We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, possibly romantic and definitely nostalgic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's Cafe

Rick's Cafe
248, Bd Sour Jdid | Ancienne Medina, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
+212522274207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 530 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rick's Cafe Casablanca is a restaurant, bar and cafe located in the city of Casablanca, Morocco. Opened March 1, 2004, the place was designed to recreate the bar made famous by Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman in the movie classic Casablanca. Set in an old courtyard-style mansion built against the walls of the Old Medina of Casablanca, the restaurant - piano bar is filled with architectural and decorative details reminiscent of the film: curved arches, a sculpted bar, balconies, balustrades as well as beaded and stencilled brass lighting and plants that cast luminous shadows on white walls. There is an authentic 1930's Pleyel piano and As Time Goes By is a common request to the in-house pianist
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Wonderful, possibly romantic and definitely nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went here one evening in January as a couple.

The owner has tried to recreate the lifestyle and times of the Film. Humphrey Bogart.
Very Good and you should all try it once in life.

We went in the daytime and looked around upstair, looked over the balcony to the atrium and say a 'replica' gaming table and roulette wheel. Upstairs there are good nooks and crannies to have a romantic meal in. However only do this if it is busy. Be sure to book beforehand as you have come a long way have you not.

The owner came to our table twice to ensure we were satisfied with everything. This is always a good sign.

Actually we sat downstairs upon a recommendation and were allowed to take photos but obviously were discreet about it. At the back there is a coctail bar, very atmospheric. I wish I had dressed in a white dinner jacket and bowtie!

A pianist playing all the melodies associated with the era on a grand piano. Fabulous touch!
Drapes, art deco lampshades, separately lit spaces and nostalgic atmosphere.

The food was excellent, I had fillet mignon which I Never expected to eat in Casablanca and the wine list was good.

This is a place to propose and also to make up with your spouse. Also just to share the experience together. The service was attentive without being intrusive.

Now outside there is limited parking right in front of the restaurant.

More details on <<www.rickscafe.ma>> or Tel +212 522 27407/08.

If your budget does stretch to a meal then check to see if you are allowed to drink only (cocktails) at the bar.

A 3 course meal for 3 including wine and service should be approximately 1200 dirhams.

Bon appetit.

Chris, Anna & Costas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    313
    116
    29
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Back to the Past in Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the outside not really an engaging building nor a fancy / trendy location (we went there at night) hence difficult to imagine all the beauties which await guests inside! So enter Rick's Café without hesitation and take your ticket for a ride into the past. From the most exquisite interior design to the 1930s-1940s music soundtracks and live jazz band performance, everything is geared towards creating a truly cosy and enchanting atmosphere which will make you not wanting to leave. Our host, the owner, a woman in her 60s, beautifully dressed, with that just right touch of classic elegance, came over to our table during dinner to greet us and this was that just perfect detail which made the moment spent at Rick's Café truly magical. Menu is restricted to only a few choices but caters for most tastes, food was very good (and the couscous just unbelievable!) and service was very efficient (even though could have been more friendly).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rick's Cafe Casablanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had dinner there with friends in December of 2012. If you are in Morocco make sure you visit Rick's Cafe. If you are not in Morocco plan a trip to Casablanca just to visit Rick's Cafe. You will not be disappointed I guarantee it. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were
serviced with the highetst amount of professionalism and care. The food was 5 star !
Prior to our meal, we went to the 2nd floor and watched "Casablanca" the movie and this set the tone for the evening. Our host, the owner was hands on and she ensured our evening was
perfect. I can't say enough about Rick's Cafe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“You must remember this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Made two visits - one during the day just before lunch and then about a week later for dinner. Kathy Kriger is a woman of vision and has created a wonderful fantasy in her creation of the famous Cafe from Casablanca. Ms Kriger is a hands on host and greeted us during dinner to ensure all was well. The ambiance is established from the moment you walk in, liveried staff, 1940s music piped through, the grand piano (even though the movie had an upright) and the bar. Dinner upstairs looking over the main space below was great. I hope to return again one day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Midnight at the Oasis - New Years Eve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spectacular! We could not believe the value for money and fantastic night we had at Ricks. From the Arabic caravansia welcome at the door to the champagne and hooters at midnight and beyond! We came from Dubai to Casablanca to attend and we would do it again! Brilliant music all night long! Thank you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Cafe also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Rick's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.