We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Is The Fuss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's Cafe

Rick's Cafe
248, Bd Sour Jdid | Ancienne Medina, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
+212522274207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 530 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rick's Cafe Casablanca is a restaurant, bar and cafe located in the city of Casablanca, Morocco. Opened March 1, 2004, the place was designed to recreate the bar made famous by Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman in the movie classic Casablanca. Set in an old courtyard-style mansion built against the walls of the Old Medina of Casablanca, the restaurant - piano bar is filled with architectural and decorative details reminiscent of the film: curved arches, a sculpted bar, balconies, balustrades as well as beaded and stencilled brass lighting and plants that cast luminous shadows on white walls. There is an authentic 1930's Pleyel piano and As Time Goes By is a common request to the in-house pianist
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What Is The Fuss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch. You can't ask for a more average meal. It was fine but just fine. We went there with five people, all different items. All just ok but not remotely memorable. The service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    313
    116
    29
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Many years ago when I got married I had As Time Goes By as my wedding song and themed my wedding after the time the movie Casablanca was set in. I was not disappointed by this lovely restaurant. Alas, I did not eat here only drinks, but I wandered to all three floors and took tons of photos. In the "game" room there was a loop of the movie showing. I did not think the place was corny, I thought it was done with class. It was very crowded when I was there and most folks WERE eating and what they had on their plates looked good. The drinks were average price and we were given olives and nuts to munch on. This year is the 9 year anniversary of the place and if you are in Casablanca I think it definitely warrants a stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't let Rick's terrible food ruin your fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rick's is a hoot, heavy on atmosphere, and surprisingly inexpensive. Go and enjoy it, and try not to let the terrible food get in the way of your good time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“style in Casablanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went as a group to Rick's and upon entering were impressed with the decor complete with a piano player playing 'You must remember this' and the movie playing in the back room. We were transformed from the grime that is Casablanca to a more romantic era. The food was good and a reasonable price, service also good. If you are looking for a lovely night out this is a must and one of the best things we did on the tour of Morocco. Book well ahead and ask for downstairs near the piano.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Fine Food in Nostalgic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Close your eyes when you enter this place, open them inside and you’ll be transported back in time to Casablanca 1942. The décor, the ambiance with brass lanterns, white washed walls and curtains suggest Humphrey Bogart (Rick) is still running the place, Ingrid Bergman sitting by the bar and (Sam) playing the piano. As you survey the place, you recall the lyrics and the tune of “As Time Goes By” echoing in your mind. This legendary restaurant is truly a calm and peaceful oasis to relax, enjoy a cool drink and some fine food away from the hot and dusty streets of Casablanca.

We were there for lunch and the food was well prepared and presented. The roast filet of sea bass with ratatouille was cooked to perfection with exquisite flavour. The lemon tart dessert was also good with a nice crumbly crust. Service was impeccable, prompt and efficient. Staff could also converse well in English making ordering and asking questions much easier. In the background, the owner an American expatriate lady kept a close eye on the operation to quietly ensure nothing went wrong and your needs attended to quickly.

I would certainly recommend this establishment to any visitors to Casablanca. You’ll enjoy an unforgettable experience with fine western styled international cuisine. It is an exhilarating, if not mandatory, addition that will enhance your Moroccan tour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Cafe also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Rick's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.