We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Hotel Astrid
12, rue du 6 novembre, Casablanca, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Casablanca
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“decent and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in December. The place is OK and the price is honest for Casablanca standards. Our room was sunny, with terrace. Some Moroccan decorations. The bathroom needed some reforms; hot water was leaking. Nevertheless breakfast was quite good (we tried many in Morocco) and included croissants! Two useful computers in the hall to check internet. Staff was kind (but not much communicative). One thing was very bad. Though our sheets looked laudered there were long standing stains. And the blankets smelled terribly of sweat (like never washed)!! Now, I really don't care about falling parts or style or missing commodities but SMELLY BLANKETS ARE UNACCEPTABLE! That seriously ruined my sleep. If they fix that you could think of choosing this place.

Room Tip: ou room on the back was sunny and has a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
35
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staf at this little hotel are friendly and adept in several languages. We only had to ask and something was done ASAP.
There was a problem with the plumbing in our first room (106). The waste water pipes for the sink and the bidet leaked. At first we thought it was us just splashing around too much ,but we proved that it was the pipework later in the week by filling a sink full of water and letting it drain away (we usually carry a universal plug, as the are often not supplied) water everywhere from the back of the sink. When we told the management they moved us to another room (202). Same problems with the plumbiing, The wash hand basin was cracked and the toilet cubicle had a distinct smell of propane gas at night. Another day another room. 104 this time, plumbing all watertight, the stand for the wash hand basin was chipped and the sliding doors to the tiny balcony did not lock (same as 202 incidently).
Because of the plumbing problems (I think they extend to most rooms), the cleaning ladies take more time than usual in other hotels (drying all the bathroom floors) so vacuuming can still be going on at 4 in the afternoon, not good if you are trying to grab a siesta.
Breakfast is basic and filling, croissant, bread, butter, cream cheese, jam and tea or coffee.
Ayesha mentions the taxi provided. 250 dh for a trip to the airport is the going rate, so I have no problems with that. What I do think they need to address is the safety of the vehicles, both times we used one of their taxis they were like something from the wacky races, held together with string and gaffer tape.
I went to Rabat a couple of times and noticed that all the taxis there are brand new, so maybe the government is enforcing new standards.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building are generally brighter and some have little balconies where you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is alright, but nothing special.

The plus points are its location and its price. Also, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom is of good quality.

The negative ones are that i found the staff unfriendly (in fact it was like they were doing me a favour for staying, not that i was a paying guest) and not really that helpful? Might have been a bad 24 hours for them, but i would expect more and got it everywhere else in Morocco?

The hotel is the noisest one i have ever stayed in with banging and comotion all night and i wore ear plugs and could still hear a constant banging?

I would stay here again as an overnight if i couldnt find anything of the same value, but only for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizwa, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

They arrange for airport pick ups, however you have to pay, almost 250 dh.

Its a basic hotel offering you comfortable beds. The location is fine, and its not very tough to get taxis all day long. This hotel is value for money.

The only problem is in some rooms the Bath tubs are very high and its humanly impossible for shorter or older people to cross over in to the bath tub... plus they dont offer Breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were visiting in May and stayed here for two nights. Definitely good value for money hotel with basic amenities. I would rate it as a 2* hotel. Good location as well as everything is walking distance with some good restaurants nearby. It had a pretty good wi-fi connection in the lobby as well.

One of the major downfalls is that there was no A/C in our room and we were visiting in the summer time. Just if they work on their A/C issue, it would be a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Please choose a room with A/C as leaving the window open can invite the flying friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel Astrid was alright. I wish there was air conditioning in our room as it got a little bit muggy during the day. We had a window and a little balcony though so we were able to create a small draft by opening both of them. There wasn't a whole lot around the hotel to do and at times it was hard finding transportation to places that were further away. The breakfast was pretty average, the rooms were clean. It was pretty cheap though so overall a good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Reserved because it is in the Lonely Planet guide and to be honest the Lonely Planet description is very generous. I think we had one of the more basic rooms in this hotel. Very old fashioned and ugly decoration (old faded florals), the bed spread looked very old and worn. We had a little balcony with a two cracked window and badly maintained balcony.

The bathroom very cheap (plastic shelf over the sink) and a VERY OLD shower curtain in desperate need of replacing (mould and ripped at the bottom)! Nothing included in the bathroom (no soap). The tv was modern though and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is need of a renovation and a little tlc. The reception staff efficient but not overly friendly. BTW this hotel is located right next to a 'dodgy area' so take note not to walk the wrong way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 12, rue du 6 novembre, Casablanca, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.