We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Structure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassan II Mosque

Hassan II Mosque
Blvd Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah, Casablanca, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$84*
and up
Casablanca Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 23 Attractions in Casablanca
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stately mosque, a fine example of pure Moroccan architecture, is the only one in the city that non-Muslims may visit.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This amazing mosque is a must visit - not only does it have one of the tallest minarets in the middle East it has some of the most beautiful Moroccan plaster work on the walls.
The structure is huge and beautifully designed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,239
    519
    114
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Magnifique work of art very impressing, very good organisation for the tourist to wait to get their tickets. A Must See in Casablanca

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

There isn't too much to do in Casa as tourist but this mosque is def worth a visit. The opining times are a bit odd and I think there is just one tour sometime in the afternoon. So plan ahead maybe!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth a visit? yes Worth €800m ............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If in Casablanca, do find the time to visit the Hassan II Mosque, quite rare to see such an impressive modern building built in the style from centuries past.
The tour costs about £10 and you do get to see a lot considering it is a place of worship. When I said is it worth €800m in the title, I am not attempting to judge, it is more so that on my visit listening to half a dozen tour guides ( it seems most languages catered for ) I was amused to hear so many different amounts quoted by each guide. Apparently the true cost is a state secret ( or is it ) well the guides there are not giving it away as I heard anything from €500m to €2billion.
As a non muslim it is one of the very few Mosque you can see from the inside, though certain areas are restricted to non- muslims, however inside the main indoor prayer area you do get a true scale of the building and a small understanding of what the room may be like with 25,000 people inside !
They were hoovering when we visited, nice chap pushing around what looked like a small car!
Although the lighting is not great and the sheer scale makes photography difficult it is camera friendly no frowns when you take your camera out.

Ricks bar is nearby so whenever in Casablanca jump in a Petite Taxi and pay a visit

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Hassan ll in the haze of the Atlantic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A grand position by the ocean, this opulent architectural feat is an imposing statement on the landscape. It was pleasant to enjoy the sounds and fresh air of the ocean and to watch the reaction of people visiting, as we were, for the first time. The fine sea mist swirling around the mosque gave it a mystical aura in the late afternoon winter sunshine. The Corniche was a pleasant walk but we could not locate visitor toilet facilities.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassan II Mosque also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Hassan II Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassan II Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.