We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Old Dame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Mansour Meridien

Save Saved
You added Le Royal Mansour Meridien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Mansour Meridien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 21000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 hotels in Casablanca
Bolton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Tired Old Dame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

You can tell that this used to be a much better hotel! The room smelled stuffy and stale. The furniture was nice, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom really needed updating. It was dirty looking even when it was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Le Royal Mansour Meridien, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, I am however concerned about your constructive remarks about the comfort in your room and I sincerely apologize if we were unable to change rooms at that time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation in order to make sure to accommodate the best available room.

The entire team of the Royal Mansour Meridien wishes you a very Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    162
    109
    35
    15
See reviews for
38
100
44
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at Le Royal Mansour Meridien on the first and last night of our tour of Morocco.
On the first night we were given a room in the unrenovated section but it was fine . There was a sight damp odour that has been mentioned previously but nothing that detracted from our stay .
For our second night we were given an updated room which was superb. Very spacious with a large bed and the amenities were spotless.
All the staff from the check-in desk, bell boys , concierge , room service and resturant/bar staff were attentive and courteous.
The buffet breakfast was good and on the second night we dined in their "Moroccan Room" which was very good .
All in all our stay at the Le Royal Mansour Meridien was a good satart and finish to our Moroccan adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Le Royal Mansour Meridien, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your comments on TripAdvisor, thank you very much for sharing them!
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services! Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for us!

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your beloved ones a wonderful New Year; hopefully we will be able to see you again then!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for one night before boarding our flight to return home. On arrival we were not given the room we paid for so we returned to the front desk for a room swap. The lady at reception was wonderful and helped fix the mistake promptly. We also ate dinner in the Moroccan restaurant that night and found it good. Our room was ok although the bathroom needed an update. So far so good. More than adequate for a one night stay.

It was in the morning where our problems started.

First, I want to warn you that breakfast will come to over 50 Canadian Dollars. It's nuts when you consider what you pay for food in Morocco. The coffee machine was broken but the buffet spread was great. When we tried to check out using my boyfriends Credit Card, mysteriously it stopped working? Really? We used this card through out Morocco and we stayed in some remote places. As a side note - Canadians should be warned that Depit cards are not reliable in Morocco. Many banks didn't recognize our cards. We found one called BMCE Bank that almost always worked, so we stopped there when ever we had the chance. Unfortunately, we did not have cash on us in Casablanca as this was to be our last night. We insisted that reception try our Visa card again but it was rejected! Now we knew there was no issue with our bank because they were informed of our travel plans and hadn't turned off the card. Reception told us we needed to withdraw CASH from an atm. How could this be? We booked the room with THAT credit card. So now my boyfriend had to run from bank machine to bank machine to find one that would fork over cash. Also, our flight time was fast approaching! This went on for far too long. My boyfriend returned defeated from the local bank machines as expected and we insisted that they find a way to use the credit card. Reception called their "center" and rudely stated that the card was rejected. Now we were really late for the airport and out of options. How could this happen in a large hotel chain and not in a small riad in the Atlas mountains? I would love to know who their "center" was because they were completely incompetent. I dug in my bags and found my American debit/visa (these are normally the more unreliable cards) and the "center" accepted it. At this point I asked for a hired car to rush us to the air port. Reception said it would cost 300D. Fine, I just wanted to get out of Casablanca. So the hotel driver gets us in the car knowing we are late and stops on the way to the airport to get gas. When we arrived he demanded 400D. How much more unprofessional can this hotel be? Does the hired driver need to gouge us more? I told him NO and that I already agreed on a price with the desk so he backed down. We just made our flight because of this gong show of a hotel.

The best part? When we landed in the UK, my boyfriend strolled into a Pret and payed for a sandwich and juice using his CREDIT CARD! So I guess the hotel "center" is not reliable. I was willing to forgive the hotel for the stress if his card had really been turned off. But as expected, it was working perfectly. What a terribly shabby place. I will never stay in a hotel that is part of this chain again. I let all my friends and company know as well as they do a lot of business in Casablanca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in last night after a long plane ride and were greeted by Salaa at the front desk who checked us in, gave us complimentary wifi because of my husbands Starwood Gold status with and answered all of our questions (how to log on to wifi, how to get to the train station in the morning, breakfast, could she make us dinner reservation, etc). Wonderful check in experience. We then ended up going for a walk outside and then decided just to head back to the hotel for some wine and dinner. We ate in their La Douira restaurant - it was fun, delicious and the service was excellent.

Yes it is an older hotel but it is charming and all of the staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome and taken care of. OH and the bathroom had a large tub - perfect to soak in before bed! If we ever return to Casablanca we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Responsable commercial at Le Royal Mansour Meridien, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, above all, that you were satisfied with our service.

The entire team of the Royal Mansour Meridien wishes you a very Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was not happy with my stay at this hotel as it looked very old and needs urgent refurbishing .
The prices of the restaurants and cafe in the lobby level is exaggerated . Location of the hotel is good . I don't think I will stay at this hotel again as it is way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Le Royal Mansour Meridien, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely disappointed that your room conditions was less than Le Royal Mansour Meridien experience you should have received. We endeavor to do our best at creating great guest experiences and we really take it to heart when we fail.

Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have another chance to welcome you back, and we invite you to contact us at any time we can assist to ensure your complete wellbeing in your stay.

Yours Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group stayed in the hotel on our last leg of the tour... The hotel is centrally located but it looked old. The lobby and restaurant areas looked grand but have seen it's glorious days. The manager was very nice and accomodating, we initially wanted a twin room but was told the next available room was in a smoking floor, but when he knew about it, he asked housekeeping to clean a late check out room for us. The carpets in the hallways needs change badly, it smells of old carpet and I doubt if they really vacuum it. Our room was spacious, with nice linens and good air-conditioning, but the pillows smells of " body odors", probably from previous guests, and I guess they do not even bother to clean the pillows except fo change pillowcases. Our 2 companions had bites when they woke up, they were bed bug bites and they were in different rooms. I probably would not recommend this hotel unless it undergoes a major renovation, poor thing the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Be careful of the security checks in the casablanca airport, they check for your wallets and get wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Le Royal Mansour Meridien, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely surprised and disappointed about your review reporting this isolated incident.

This incident has been taken very seriously by the staff and management of The Hotel and a professional examination have been completed.

We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to insure our guests’ comfort. Employees of the Royal Mansour Meridien are firmly committed to guest satisfaction and experience.

As an experienced and conscientious hospitality professional this incident is frustrating, as we host thousands of guests each year, consistently providing exemplary service and comfort, and we have never encountered this occurrence before.

We fully understand the inconvenience and discomfort this guest experienced and once again, we would like to assure that the Royal Mansour Meridien shows no evidence of a bed bug infestation.

Our guests, past and future, should not be alarmed as there is no bed bug problem at The Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel.

In the event that further assistance and contact information is needed, We remain at your entire disposal for a direct contact.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

absolutely gorgeous hotel, staff couldn't do enough for you....rooms lovely and spacious, maids really helpful, close to the Hubus for shopping......food in restaurant divine.....an Oasis in a bustling city centre. Its also close to all amenities, nice cafes for sitting outside and having a cool drink in between bartering for goodies it the ethnic shops

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Mansour Meridien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Mansour Meridien

Address: 27, Avenue de l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 21000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Casablanca
#7 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Mansour Meridien 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Mansour Méridien offers deluxe service and limitless possibilities for discovery, just a few minutes from the Corniche of Casablanca and the Hassan II mosque. The hotel features 182 sophisticated guestrooms including 23 suites, all known for their historical elegance and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Royal Mansour Meridien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel Casablanca
Meridien Le Royal Mansour
Meridien Hotel Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Mansour Meridien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.