We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, Genuine, Genuine...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Attajalli

Save Saved
You added Dar Attajalli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Attajalli
2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 85 hotels in Fes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Genuine, Genuine, Genuine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Avec la touche francaise....
My girlfriend and I stayed 4 days here. We could not have asked for more for less. Everything - location, hospitality, graciousness, delicate esthetic and mauve touches, respect for craft and renovation, original carved plaster and carved/painted wood, delicious authentic petit dejeuner and diner, view from roof terrace, and a matronne, Cleo, and her helpful, courteous staff - meant for a perfect medina visit. A rooftop cold dunk tank would have been the only addition to make it more pleasurable. When booking, a tip is to go directly to http://www.attajalli.com/. You'll get a cheaper price!!!
Bonne route!!!
Robert & Nadya, Philadelphia

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I think they all overlook the carved atrium. As mentioned above, when you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
83
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A beautiful, meticulously-restored house in an easily-accessible, good location near the main artery of the medina. Rooms are spacious and attractively decorated, though a bit dark due to the design of these medina houses. Kleo and her staff are gracious and welcoming, and provide lots of information about the medina, the people and the food. Wonderful breakfasts and fantastic dinners with Moroccan vegetarian dishes - fresh and beautifully prepared ingredients. Dive in and absorb the wonderful ever-changing panorama of Fez!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I cannot express how amazing this dar is! Not only are the rooms beautiful and immaculate, but the service and hospitality were unmatched by anywhere I have ever stayed. Kleo and her staff were fantastic and I immediately felt at ease, despite the chaos of the Fez medina. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staying at this hotel recently really gave me a genuine experience of living in the Medina (the old city) of Fez. Obviously a lot of thought has gone into designing everything here. I felt very well looked after. All the staff and the owner are charming. I might make special mention of the breakfast, which is unlike any other I've had and also obviously has had a lot of thought put into it. Also it's worth mentioning the great terrace from where there's a beautiful view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What an amazing experience and what an amazing hostess!!! Kleo spent three years restoring Dar Attalalii and it is exquisite. As others have said, it was restored with sensitivity, creativity and love. Everything about it was delightful. We chose a room with a bathtub and it was long, wide and there was plenty of hot water! Only at Dar Attalajii????

The terrace, where we had our breakfast and two of our dinners, was peaceful and beautiful with lovely plants and shrubs. And the meals! Nowhere else in Morocco and we were there for 3 1/2 weeks, did we have breakfasts or dinners like those at Dar Attajalli. Perhaps the most memorable meal was the vegetarian tagine with quince but both breakfast and dinner started with a wonderful assortment of what could best be called "befores".

Kleo had said, in e mails we exchanged before our visit, that we did not need a guide to navigate the souks in Fes and she was totally right. She gave us a wonderful map which made it very easy to wander around, pointed out the special places we might want to visit, including a truly beautiful medersa, and off we went! No problems at all and none, repeat none of the hassling that I had read about in many places. A pleasant "La, shokran" and a gentle wave of my hand was respected everywhere. So, when you go to Fes, be brave and try wandering through the souks on your own. If we did get a bit lost, I found that approaching any of the people in any of the souks, saying "Assalamu aleikum" and then showing them the map worked just fine.

Both Kleo and her staff were wonderfully hospitable and we certainly recommend staying with her. We will certainly do that ourselves if we return to Fes

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent the first two weeks of October in Morocco, travelling to several different towns. Thinking back, we feel that Fez and Dar Attajalli have made a unique impression on us. Kleo is the perfect hostess, generously sharing her beautiful taste for food and design with her guests. The large and delicious breakfast served on the terrace is unmatched. She also offers exciting and very tasty vegetarian dinner, which we do recommend. We followed Kleo's recommendations for Fez restaurants and for hiring a car and driver for the rest of our trip. We are so glad we did so! Our daugther of 7 is in love with Kleo even though she couldn't communicate in any of the several languages that Kleo speaks. Dar Attajalli made Fez the perfect stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a unique experience: staying in the heart of the Medina in this beautifully restored dar. The owner, Kleo, has exquisite taste, and has spared no effort in her design of the Dar Attajalii. Her attention to detail means that I not only got to enjoy what it's like living in the Medina, but felt truly pampered by Kleo and her beautiful staff. It's not just the decor, but every detail. For example, great thought has gone into the breakfast experience, which is a very special one - a veritable Moroccan feast. Although the rooms are lovely of course, the piece de resistance is the beautiful terrace, where I spent many peaceful hours, gazing out over the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask Kleo about your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Attajalli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.