We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Grill restaurant - Excellent food - not so good prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mansour Casablanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mansour Casablanca to your Saves list
Royal Mansour Casablanca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Casablanca
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Royal Grill restaurant - Excellent food - not so good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We wandered in to have a cool drink (50 dh each for a coca cola!!!). Decided to have lunch there after looking at the menu.
The food was excellent. Fish soup and crab salad for starters, Lamb shanks and Osso bucco for mains, apple tart and creme brulee for pudding, all wonderful. But I do wonder when the lamb shanks are 155 dh and the crab salad is 135 dh. The starter is almost as much as the main course! Maybe I'm just not used to eating like this,
I knocked over my glass of water and the staff coped very well, switching us to another table and drying us off very smoothly, luckily this happened before we had any food.on the table.
I must confess that after we'd paid and left I noticed that we had not been charged for our bottle of wine. I wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't been keeping the bill for this revue!
Seems to be something wrong with the dining room system?
As the chaiman of Illy is also the chairman of this hotel group I had to have an expresso coffee, also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    185
    121
    42
    16
See reviews for
48
121
50
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here one night after flight from Australia. Quite a comformable room. Rooms are large although a little dated. Clean and a nice bar downstairs. The breakfast room was large and had a great selection of foods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wunstorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I liked the very friendly and assisting people there. The rooms are luxorious and the restaurant is very good sorted. A nice mixture of old oriental and modern European style.
The location is more or less poor, but you may reach the Medina in a five minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

After reading your comments on TripAdvisor, we can only say: Wow ! Thank you!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the Royal Mansour Meridien on your next trip in Casablanca.

The entire team is looking forward to it!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, in the heart of Casablanca. Very assisting and polite staff, clean rooms and soft beds (slept so nice!), tasty food (not great variety though), but definitely this is the hotel you should choose once in Casablanca!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The whole stay was good but not what you expect from a "Meridien" hotel,overpriced for what it offers. Big rooms but not renovated,acceptably cleaned.Food not acceptable,very european cuisine,very few traditional dishes.Service good but not professional with respect to the bufee..the waiters were served themselves by the bufee while serving customers(!).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to shar ewith us your impressions about your stay at Le Royal Mansour.

We have been sincerely dissapointed to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies on that and we will try to do our best to improve the quality of service at our restaurant.

We do sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Royal Mansour in the near future.

We look forward of welcoming you soon in Le Royal Mansour Meridien,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Past the excellent, friendly and very accommodating staff, and beyond the exquisite lobby, you reach your room. And that is where things go downhill.

We had two rooms on the "Preferred Guest" floor both with the same issues. To begin, the rooms were hot - 80 degrees F while it was low 60s F outside. Turning the room fan on produced noise but no discernible air movement and certainly no temperature reduction. The somewhat complex room thermostat clearly didn't work. Opening the window -- barely, due to a safety lock - you enjoy the diesel fumes, traffic sounds, and the constant car horns of Casablanca, but the room did begin to cool- but only a few degrees. The bed is modestly comfortable, with a mattress with a few lumps and bumps, along with very thick and very hard pillows that leave your head elevated well above your body and with difficulty in finding any comfortable position.

The real horror story was the bathroom ( see pictures). The mold on the tub and shower surround was clearly visible nearly everywhere you looked to the point of genuine concern about mold spores in the air. Calling the state of the tub shabby would be charitable, including dark stains and cracks near the top of the tub. The obviously clogged tub drains in both rooms left you standing in nearly knee-deep water by the end of your shower. Perhaps this is their method of keeping showers brief.

The room itself is spacious but clearly has seen better days, with chips in the moldings and fading paint. The bedroom did appear clean. There was also apparently some construction on the floor above, and so for the first few hours of our stay we had a nearly constant and very loud banging.

We probably would have immediately left for another hotel were it not for only a one night stay, and a short night due to a very early morning departure.

Finally, there was the petty annoyance that after experiencing free WI-fi everywhere else we stayed in Morocco, Le Meridien charges $10USD an hour. Nowadays, that verges on a contrived charge, like a "resort fee" or "energy tax" and not what one expects from a hotel of this purported stature.

I regret I cannot recommend Le Meridien if only because, in our experience, the staff was excellent at every level. If we had booked into a hotel that didn't allege a high accommodation standard, as Le Meridien does, then we might take the issues mentioned in stride.

Unfortunately, at least in our case, Le Meridien rooms are inadequate to the point of discomfort,(and perhaps even your health in the bathrooms), let alone the lack of value for money. For what you will pay at Le Meridien, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We have been disappointed with some of your comments on Tripadvisor but we, unfortunately, can not object on these since we did not match the quality of service that the customer were looking for in that time but not anymore as you will see.

However, we invite to have a look at the other comments on Tripadvisor, you will be able to see how satisfied many other guests felt after departing our property.

Although the Hotel was not renovated at this time of your visit, we are glad to inform you that during the year 2012 and 2013, we have put in place new carpets in all the floors, invested in the bathrooms with refixing the bathtub and shower surround as well as changed the bed mattresses and pillows.
We also refurbished the lobby area and upgraded the buffet breakfast.

We definitly assure you that we will do our best in order to provide you with the best enjoyable stay possible for your nest stay.

Meanwhile, do not hesitate to contact me in person at anytime if you have any special demand or question that I will make you feel more releived about your stay with us in Le Royal Mansour meridien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

You can tell that this used to be a much better hotel! The room smelled stuffy and stale. The furniture was nice, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom really needed updating. It was dirty looking even when it was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, I am however concerned about your constructive remarks about the comfort in your room and I sincerely apologize if we were unable to change rooms at that time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation in order to make sure to accommodate the best available room.

The entire team of the Royal Mansour Meridien wishes you a very Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Mansour Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Casablanca

Address: 27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#5 Business Hotel in Casablanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Casablanca 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mansour Casablanca offers deluxe service and limitless possibilities for discovery at the center of Casablanca, just a few minutes from the Corniche, the port and the Hassan II mosque. The hotel features modern meeting facilities, and 182 sophisticated and spacious guestrooms including 23 suites, all known for their historical elegance and modern comfort. Our free Wi-Fi in guestrooms and publique spaces keeps you connected to your family, friends, and work throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Royal Mansour Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel Casablanca
Meridien Le Royal Mansour
Meridien Hotel Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mansour Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.