We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the center of Casablanca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maamoura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maamoura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
Maamoura Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Rue ibn Batouta , Quartier deb Omar | near Central Market, Casablanca 20000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 hotels in Casablanca
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Right in the center of Casablanca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was our starting point for our other adventures in Morocco. The hotel is clean and centrally located and in my opinion priced right. Casablanca isn't a place you want to spend more then a day or two in but if you are looking to be centrally located this hotel is great. The lobby is comfortable, the staff is friendly, the wi-fi is consistent and the breakfast isn't bad either. From the Casa Voyageurs train station (which is good from the airport or anywhere around Morocco) it is only a quick taxi ride and should cost around 10 dirhams. Overall this hotel served it's purpose and I would recommend it to my fellow adventure travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    42
    21
    5
See reviews for
31
67
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It was not easy to find a good affordable hotel in Casablanca but the Hotel Maamoura was a great surprise. It is located in the old Art-deco area of Casablanca, which is very pretty despite being quite run-down.
The room and bathroom were large and very clean. No great decor in the rooms, but to me that was not important. We got comfortable beds and pillows in a clean room. That is all I needed!
We stayed there for 2 nights. On the first night we got a smaller triple room, but on the 2nd night since the hotel was full, they gave us the huge suite with a king-size bed for the same price.
I wouldn't recommend getting breakfast there unless you are in hurry and don't have time to go to a café.
Wifi works kind of so-so. It was ok in the first room but no connection in the second room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having been misdirected by our travel company to the Hotel Casablanca (which was indescribable) we arrived weary and rather wary at this hotel, where a welcoming cup of mint tea was waiting. The room was freshly refurbished, and had a nice balcony - although the view in this part of town (and most of Casablanca as far as we could see) was nothing to write home about. The facilities functioned perfectly, and it was clean and comfortable in every respect. Breakfast was served in a small back room dining room - a bit spartan, but with a good buffet spread where one could choose what one wanted. There was also lovely fresh orange juice provided. This part of town is rather dead at night/weekends, although I am not sure how the rest of Casablanca compares. The hotel is however a good starting point, and if the rest of the tour had offered a similar standard one would have felt fully satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel lacked the charm of riads in other cities, but the staff was helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a balcony with a nice view of the street, the bathroom with all its fixtures worked well, and the beds were comfortable. It's in a good location near the central market but not far from the medina. Breakfast is decent- croissants, coffee, juice, butter, jam, pastries etc. The restaurant is a good place for a meal with tasty food at good prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I agree with the other reviewers who have given this place an "average" rating. I can't say I was disappointed since frankly I did not expect much. The hotel was recently renovated, and the room we stayed in was large and comfortable enough for the price. However, the bathroom was really awful. The shower worked, but because the nozzle could not be adjusted to point anywhere but against the wall, it was awfully hard to take one. The plug did not work in the tub, so it was impossible to take a bath. The tub in which the shower was located had so wide a lip that my wife actually bruised herself trying to get out of it. Moreover, neither of the TVs (2 of them!) worked. Nor did the air conditioning. The front desk made absolutely no effort to help us when asked for assistance with these problems. And I do mean absolutely no effort. The woman did not even look at me when I reported on the air conditioning. She simply shrugged and continued to do whatever she was doing while sitting at the front desk. This was typical of the behavior of the staff throughout. They all acted like they would rather have been anywhere else, and had absolutely no interest in anything having to do with the hotel or assisting the guests. Finally, the breakfast was adequate, but only barely.
In conclusion, the only reason I give this hotel an "average" rating rather than "bad" or "terrible" is because the room itself and the bed were comfortable, there was a decent view out the window, the hotel did arrange for a taxi to take us to the airport very early in the morning, and the room was relatively cheap. Frankly, Casablanca itself seems awfully seedy, so it isn't too surprising that one of the better hotels in town should be also.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while in Casablanca waiting for a flight out of morocco. Rooms clean and tidy, hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed here only for one night - the place was clean and felt safe but there was not much around to do - very quiet at night. There are a bunch of other hotels nearby and a two minute walk will take you to a main street where there a variety of shops, internet cafes, etc. The hotel offers free WIFI and the typical morrocan breakfast (bread, cream cheese, marmalade, boiled egg, morrocan pancakes, orange juice (not quite fresh)) which was pretty decent for what you pay. My room was clean and had a good air conditioning system - would stay here again except you have to take taxi's out of the area is you want to go do stuff i.e. head to La Cornishe which is the fancy Beverly Hill's of the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maamoura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maamoura Hotel

Also Known As:
Maamoura Hotel Casablanca
Address: 59 Rue ibn Batouta , Quartier deb Omar | near Central Market, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Casablanca
#4 Business Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maamoura Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 3* it is new it is in city center. All the rooms are air conditioned. The decoration is typically Moroccan. TV satellite. Hot water all day. 2 elevators .Moroccan breakfast, nicely decorated hall. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maamoura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maamoura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.