We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Casablanca City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Casablanca City Center to your Saves list
Novotel Casablanca City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Zaid Ouhmad | Rue Sidi Belyout, Casablanca 20190, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Casablanca
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently stayed as part of Gate 1 tour. Room is very nice and bed very comfortable. Hotel is 5 minute walk from old medina, but mostly sporting clothes shops. Not really worth it, but decide for yourself. My complaint with this hotel is the customer service and management. My first negative experience was when I changed money. After check in, I changed $20, which would have gave me, approximately 165 dirhams. I needed this last money for food and entry to Mosque. The front desk only had 100 dirhams and stated he would give me the remaining 65 in a little bit. That little bit, turned out to be over two hours. He did not give me a receipt, when changing, so I wanted to get it taken care of that night. I had no proof of the exchange and if the employee was not working the following morning, I probally would have been cheated. The main complaint was the attitude. I had decided, after two hours, that I would tell them to give me a 100 dirhams, and I would owe them 35. I'm sure that would have never happened. The second complaint was on the second day. I returned to my room, made up, but no towels. I told the maid and pointed, so I am pretty sure she understood me. After two hours and four requests, to the front desk and management, I finally got the towels. I found this customer service unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear ,

First I would like to thank you for choosing le Novotel Casa City Center.

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    388
    242
    58
    40
See reviews for
102
206
114
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of all the hotels on our Moroccan tour, this one got it all right. Great facility, good food, pleasant and professional staff, comfy beds, nice bathrooms and convenient location. I heard only minimal concerns from fellow travels and all problems were solved.

It was a pleasure staying here and I would definitely return. I highly recommend the Novotel Casablanca City Center.

Room Tip: The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms nice. The toilet is in a separate room from the shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Novotel Casa City Center.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Novotel for the final night during a Gate 1 trip to Morocco. Novotel always has a sleek, contemporary design, and this was no exception. The lobby area was spacious and led into the seating area for the bar and for the continental breakfast. The rooms were fine--the bathroom was positioned at a strange angle, but, as I said, that is Novotel's trademark: modern, with lots of angles and minimalist design. We prefer two beds but they only had rooms left with one bed, so my husband slept on the pull-out sofabed, which he said was very comfortable.

Check-in for our large group (about 40 people) was a bit chaotic, and the first room they gave us was occupied! Yikes! Sorry--didn't mean to walk in on you. So we had to go back down to the still-chaotic check-in to get a new room. Just a minor glich, but since the Moroccan food had recently begun to take its toll on my system, I was anxious to get into a room and stay near the bathroom. Anyway, all worked out fine.

If I were staying in Casablanca longer, I am not sure if this would be a good location for exploring the sites through walking. Rick's Cafe was a rather long walk on a not pleasant road, and the tour guide would NOT let us walk back to the hotel from there at night. Nothing else seemed to be nearby. However, do NOT miss the Hassan II Mosque--pay the entry fee. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Novotel Casa City Center

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Casablanca.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I arrived into Casablanca around 7pm and were heading out to Meknes the following day and so wanted a room that was reasonably priced, well located and comfortable! The Novotel Casablanca met all 3 requirements. The rooms were decently sized with comfortable beds. The bathroom was well equipped. And the location was perfect – we were just a few blocks off the main square.

Some downsides:
- When we arrived at the hotel, the bellboy did not help us with our luggage. He just stood watching us unload our bags from the taxi and carry them into the lobby
- Since we arrived late, we decided to grab a quick bite in the hotel itself. The food was terrible- they even managed to make a simple dish like a Penne Arrabiata taste bad

That said, I would definitely stay in the hotel again as it is good value for money and guarantees a certain standard that one thinks of when they think of the Novotel chain of hotels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us following your stay at Novotel Casa City Center

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies, kindly Know that i will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope this incident will not leave you with a bad impression of the Novotel Casa City Center and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and please accept our sincerest apologies

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly service, great lounge bar downstairs with good food. Centrally located at walking distance from the train station (Rabat trains), the Hassan II mosquee, the old soukh, restaurant Maur and Rick's cafe. Good quality price balance.WIFI. Great beds too! Hard to find anything to criticize.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear ,

First I would like to thank you for choosing le Novotel Casa City Center.

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Walking distance to the Medina, Rick's Cafe and the tourist areas. Rooms are roomy, large windows, and free wifi. The breakfast bar includes many choices. Food was good. If you are going to Rabat the train station is less than a block away. A good upscale hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The hotel is less than a block from the train station that goes to Rabat not the one from the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Novotel Casa City Center.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I accidentally booked a prepaid night at the Casablanca Novotel when I meant to use vouchers/points. When I arrived the hotel, the manager immediately said there was absolutely nothing they could do to refund the money and let me use vouchers instead - which I don't believe as I've spent more time in hotels than my own home. The Accor customer service phone line was equally useless. I've been loyal enough of an Accor customer to rack up over 40k+ points within 1 year - does that really count for nothing?

Average rating is because the room/location are fine - just displeased with the service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelcasablanca, Directrice d'exploitation at Novotel Casablanca City Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Novotel Casa City Center

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies, kindly Know that i will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope this incident will not leave you with a bad impression of the Novotel Casa City Center and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and please accept our sincerest apologies

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Novotel Casablanca City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Casablanca City Center

Address: Angle Zaid Ouhmad | Rue Sidi Belyout, Casablanca 20190, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Casablanca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Casablanca City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Casablanca City Center is a 4 star hotel offering 281 rooms (including eight suites) located right in the centre of Casablanca, a short distance from the old Medina and the prestigious Hassan II mosque. The hotel offers five meeting rooms, ideal for conferences or seminars for up to 250 people. Whether on a business trip or holiday in Casablanca, you will be charmed by our Lounge restaurant and bar and our comfortable rooms featuring satellite TV and WiFi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Casablanca City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Casablanca City Hotel Casablanca
Accor Casablanca City Center
Casablanca Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Casablanca City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.