We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tourism Destination for Casablanca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassan II Mosque

Hassan II Mosque
Blvd Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah, Casablanca, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 29 attractions in Casablanca
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This stately mosque, a fine example of pure Moroccan architecture, is the only one in the city that non-Muslims may visit.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Top Tourism Destination for Casablanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The place is awesome, huge and magnificent. A must-see when you come to Morocco. Have a look at night, a super-powerful laser beam will point in the sky the Mecca direction. Great experience not reserved to muslims.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    423
    83
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Big mosque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

its really nice one and you should visit you have to stop there,

its a great one and very touristic place full of foreigners and its really looks Fulbright.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and majestic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to Hassan II mosque in February 2012.
The surrounds are not the best or the most beautiful, but when you get to the Mosque, the air itself changes.
Hassan II is a very nice mosque, huge in size (the minaret is about 12 storys) and beautifully covered with bluish and greenish marbles, with huge metal decorated doors and very neat polished edges.
The sound of the sea close by, gives the place a sense of peace and completion that is very interesting and soothing as well.
The whole site is worth visiting, so, if you go to Casablanca, definitely, do not miss this spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is not to be missed on a visit to Casablanca, and is well worth the price for the official tour. It's an architectural wonder as it is built out over the water.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hassan II Mosque is beautiful inside and out. The arcitect who designed the mosque is French so it has the feel of a cathedral in Europe. Be sure to take a tour of the inside, it is worth it. We paid 160 DH for a 1 hrs tour, I see others paid 120DH. It is really the only thing worth doing while in Casablanca so I would plan your day if you are able around the tour hours. The tours hours are set so not to interfer with prayer times. I believe the tour hours are 9, 10, 11 and 2. I'm sure about the 2 pm tour because that is the one we took. We are a family of four with 2 teenage girls. The girls really enjoyed the tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassan II Mosque also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Hassan II Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassan II Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hassan II Mosque to your Saves list