We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peace Palace in the middle of Chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar el Ma to your Saves list
Dar el Ma
27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 177 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Peace Palace in the middle of Chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Dar El Ma 3 years ago, Oct 2009, for two nights. The place was wonderful, located between the two most busy streets of the market, the house is big, comfortable and calm. The hostel has few rooms, what makes it more enjoyable. The people is nice and helpful.
The best two experiences were; sharing the BBQ with the another couple and listening to the "call to prayers" at nightfall from the roof of the house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is lovely - a quiet oasis in the heart of Fez over 5 levels, all beautifully tiled and decorated. The terrace has wonderful views and Houda, the lady who visits each day and brings breakfast, is an angel. We shared with others for 2 nights and had the place to ourselves on the 3rd. The place is big enough to have pleasant encounters if there are other guests but it's also easy to retreat. There was a little issue with some water coming in one night when there was torrential rain. While this was unfortunate, it was well handled by staff and I have no hesitation in recommending Dar El Mar as it was recommended to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's funny to look back on trips to exciting destinations like Morocco and try to remember the hotels or guesthouses that you stayed in. Some seem to shape your entire memory of a trip while there are others that you simply cannot recall. Dar El Ma is unforgettable. Quietly hidden from the bustle of the winding alleyways of the Medina, staying at Dar El Ma felt like finding a place off the beaten tourist path, beyond the guidebook distractions that often consume a traveler and closer to the heart of Fes. The traditional Moroccan architecture and decorations, the clean and comfortable rooms, and breakfast with a view each morning from the rooftop porch all added to the experience. We especially enjoyed making friends with Houda and learning about the history and contemporary culture of Fes as well as tips on where to explore in the Medina. Thanks again for making our trip to Fes and Morocco an unforgettable experience.

Patrick and Katrina

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an UNBELIEVABLE place. Comfortable, clean, safe, incredibly beautiful, with delicious food to boot! Staying at Dar El Ma was one of the best decisions we made in our Moroccan travels. Thank you for having us!--Julia & Ben, Atlanta GA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great experience visiting Morocco over the course of ten days. But our best stay was in Fes at Dar El Ma. The location was perfect for our adventures throughout the medina. And we felt like royalty because of the service provided by the staff. Not to mention, that upon entering the Dar you are instantly transported from the medina into a palace.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Tastefully restored, this charming little dar provides a welcome refuge from the chaos of Fez Medina. Good breakfast on the roof and lovely view over the old city and mountains. Conveniently located a five minute walk from Bab Boujloud. Nice and quiet inside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We loved our stay at Dar El Ma, and also appreciated the free use of the computer, Houda's personal greetiing with a map of Fes and Moroccan tea. The neighborhood is really colorful and has a very local feel to it. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#10 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tara
Riad Tara
#17 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#13 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#2 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
dar gnaoua
dar gnaoua
#12 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar el Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Ma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.