We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What does anyone expect for the price?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Basma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kenzi Basma to your Saves list
Kenzi Basma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, Avenue Moulay Hassa 1er, Casablanca 20 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Casablanca
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
165 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What does anyone expect for the price?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

You can get a double room here for £38 a night on occasion through hotels.com. For that, you get friendly staff. Old fashioned surroundings. Clean but sometimes stained carpets, yes OK, but I don't mind stains at this price. A really comfortable bed. Immaculately clean sheets and towels. En suite clean loo and bath/shower. TV with a choice of 15 or so channels. Location right in the centre of Casablanca.

Yet others whine! Do they expect the Ritz? What more do people want for the price? It is real value for money.

Room Tip: High up you get a view of the Mosque Hassan ll
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    67
    39
    38
See reviews for
16
39
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Great hotel, big rooms, plenty of hot water and comfortable beds. The location is great, a short walk to many attractions and easy access to the tram. At the time of our visit the building looked a little "worn", however it was very clean and the staff were all helpful. There is a beaut chocolate shop on the next corner!

Room Tip: Three Large lifts, so no worries with baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

After booking with the travel agency, they made us pay again 50$ for tax. The receptionist was so rude not professional at all. There was repairs or something but the noise did not make us sleep at all for three days!!! Rooms are dark and needs more light and there was a problem with the fridge door. Needs renovation but not while I'm sleeping!! Again the attitude of its staff is not professional at all..

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We were booked in this hotel for 2 nights in April 2013. Although we booked months ahead, they we fully booked at our arrival and we had to go to another hotel. We felt that was unnecessary. The second night we slept at the Kenzi Hotel and could not believed how unpleasant and very,very rude the staff at reception was!!!
My room was a disaster!!! The curtains could not open, the fridge was out of order, the hairdryer was missing, the bed light did not work, their was no bath plug, the air con was out of order, the towels were shabby with holes in it and the toilet was broken. What a terrible place to stay in!!! When I went to complain about my room the woman at the reception found everything I complained about, very funny and offered me a hairdryer to borrow and a free drink. When I asked to speak to the manager she said he or she is not available.
This was by far the worse hotel I've ever stayed in. STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I have a business trip to Casablanca and our organization booked this hotel for us for seven nights. so before traveling I decided to log to tripadvisor to read the reviews. Actually I felt so worry from what I read and I was traveling sad but when I arrived to the hotel it was different from what I read.
The hotel suppose to be 4stars but the true it is like a 3 stars hotel, the receiption is not big but the staff are friendly and helpful. My room was double room in the seventh floor with Casablanca sky view, the room is not big but also not small (good one). The lighting is not enough in room at night but in the morning good sun. All rooms are smoking rooms. In my room Bathroom is big and clean, with shampoo and soaps. The room have a good LCD television, but all and all the room furniture need to be renovated. But not bad. The house keeping clean the room good maybe The only problem is that wifi connection is not good in the room so you need to log on from the receiption which was difficult sometimes. I had connection in my room but sometimes not all the time.
Breakfast is delicious but not a big varieties. The restaurant is clean and staff are nice and helpful. We had also dinner in the hotel, Moroccan food and it was nice. But the furniture of the first floor restaurant need to be renovated too.
The hotel is five minutes walking from madina and souk/market and this was really good too if you need to go buy gifts from there.
In general the hotel is good and clean but don't expect much from it, only the basic that you will need for a good clean safe stay.
I write this review because the reviews that I read about this hotel didn't help me before trying this hotel.
Enjoy your stay! :)

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Hotel rooms are dark, only 3 lamps with low wattage
There is a mosquito in our room
Maybe the room is clean for their standard
Breakfast has very limited choices
Staff are nice but I feel some of their gestures are not polite (house keeping) or maybe bec they don't speak English?
The surroundings of the hotel are not clean, lots of litter..

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed room
Restaurant good
Location good
Poor maintenance. Door to terrace jammed
Very rude staff on reception. Poor level or service
Terrible wifi
Carpets and seating smelt heavily of old smoking
Stains everywhere
Poor level of cleaning
Avoid. Value for money poor.
Travel agent said included breakfast. Hotel reneged on deal
Better alternatives elsewhere
Overpriced

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Oum Palace Hotel
Oum Palace Hotel
#42 of 69 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Walid Hotel
Al Walid Hotel
#12 of 69 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Toubkal
BEST WESTERN Hotel Toubkal
#13 of 69 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JM Suites Hotel
JM Suites Hotel
#28 of 69 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#18 of 69 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#22 of 69 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Basma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Basma

Address: 35, Avenue Moulay Hassa 1er, Casablanca 20 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenzi Basma 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kenzi Basma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Basma Hotel Casablanca
Kenzi Basma Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Basma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.