We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place in the middle of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar el Ma to your Saves list
Dar el Ma
27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Tranquil place in the middle of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What an amazing place this was! it's right in the heart of the Medina yet really nice and tranquil at the same time.....The place was a little like a labyrinth at the beginning with all the stairways and little doors..... all of this of course added to its charm. The roof top terrace was fantastic as well and great for relaxing in the evenings. The book showing the stages of the renovation of the house really helps you appreciate the work and effort that has been put into making this Dar the amazing place which it is!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only spent one night at this AMAZINGLY beautiful place, but we will certainly be back. The house is decorated with much love and detail in traditional Moroccan style: Ornament tiles all over the walls, stained glass windows, beautiful furniture... The bedroom is spacious and comfortable. We were very lucky to have the entire house to ourselves. The roof top terrace is the "cherry on the whipped cream" ;)) You will find a wonderful corner to relax with big cushions on comfy divans. Climb up a few more stairs and you can sit at a beautiful table and overlook the entire city of Fes. Be sure to say hello to the turtles "Bonne" and "Chance". ;)))

In the morning a very lovely lady named Houda came to make us traditional Moroccan breakfast with different sorts of bread, eggs, marmelade and good STRONG coffee. :) She made as feel very welcome and completely at ease. We enjoyed the breakfast in the hall lounging on big comfy leather cushions.

When you step outside the peaceful quietness of the Dar, you find yourselves right in the middle of the medina, with bubbly street live, even late at night. Enjoy a walk along the many little shops and try some Moroccan delicacies. :)

The communication with Claire and Joe was wonderfully easy, we didn't get to meet them this time, but we sure hope to see them when we return.

Room Tip: The Ferhana bedroom is lovely. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend loved staying at Dar el Ma in Fez!
This place is gorgeous, cute and typically Moroccan. The location in the middle of the medina is super convenient and strangely enough though the medina can get really busy, inside the riad you enter a very peaceful and quiet place! Houda the housekeeper is very sweet and helpful - and makes a delicious breakfast in the mornings!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Really lovely dar beautifully renovated and situated centrally within the medina.. Despite the bustle of the medina, this spacious riad was an oasis of peace and quiet after a busy day out. After a couple of days there as a single in one of the rooms, my sisters joined me and we took the entire riad . I cannot fault either experience and would recommend this riad as a wonderful place to stay in Fez. Organised by one of my sisters who reported a great experience dealing with Clare and Joe, I can only add that Houda, who manages the riad on the ground so to speak on a daily basis, was brilliant. Arriving each morning to prepare a scrumptious Moroccan breakfast, Houda was very friendly, helpful and a delight to be with and made me feel totally "at home", providing lots of information and also preparing a beautiful Moroccan dinner for my sisters and I one night. We hadn't holidayed together for 30 years and the riad lent itself to providing a magical time for us together - a real hoot. Cocktail hour on the roof terrace was memorable. Thank you Clare, Joe and Houda. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Both big rooms great and if you have others with you, particularly children, there are plenty of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed four nights in this beautifully renovated, small, comfortable, private riad in the heart of the Fes medina. The location is perfect and it was just wonderful to have the experience, space and freedom of having our own 'home' in the medina rather than staying in a hotel riad. And that is the essence of Dar el Ma - a home in the medina. Our stay was made even more special by the assistance, attention and friendship of Houda, who manages the house on behalf of Claire and Joe, and is a delight. Houda cooked us a delicious meal, which we enjoyed on the rooftop terrace overlooking the medina! Claire and Joe were great hosts, providing timely and helpful information in the lead up to, and during, our visit. only one word of caution.... stairs, there are quite a few of them, but they are part of the architecture of the house and add to its charm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at Dar El Ma for 3 nights in March of 2013. While it is right in the middle of the medina, it is a nice quiet haven away from the hectic life outside. Every thing is very comfortable and, because of how Claire and Joe took care in remodeling the house, you truly do stay in a traditional moroccan home - beautiful tile work, high ceilings, open central 'courtyard' (don't remember what it's really called). The only drawback to this is that the doors and windows are older and do not seal, so sound travels fairly easily within the house. So, if you are a light sleeper, just bring earplugs! Houda, their helper, is just lovely and will do everything to help make your stay the best it can be. From the house, you can easily get to all major sites in the medina fairly quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great house, beautifully restored, in fact it was the best place we stayed in Morocco. Breakfast was good + they have washing machine you can use.
Tip: if you are hungry early in the morning go to the bakery around the corner and buy a bread for 1 dh ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar el Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Ma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.