We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly opulent hotel in the heart of Casablanca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Mohamed SMIHA | Cote Avenue des FAR, Centre-Ville, Casablanca, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Casablanca
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charmingly opulent hotel in the heart of Casablanca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a little well-located gem. The decor is opulent and ornate yet comfortable and quaint. The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfasts generous, the showers hot, the beds comfortable and the WiFi is strong. What more could you want?

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    114
    71
    31
    35
See reviews for
48
96
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor and interior of the hotel is differentiating, even some kind of romantic. like 1001 nights, especially the curtains over beds etc. But the hotel itself is extremly old-dated and poor, like a 2 star hotel from 70nties.
But the most terrible aspect was the noise coming in from outside discoteque or similar. We had the first chance to fall asleep at ca 3 oćlock in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a single night in this hotel, arriving late in the evening before joining a tour the following day.

I received a friendly greeting on arrival, and all of the staff were so helpful, especially considering that I was travelling by myself. I was upgraded to larger room, as they were available, I was escorted to my room by one of the older gentleman on the staff who made sure that I knew how to use everything in the room (including windows and hair dryer!) and over breakfast the next morning I was able to chat to the staff on duty while they cooked me up fresh eggs and Moroccan pancakes. The breakfast spread was excellent, and even western travellers who are not used to the simple Moroccan breakfasts would be comfortable with this spread. Upon departure, I was given great directions to get to where I needed to meet my tour group.

The rooms are simple, but have everything you need, the breakfasts was great and the service lovely. I would happily stay here next time I am in Casablanca.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I was allocated this hotel as a meeting point for the group tour I had booked.

I was pleasantly surprised. The decor is overwhelmingly "Moroccan" - lots of bright colours and ruffles, plenty of mosaics. It was a little over the top, but a cute welcome to Casablanca.

Rooms were clean and the water in the showers was hot. Only issue was being the porter putting my luggage and leading me to the incorrect room, so I was unable to lock the room I was in with the key I was given. It was rectified, but took a little bit of work.

Try to get a room facing away from the main road, if not, your sleep will be disturbed by lots of traffic noises.

Location is central and an easy walk to the old and new medinas and also to the Hassan II Mosque.

Food at the breakfast buffet is great.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This Hotel is like a huge Riad 10 floors with rooms around an internal courtyard ... the reception area and breakfast mezzanine are elaborately decorated in arabian style with mosaics and big perforated lanters ... and lounges with gold ormolu throne-like armchairs.
But it is the boudoirs (that is the right word for them) that make you laugh out loud LOL ... the ones we saw all had four poster type beds with canopies draped with extravagant viel-like curtains with tasseled borders ... coloured glass chandeliers and arabian lanterns ... pictures of Salome doing the dance of the 7 viels ... berber carpets and damask banquettes ... it is Bonkers if you squint it is like looking through a kaleidoscope ... we LOVED it !!!
The hotel is a 5 min. walk from the ulta-modern Casa Port oncf train station or a direct 4/5 stop Tram ride from Casa Voyageurs oncf train station for 6 dirhams.
When we arrived we were given a small room at the back of the hotel with a balcony with no view only the building opposite ... a double and a single canopied four poster beds which made it feel a bit cramped ... so we looked at other rooms that were being cleaned some had 3 single beds others double bed with small banquette and huge suites ... went down to ask to change to a double with banquette ... was told they were occupied ... but we could upgrade to the massive suite for extra cost ... OK ... so then began the haggling ... got it down to an extra £20 a night and had to give the guy a tenner to arrange it for us ... O WELL this is Morocco !!! haggle for everything !!! ... it was worth it it the end ... the place was BIG with 3 piece suite, desk and chair, 12 seater banquette, bed alcove, and large bathroom with bath shower bidet and wash basin, all for just 2 people it is MAD ... there was enough room for an Arab Sheik and his entourage, LOL again.
Casablanca is Crazy ... the traffic worse than New York and Paris combined ... impatient drivers tooting if the traffic doesn't move the moment the traffic lights change, which is impossible as they all go through the red light and block the others exit, so it goes on and on all the time day and night ... we were on the 7tth floor with small balcony at the front of the hotel, but the 2 double glazed windows and doors blocked most of the noise.
The breakfast was good with lots to choose ... there was a person who would make an omlette or fried egg for you so nice and hot and pancakes too ... bread, cold meats, cheese triangles, croisants, pastries, cakes, coffee, mint tea, sickly sweet juices, the usual continental fare you get all over Morocco.
All the staff wre friendly and courteous.
There is not much to do here 15 min. walk to Ricks Bar (don't bother, fake fake fake) ... a futher 15 min. to Hassan 2 Mosque, grandeur surrounded by poverty ... thats about it.
Loved the Hotel didn't think much of Casablanca ... OK to pass through on a journey by Train through Morroco.

Room Tip: all the rooms are different sizes would recommend you ask to see a few rooms so you can find one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed for a few nights .... room was clean, breakfast passable but nothing special.... most staff were helpful and the reception lad was very good..... decor somewhat 1950’s hollywood ..... but also intriguing in ways.... nothing negative to report.....

Room Tip: Sorry we did this over year ago..... so somewhat sketchy..... just don’t remember it being “super” o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Okay, lets start with the positives. The hotel is in a pretty good location. We had the big suite which was a fine size and the kitch decoration was a laugh. The door porter is a lovely man.
On the other side the hotel's response to emails is abysmal. This is a complete pain as they ask you to email confirmation of booking a week before you arrive. As soon as we arrived the guy behind the counter tried to renegotiate the price agreed on the room and as we found out the next morning took the breakfast out ( there are cheap good places over the road, so frankly don't bother paying for their breakfast). Before we even got our luggage to the room, the same guy was trying to flog us a tour at 200 MAD for an hour which on questioning turned out to be 200 MAD an hour for about five hours. Our passports were taken from us with a promise they would be shortly returned. When we went to retrieve them we were told we would have to pay the bill in total before they were handed back.
It turned out the TV in the room cant work as the arial cable is too short. Didn't bother us, but if if a TV is important to you, it may be a consideration. The room safe didn't work either.
To be honest for the same price for the suite you could get a standard room in a nearby chain hotel with more facilities.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca

Address: 3, Rue Mohamed SMIHA | Cote Avenue des FAR, Centre-Ville, Casablanca, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.