We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful exhibit of colonial art deco posters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Abderrahman Slaoui

Musee Abderrahman Slaoui
12, rue du Parc, Casablanca 20070, Morocco
+212 5222-06217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 103 things to do in Casablanca
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful exhibit of colonial art deco posters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Also mixed in were objets like Czech glass. The building too was a cool modern piece. Small and easy to take in a short visit.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of Casablanca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I loved discovering the vintage posters.
Their little living room in the top floor is amazing you can have tea there and enjoy a peaceful moment away from the hustle and bustle in the city

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nicely presented, but not that much to see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Was keen to visit after reading the good reviews - it is tucked away on a side street near
L'Eglise du Sacre-Coeur and Mohammed V Square.

This is the personal art collection of Abderrahman Slaoui - an ecletic collection.
Ground Floor is mostly 19th/20th century objets d'art (decorative antiques, jewellery etc) which I found quite repetitive and passed through quickly.
Then there is some artwork, I liked the drawings of traditional dress and historic paintings of life in Tangier. There is also a large collection of poster art from the 50s/60s/70s showing how Morocco and other North African countries were promoted as tourist destinations - this was suprisingly interesting from both an artistic and historical point of view.
There is also a nice relaxing cafe space on the top floor.

I did like much of what I saw, however the museum is quite small and I was in and out in under an hour. At 30dh entry it is slightly expensive compared to other attractions in the country plus there is not much info in English (they have started doing a translation and can give you a handout if you ask, but it is not yet complete). However there are not that many tourist sights in Casablanca so if you find yourself in the area then it is worth a look.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“quiet, peaceful, easy to find but not English friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This museum was not far from where we were before we were looking for it. Once we went to the roof top terrace and looked out over the beautiful city, we immediately spotted our last location spot for pictures.
1.) I liked the beauty of the townhouse museum.
2.) I could not read anything. Everything was in Arabic and French.
3.) The price was a bit steep for a person that can not fully comprehend anything since nothing was in English.
4.) The ladies bathroom needs a sign in front to remind the person entering that the door should be slid to the right when you are finished doing your business. My 'special needs' daughter was locked in the bathroom because I forgot the door was not a swinging door like the mens' toilet but rather a sliding door. The door knob is the same on the mens' bathroom but you quickly forget your door doesn't swing on a hinge but rather glides on a track. This was a bit upsetting as this was the first time on our vacation that I allowed my daughter to go into the restroom to 'take care of her business'. However, the lady at the front desk quickly came down and slide the door on the track and then we all went, 'aaahhhhh yes, it slides not swings'. It was a laughable moment but in the future a gentle reminder on the front of the ladies door in 3 languages would suffice.
4.) The poster in the basement is rather offensive. It is a soap / savon commercial or advert from Paris and it shows the various citizens of Paris, cleaning/bathing a big brown Moroccan man. This is not funny but rather offensive. Yes, it appears to be from the 20's but I'm sure you can find another poster from that era that can education all customers to the museum. I think the poster is in bad taste.
5.) Overall, the museum is sophisticated and a very quiet place for reflection and contemplation perhaps.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

A nice little gem hidden in a small street. Quiet with works of art and handicrafts from a privare collection. Great cafe at the 3rd floor. Worth the visit.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Abderrahman Slaoui also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Musee Abderrahman Slaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Abderrahman Slaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.