We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Staff Seeks Better Facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mansour Casablanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mansour Casablanca to your Saves list
Royal Mansour Casablanca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Casablanca
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“5 Star Staff Seeks Better Facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Past the excellent, friendly and very accommodating staff, and beyond the exquisite lobby, you reach your room. And that is where things go downhill.

We had two rooms on the "Preferred Guest" floor both with the same issues. To begin, the rooms were hot - 80 degrees F while it was low 60s F outside. Turning the room fan on produced noise but no discernible air movement and certainly no temperature reduction. The somewhat complex room thermostat clearly didn't work. Opening the window -- barely, due to a safety lock - you enjoy the diesel fumes, traffic sounds, and the constant car horns of Casablanca, but the room did begin to cool- but only a few degrees. The bed is modestly comfortable, with a mattress with a few lumps and bumps, along with very thick and very hard pillows that leave your head elevated well above your body and with difficulty in finding any comfortable position.

The real horror story was the bathroom ( see pictures). The mold on the tub and shower surround was clearly visible nearly everywhere you looked to the point of genuine concern about mold spores in the air. Calling the state of the tub shabby would be charitable, including dark stains and cracks near the top of the tub. The obviously clogged tub drains in both rooms left you standing in nearly knee-deep water by the end of your shower. Perhaps this is their method of keeping showers brief.

The room itself is spacious but clearly has seen better days, with chips in the moldings and fading paint. The bedroom did appear clean. There was also apparently some construction on the floor above, and so for the first few hours of our stay we had a nearly constant and very loud banging.

We probably would have immediately left for another hotel were it not for only a one night stay, and a short night due to a very early morning departure.

Finally, there was the petty annoyance that after experiencing free WI-fi everywhere else we stayed in Morocco, Le Meridien charges $10USD an hour. Nowadays, that verges on a contrived charge, like a "resort fee" or "energy tax" and not what one expects from a hotel of this purported stature.

I regret I cannot recommend Le Meridien if only because, in our experience, the staff was excellent at every level. If we had booked into a hotel that didn't allege a high accommodation standard, as Le Meridien does, then we might take the issues mentioned in stride.

Unfortunately, at least in our case, Le Meridien rooms are inadequate to the point of discomfort,(and perhaps even your health in the bathrooms), let alone the lack of value for money. For what you will pay at Le Meridien, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We have been disappointed with some of your comments on Tripadvisor but we, unfortunately, can not object on these since we did not match the quality of service that the customer were looking for in that time but not anymore as you will see.

However, we invite to have a look at the other comments on Tripadvisor, you will be able to see how satisfied many other guests felt after departing our property.

Although the Hotel was not renovated at this time of your visit, we are glad to inform you that during the year 2012 and 2013, we have put in place new carpets in all the floors, invested in the bathrooms with refixing the bathtub and shower surround as well as changed the bed mattresses and pillows.
We also refurbished the lobby area and upgraded the buffet breakfast.

We definitly assure you that we will do our best in order to provide you with the best enjoyable stay possible for your nest stay.

Meanwhile, do not hesitate to contact me in person at anytime if you have any special demand or question that I will make you feel more releived about your stay with us in Le Royal Mansour meridien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    189
    121
    43
    16
See reviews for
49
122
50
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

You can tell that this used to be a much better hotel! The room smelled stuffy and stale. The furniture was nice, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom really needed updating. It was dirty looking even when it was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, I am however concerned about your constructive remarks about the comfort in your room and I sincerely apologize if we were unable to change rooms at that time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation in order to make sure to accommodate the best available room.

The entire team of the Royal Mansour Meridien wishes you a very Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at Le Royal Mansour Meridien on the first and last night of our tour of Morocco.
On the first night we were given a room in the unrenovated section but it was fine . There was a sight damp odour that has been mentioned previously but nothing that detracted from our stay .
For our second night we were given an updated room which was superb. Very spacious with a large bed and the amenities were spotless.
All the staff from the check-in desk, bell boys , concierge , room service and resturant/bar staff were attentive and courteous.
The buffet breakfast was good and on the second night we dined in their "Moroccan Room" which was very good .
All in all our stay at the Le Royal Mansour Meridien was a good satart and finish to our Moroccan adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your comments on TripAdvisor, thank you very much for sharing them!
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services! Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for us!

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your beloved ones a wonderful New Year; hopefully we will be able to see you again then!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for one night before boarding our flight to return home. On arrival we were not given the room we paid for so we returned to the front desk for a room swap. The lady at reception was wonderful and helped fix the mistake promptly. We also ate dinner in the Moroccan restaurant that night and found it good. Our room was ok although the bathroom needed an update. So far so good. More than adequate for a one night stay.

It was in the morning where our problems started.

First, I want to warn you that breakfast will come to over 50 Canadian Dollars. It's nuts when you consider what you pay for food in Morocco. The coffee machine was broken but the buffet spread was great. When we tried to check out using my boyfriends Credit Card, mysteriously it stopped working? Really? We used this card through out Morocco and we stayed in some remote places. As a side note - Canadians should be warned that Depit cards are not reliable in Morocco. Many banks didn't recognize our cards. We found one called BMCE Bank that almost always worked, so we stopped there when ever we had the chance. Unfortunately, we did not have cash on us in Casablanca as this was to be our last night. We insisted that reception try our Visa card again but it was rejected! Now we knew there was no issue with our bank because they were informed of our travel plans and hadn't turned off the card. Reception told us we needed to withdraw CASH from an atm. How could this be? We booked the room with THAT credit card. So now my boyfriend had to run from bank machine to bank machine to find one that would fork over cash. Also, our flight time was fast approaching! This went on for far too long. My boyfriend returned defeated from the local bank machines as expected and we insisted that they find a way to use the credit card. Reception called their "center" and rudely stated that the card was rejected. Now we were really late for the airport and out of options. How could this happen in a large hotel chain and not in a small riad in the Atlas mountains? I would love to know who their "center" was because they were completely incompetent. I dug in my bags and found my American debit/visa (these are normally the more unreliable cards) and the "center" accepted it. At this point I asked for a hired car to rush us to the air port. Reception said it would cost 300D. Fine, I just wanted to get out of Casablanca. So the hotel driver gets us in the car knowing we are late and stops on the way to the airport to get gas. When we arrived he demanded 400D. How much more unprofessional can this hotel be? Does the hired driver need to gouge us more? I told him NO and that I already agreed on a price with the desk so he backed down. We just made our flight because of this gong show of a hotel.

The best part? When we landed in the UK, my boyfriend strolled into a Pret and payed for a sandwich and juice using his CREDIT CARD! So I guess the hotel "center" is not reliable. I was willing to forgive the hotel for the stress if his card had really been turned off. But as expected, it was working perfectly. What a terribly shabby place. I will never stay in a hotel that is part of this chain again. I let all my friends and company know as well as they do a lot of business in Casablanca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in last night after a long plane ride and were greeted by Salaa at the front desk who checked us in, gave us complimentary wifi because of my husbands Starwood Gold status with and answered all of our questions (how to log on to wifi, how to get to the train station in the morning, breakfast, could she make us dinner reservation, etc). Wonderful check in experience. We then ended up going for a walk outside and then decided just to head back to the hotel for some wine and dinner. We ate in their La Douira restaurant - it was fun, delicious and the service was excellent.

Yes it is an older hotel but it is charming and all of the staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome and taken care of. OH and the bathroom had a large tub - perfect to soak in before bed! If we ever return to Casablanca we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Responsable commercial at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, above all, that you were satisfied with our service.

The entire team of the Royal Mansour Meridien wishes you a very Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was not happy with my stay at this hotel as it looked very old and needs urgent refurbishing .
The prices of the restaurants and cafe in the lobby level is exaggerated . Location of the hotel is good . I don't think I will stay at this hotel again as it is way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely disappointed that your room conditions was less than Le Royal Mansour Meridien experience you should have received. We endeavor to do our best at creating great guest experiences and we really take it to heart when we fail.

Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have another chance to welcome you back, and we invite you to contact us at any time we can assist to ensure your complete wellbeing in your stay.

Yours Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group stayed in the hotel on our last leg of the tour... The hotel is centrally located but it looked old. The lobby and restaurant areas looked grand but have seen it's glorious days. The manager was very nice and accomodating, we initially wanted a twin room but was told the next available room was in a smoking floor, but when he knew about it, he asked housekeeping to clean a late check out room for us. The carpets in the hallways needs change badly, it smells of old carpet and I doubt if they really vacuum it. Our room was spacious, with nice linens and good air-conditioning, but the pillows smells of " body odors", probably from previous guests, and I guess they do not even bother to clean the pillows except fo change pillowcases. Our 2 companions had bites when they woke up, they were bed bug bites and they were in different rooms. I probably would not recommend this hotel unless it undergoes a major renovation, poor thing the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Be careful of the security checks in the casablanca airport, they check for your wallets and get wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely surprised and disappointed about your review reporting this isolated incident.

This incident has been taken very seriously by the staff and management of The Hotel and a professional examination have been completed.

We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to insure our guests’ comfort. Employees of the Royal Mansour Meridien are firmly committed to guest satisfaction and experience.

As an experienced and conscientious hospitality professional this incident is frustrating, as we host thousands of guests each year, consistently providing exemplary service and comfort, and we have never encountered this occurrence before.

We fully understand the inconvenience and discomfort this guest experienced and once again, we would like to assure that the Royal Mansour Meridien shows no evidence of a bed bug infestation.

Our guests, past and future, should not be alarmed as there is no bed bug problem at The Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel.

In the event that further assistance and contact information is needed, We remain at your entire disposal for a direct contact.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
1.0 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Casablanca
Moevenpick Hotel Casablanca
#10 of 69 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 69 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
#2 of 69 in Casablanca
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#7 of 69 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Casablanca

Address: 27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#5 Business Hotel in Casablanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Casablanca 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mansour Casablanca offers deluxe service and limitless possibilities for discovery at the center of Casablanca, just a few minutes from the Corniche, the port and the Hassan II mosque. The hotel features modern meeting facilities, and 182 sophisticated and spacious guestrooms including 23 suites, all known for their historical elegance and modern comfort. Our free Wi-Fi in guestrooms and publique spaces keeps you connected to your family, friends, and work throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mansour Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel Casablanca
Meridien Le Royal Mansour
Meridien Hotel Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mansour Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.