We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fantastic - good location, great building, great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Attajalli to your Saves list
Dar Attajalli
2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overall fantastic - good location, great building, great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a small, boutique ryad in the Fes medina. It has been well renovated and offers very comfortable accomodations (except no A/C). The owner, Kleo, was a wonderful host - she'll even leave a bottle of wine in your room if you request it (for a fee)! The breakfasts were well made.
Definitely call before you head into the medina. I've got a great sense of direction but finding the place would have been nearly impossible. It is much farther than you expect, so plan on having Kleo hire a cart man (20 MAD) to haul your luggage when you leave.
Note that Kleo's internet connection is not wireless; if you have a laptop, you'll need to unplug hers and plug yours in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
88
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

In early June, my partner and I stayed at Dar Attajalli and oh, how I wish I was back there! Dar Attajalli is a first class riad all the way around. The proprietor, Kleo is fantastic. She's full of great information, thoughtful of her guests, is upbeat and bright, and personally worked with a local Moroccan crew to restore her gorgeous riad.

Next time I'm in Fes for the Sacred Music Festival, it's Dar Attajalli for me. PS- I haven't had a breakfast as good as Kleo's since leaving!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Beautiful place, good location, very helpful and friendly staff.
Breakfast at the roof terrace was unforgettable.
Cleo is a fantastic host.
Spending a day in the Fes medina is a mind-blowing experience; there is something magical about this place which i'm afraid i cannot use words to describe; it's a place full of images, action, contradictions which challenges the mind and stimulates the senses. I simply cannot imagine a better way to experience Fes other than staying over at Cleo's place...honest

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Travelling through Morocco can have its challenges. You can be ripped off, followed, hassled, taken to the wrong place, eat dodgy food, drink dodgy water, end up utterly lost and overall exhausted. That's why having a riad or a dar that you can escape to after trawling through the medina all day is so important for your overall experience. And Dar Attajalli was the perfect solution to escape the sensory overload of Fes.

The reviews on TripAdvisor really speak for themselves. Everything that's been said about Kleo and her staff is true. Hospitality and warmth are at the heart of this Dar and it's immediately felt once you enter from the hustle and bustle of the street.

Food wise, I've eaten breakfasts in hotels and resorts all around the world and this was one of the best. Simple, fresh, locally produced food with delightful twists that make it a memorable start to the morning.

Location wise, the Dar is perfectly suited for exploring in and outside of the Medina. Kleo's recommendations for guides and attractions to visit is spot on. Her briefing on the day of our arrival gave us the orientation we needed to set us up for the rest of the trip.

EVEN after Atlas-Blue cancelled our flight after a six hour delay and we had to stay at a very dodgy hotel on the outskirts of town, our memories of Fes remain positive because of the richness of culture, the sincerity of the people and the welcoming of Kleo and her team.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This riad was an absolute treat to stay in!!! It is beautifully and artistically renovated with attention to many details from the special soaps in the bathroom, to beautiful and individual furnishing in the rooms. The breakfasts on the rooftop terrace were a delight - delicious local products such as goats cheese, local butter, honey, marmalade and argon oil, with fresh bread and eggs, all from the medina, and most beautifully presented. Dinner was also a treat with delicious and unusual vegetarian tagines and wonderful moroccan salads.
The owner, Cleo, was extremely friendly and interesting, and was very personally engaged with guests.
This is the best place I have ever stayed in, in all my travels - truly a superb experience.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Just back from four nights in Fez and we stayed at the Riad Attajalli which was fantastic.

We arrived by taxi and were met by Abdul who guided us to the Riad via the back streets and alleys. We arrived to find a beautiful house which we immediately felt relaxed in. We were met on the roof terrace with mint tea by a lovely lady called Coby - the owner, - Kleo was away for a few days. Coby gave us lots of information about the Riad and Fez and was always on hand for any questions we may have and joined us for breakfast each morning.

Abdul and Naim were also very helpful and Naim prepared the most delicious breakfasts – different each day. They were also on hand if we ever wanted drinks.

It was an oasis in the Medina – after a day of sightseeing in Fez it was lovely to be able to relax on the roof terrace drinking mint tea and taking in the views over the medina. It was easy to find the Riad amongst the maze of streets in the Medina and was just off of one of the main streets running through the medina.

We stayed in the room on the ground floor which was very comfortable with two single beds and a lovely bathroom and views over the courtyard.

If you go to Fez be sure to stay at the Riad Attajali.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed in Dar Attajalli in Fez for the first two nights of our trip to Morocco and loved it so much we spent our last night there too!

We had organised for a transfer from the airport to the Dar and I was glad we did, I think the medina would have been rather tricky to navigate with luggage etc otherwise. Walking through the door into the courtyard was amazing the first and the last time! The Dar has been beautifully restored to an amazing standard, its takes a couple of days to take in all the beautiful mosaics and carved wood! It’s almost overwhelming when you first walk in, takes your breath away, the pictures just don't do it justice!

After dumping our bags Kleo met us on the roof terrace where she gave us a quick run down of the places to see and recommended a couple of places to eat! Throughout our stay she gave us tips and was always willing to answer any questions we had. The rooms were comfortably furnished with comfy beds and amazing bathrooms complete with natural toiletries which Kleo introduced us too! We stayed in both the purple room and the orange room and both were lovely. T

he Dar is well situated in the medina and with a bit of help from Kleo and a map we managed to find our way home to the roof terrace to escape the medina and its aroma! I think having the Dar as a retreat made the medina even more enjoyable! Drinking afternoon tea up on the roof terrace is one of my lasting memories of Fez, Naim makes the best Moroccan tea and appears from nowhere just when you need it, complete with and a plate of little yummy treats!

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and really set you up for taking on the medina. On our second night Kleo organised a chef to come in and cook a traditional Moroccan meal which was delicious and we had wine!! Something we sometimes had trouble finding whilst in Morocco but something Kleo was apple to supply us with, so we spent our last night chilling on the terrace with a glass or two soaking up the atmosphere! All in all we really enjoyed are adventures in Morocco and Dar Attajalli was one of the high lights!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Attajalli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.