ramadan and he had to get up early to serve us breakfast.

Although it was possible to book guides and trips in and around Fes through the Riad we would recommend people to get out on their own since the medina is suprisinlgy well sighned and taxi's will bring you anywhere at a fair price. We booked one 4h trip to the rampards which was nice but in our opinion over priced and ended 1,5h early! Be sure to tell the guide you do not want to shop or visit a ceramic factory for you will for sure be pushed into paying even more if you choose to do a guided trip anyway. In our experience the medina is safe to traverse even after dark although you must be prepared to deal with pushy young men offering there services. As long as you stay polite even when they get irritating they will mostly leave you alone sooner or later. In our experience these touts are normal for tourist attractions in every country and must add that experiences in f.e. Cairo or Jeruzalem were far worse.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Riad Laayoun. The entire Riad is gorgeous, rooms extremely comfortable and food excellent. Best of all Jean-Claude and his staff bent over backward to meet our every need. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We rented the entire Riad, which was a great way to go with a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laayoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laayoun

Address: 47 derb Thakharbicht | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvelous old house located in the heart of the medina close to the world's oldest university and the souks, built nearly 4 centuries ago. We offer to you 3 suites and 2 rooms with all the modern confort. Riad Laayoun is a marvelous place for your stay in the most beautiful medina of Africa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laayoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.