We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ostrea

Ostrea
Le Port de Peche | Centre Ville, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
022 441390
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 543 Restaurants in Casablanca
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went there for the see food; the food turned out to be good, but the atmosphere was somehow gloomy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“A little expensive and service terrible but the food is good and atmosphere nice (if not the view)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ate here recently and was glad a local took me since from the outside it looks like nothing and to be honest, the port around it is such a mess that I may not have walked even this far into it myself. The place is across from essentially a construction area that looks like it has been that way forever and it is on a working port but inside is much nicer, well lit and comfortable, although perhaps they try to leave the air conditioning off to long as it got very hot before they turned it on.


The food is good and of course fish is the focus. My dish was pasta and a bit too heavy but the fish, scallops etc looked very fresh, very tasty and lighter.

The atmosphere was nice thanks to the lighting but it was pretty quiet (it was a Monday night I suppose). I was also surprised that the service was as bad as most places in Casa – we had our arms in the air while the waiter cleared the table 2 away from us but yet still nobody even glanced in our direction. Really bad and very disappointing for a rather nice place. The prices made this additionally disappointing as it was one of the more expensive places I ate in the city.

Well worth a visit though – the rough location is a nice feature and the food is good even if it is a bit more expensive than other places. The service really needs to improve though. We were there for over 2 hours and most of it was spent waiting on something to come or something to be taken away – really poor on this front, but good in everything else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Quite difficult to find now, due to a construction site, it is on the open part of the port. Not a great interior, anyway ok. Then.... Fish! Whatever you want. From the oysters to the fired fish. Good and good price. To suggest if you are in the area

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent fish at the port...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant is in the port and is not very welcoming at first because of the location. The room is basic and a bit old. The food nevertheless was excellent. All the dishes we tried were tasty and the fish seemed fresh from the carpaccio to the sole to the fried fish... Recommended especially if you are staying nearby (Ibis and Novotel).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well, the Taverne du Dauphin was closed so I decided to venture to the the Ostrea that is still a walking distance from the Novotel ... nice selection of fish and cosy atmosphere, perfect for the business traveller !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostrea also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Ostrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.