We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar el Ma to your Saves list
Dar el Ma
27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical and unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our stay in Fez and at the Riad was magical and unforgettable. The Riad is located in the heart of the Medina , just where most of the Berber community of Fez lives . Although at first sight seems difficult to be oriented, once you recognize two main streets surrounding the Riad ("Tala Kebira" and "Zkak Rouah") is relatively easy to know where you are and the way to the main spots of the Medina. Although I personally believe that the greatest charm is walking without specific direction absorbing the potent mix of tastes, smells and everyday scenes that happen in the Medina. The Riad is perfectly restored by Claire and Joe. We were able to see some photos of themselves rebuilding the palace in detail and love. Full of colors,mosaics and stained glass that transport you to another time in another place . The relationship with the staff of the Riad was also magnificent. Houda is the person who is responsible for the daily management of the Riad. She prepares spectacular breakfasts with local products and is always open to give any information, tip, support, etc. On the other hand , Joe handled the booking of a " Grand Taxi" for us, from the airport to the Riad for 150 dirhams. I recommend to take this option to get from the airport on the first day, and be able to learn how to arrive to the Riad, and have and easy first contact with the Medina. For all this, I strongly recommend the Riad Dar el Ma for anyone who wants to know Fez and its Medina. Lluís

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was my first stop in Morocco and it is so perfectly located. It is right in the heart of the old souk. I was thankful when someone came to meet us when we arrived in the car park to show us where to go. Houda is absolutely amazing! Her English is perfect and she was very helpful when we were wanting to arrange a rental car. The breakfast array was spectacular. You will not be disappointed. The riad lives up to the photos and I think I spent the first hour just exploring everywhere. Beds were extremely comfortable. The hosts were also very gracious towards us when our plans changed and we had to leave a night early. I would highly recommend this riad as a perfect place to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Ouen-l'Aumone, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Dar El Ma. We were the only guests that night so we had the entire house just for ourselves !
Houda was very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The decoration of the house is just superb

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redon, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Dar El' Ma is a beautifull Riad, renovate tastefully, with a decoration aerate.
The breakfasts was so good, typicaly and varied, but i'm too gourmand( i never have enough things so good). The view of the terrasse is great.
The bedding can be ameliorate.
And we were welcomed by Houda with a lot of attention. Thanks a lot.
Possible to comes with your child, all is organize (but lot of stair !!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Fez! Dar el Ma was very clean and comfortable, and everyone was very friendly. The room was large, and there was even a little balcony reading nook (perfect for kids). The rooftop terraces were fantastic - a great places to hang out. Houda took wonderful care of us: delicious breakfast, directions, tips for the bath house, and she also does henna if you are looking for a unique souvenir. Good wifi, too! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just two rooms... so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friend and I rented Dar el Ma for for 4 nights in November and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The house is perfectly located - a short walk from the blue gate and a moment away from one of the main streets, but peacefully quiet inside. The house is spacious and comfortable, with a great rooftop to enjoy a sunset drink and listen to the evening call to prayer. Houda the housekeeper is fantastic too - whipping up breakfast every morning and answering questions about Fes and life in Morocco. Joe was also really helpful by quickly answering our email questions, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I'd recommend Dar el Ma to anyone going to Fes, and it's incredibly good value for money. Thanks Houda, Joe and Claire for a great stay. Your home was a highlight of our trip around Morocco.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are lovely. They are separated by the open courtyard so are quite private from each ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Claire and Joe bought this old riad (a traditional stone, wood and stucco house in the Middle Age medinas of Morocco) in 2006, and with the help of some talented local workers, brought it back to life in an original Moroccan style--but with modern plumbing and electric wiring, tiled kitchen, and sliding glass roof panels over the central courtyard skylight. The Ferhana room was spacious, with a high ceiling, lovely carved wooden shutters with stained glass looking out over the courtyard, and a nice sitting/sleeping loft accessible by a ladder (great for kids). The bed was comfortable and enough blankets were supplied for the cool November evenings. The best part is Houda, the housekeeper/arranger/translator, who prepared large traditional breakfasts, translated our English and mediocre French into Arabic when we asked, and was very helpful giving directions for getting around efficiently within the rabbit warren of "streets" of the Medina, which was our favorite in Morocco (the widest street is about 2m, no cars are allowed, but watch for the donkeys carrying wide loads). Check out Joe & Claire's photo book showing the process of deconstructing and rebuilding their riad over at least 6 months, all supported by donkeys carrying everything in and out--the patience and trust required to have pulled this off successfully is admirable. If you are lucky, you will be the only guests and have the house to yourself...

Room Tip: Both of the available rooms are quiet, spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tara
Riad Tara
#17 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#2 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
dar gnaoua
dar gnaoua
#12 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Tamo
Dar Tamo
#75 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar el Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Ma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.