We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Casablanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Casablanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Blvd d'Anfa, Casablanca 20000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 68 hotels in Casablanca
tangier
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

One night stay in this hotel and was unhappy with various things. Great bed but the pillows are mountainous. My son couldn't sleep on them, asked for a better pillow, got one just the same. Bathroom was dirty, still had hair in tub. Had mold as well. Curtain in the room was ripped. Sleeping but could hear noise if you are in the room facing boulevard anfa. Breakfast was good though. Paid 100 dh for garage but had to wait 15 mn to get my car from a down below garage.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

We feel very uncomfortable for the statements you relate and we apologize for it. We believe that is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this in mind, the comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us.

Although your recent stay in our Hotel did not fully satisfy you, we would dearly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future. If so, please let us know in advance of your arrival in order to welcome you personally.

Yours sincerely,


The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    96
    71
    30
    19
See reviews for
26
71
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not the usual barcelo standard. Room was not clean. Marks from glasses left on table surfaces. Dusty and generally in need of a good clean. Bathroom in similar condition. Only one towel provided and despite asking multiple times, no additional towel received. Reception staff were not friendly at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Customer,

We feel very uncomfortable for the statements you relate and we apologize for it. We believe that is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this in mind, the comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us.

Although your recent stay in our Hotel did not fully satisfy you, we would dearly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future. If so, please let us know in advance of your arrival in order to welcome you personally.

Yours sincerely,


The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is a 25 minute walk from the Hassan II mosque, and located short walking distance from several places to eat (from fast food to luxury restaurants). The hotel itself was quite clean, and the rooms were spotless and well-appointed. The king size beds felt huge compared to the dual-twin beds most hotels in Morocco seem to offer, and were a nice surprise.
Our problems were with the service: we booked a room for 3 people, but our room only had one large bed. We went to the front desk and asked for a different room, and they said they would have a new room prepared when we returned from dinner. After dinner (2 hours later) we got a new room key, but the new room still only had one bed. When we complained the front desk person just shrugged and said he was trying to find a room with an extra bed. At this point it was 10:30 at night. They eventually ended up carrying a bed from another room into our room. This solved the sleeping problem but was ridiculous that we made the reservation 2 months in advance and they couldn't seem to find a room with two beds in the hotel. If you have a simple reservation you probably won't have problems, but be warned. Only one staff person spoke English, so unless your French or Arabic is good you might have trouble communicating what you want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Customer

We wish to thank you for your time and comments.
We are woking very hard daily to improve our services and our sense of hospitality.

Regarding your comments all concerned staff have been informed and briefed about your experience and we are working on the points that you are mentionning.

Looking forward to welcome you personnally again at the Barcelo Casablanca.


The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our trip because we thought it would be a bit luxurious. We were wrong, there was rust all over the shower, the TV didn't work and the concierge didn't speak any English. For the price, we should have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Customer,

We feel very uncomfortable for the statements you relate and we apologize for it. We believe that is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this in mind, the comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us.

Although your recent stay in our Hotel did not fully satisfy you, we would dearly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future. If so, please let us know in advance of your arrival in order to welcome you personally.

Yours sincerely,


The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Again in this hotel. From my previous experience, the hotel show signs of age and minor details should be controlled, such as sound insulation (poor) from outside traffic. The toilette was leaking (internally) and one of the sockets was not working (problematic as this is the one for PC plugging). On the positive side, there are plenty of power sockets available and handy. Breaktast is still good and had tried dinner in the restaurant and I was surprised for the quality. Not cheap but a very good choice for eating, with good service. All in all and 4 years my previous comment, I still recommend this hotel for Casablanca.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor rooms if you want less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Customer

We wish to thank you for your time and comments.
It was a pleasure to read your review and we are thankful for your encouragements to continue to challenge ourselves to make you feel at home.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Barcelo Casablanca.

The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Atlas Voyages coach tour at the beginning and end of our tour. In bound, the room we had was good (with free WIFI) if you can overlook the rusting edges of the bath tub and a malfunctioned glass partition that led to shower water leaking outside the tub. Comfy duvets but some found the mattresses a bit firm but were fine with us. Breakfast was presented well and service attentive. The location is ideal as it is 10 minutes walk to Lonely Planets' Walking tour (which is hard to follow as the little alleyways have no names) and the Corniche (and Hassan II Grand Mosque:second largest in the world) is 20 minutes walk one way. ATM machines are unreliable and you may have to try a few before you hit the jackpot to get some dirhams. The outbound stay at the end of our Tour was short (one night) and the room we had was a corner room (#05) with none of the defects in the first room. The "last supper" however gave me food poisoning which manifested itself when I was airborne. The culprit I suspect was a cold vermicelli with baby shrimps salad as my travel companion had exactly the same foods but minus the culprit dish. I was sick for the next 48 hours.

Room Tip: All windows have thin glass so traffic noise is annoying and Casablanca is not a quiet city. Pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Customer,

We feel very uncomfortable for the statements you relate and we apologize for it. We believe that is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this in mind, the comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us.

Although your recent stay in our Hotel did not fully satisfy you, we would dearly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future. If so, please let us know in advance of your arrival in order to welcome you personally.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is great, about 30 minutes walking away from the sea and Hassan II mosque, however it will be still not easy to find a taxi in the morning, if you walk around, lots of restaurants and places to hang out, cutting to the chase, the break fast is great, but on my last day they refused to host me at the breakfast at 10:37 (breakfast ends at 10:30. No complimentary water, TV channels are not worth the watching, no sports, no clear print, free wifi but very poor signal and disconnects a lot. Concierge and bell boys are very helpful though :)

Room Tip: Don't choose the rooms facing the elevators, no city overlooking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo-Maroc, General Manager at Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Customer

We wish to thank you for your time and comments.
It was a pleasure to read your review and we are thankful for your encouragements to continue to challenge ourselves to make you feel at home.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Barcelo Casablanca.

The Management
Barcelo Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Casablanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Casablanca Hotel

Also Known As:
Barcelo Casablanca
Address: 139 Blvd d'Anfa, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Casablanca Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Casablanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Casablanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.