We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful dinner in a garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Cafe La SQALA

Restaurant Cafe La SQALA
Boulevard des Almohades, Casablanca, Morocco
+212 5222-60960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 541 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner in a garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner (our first in Morocoo) at this restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely, in a garden with live music, and we had a delicious dinner for a very reasonable price. We started with the Kemia, which is how this restaurant refers to the assorted small salad-like dishes that are a great beginning to a Moroccan meal. It was five different salads, served with bread. We then had two kebab dinners, one of which was served with fries and the other with steamed vegetables. We also ordered a vegetable tagine, not knowing that the kebabs came with accompaniments. It was way too much food, but all together, with a large bottle of water, our bill was still under 40 dollars. The service was attentive without being pushy and we were not hurried at any point in our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    340
    92
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

La Sqala is an absolutely perfect setting for an afternoon coffee or juice. The courtyard is fantastic, an oasis of peace and quiet in the walls of the old medina, not to far from Casa Port. It is definitely worth a visit. With my rating I refer solely to the quality of the food. My chips and brochette arrived cold, and I sent it back to be reheated, and then the chips were soggy. The tajine was nice, but a very small portion and no good cut of lamb. This would be fine if the prices were set accordingly, but it is also very expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The restaurant is housed in a nice outdoor courtyard. The menu is very small and the food was just ok. I've had worse, but I've also had much, much better. We ordered the Moroccan salad and instead of getting the selection of cooked salads we had had in numerous places elsewhere, they served just one, which included raw tomato. We sent it back since we avoid uncooked foods when traveling and had upset stomachs after eating raw vegetables elsewhere in Morocco. The main dishes -- chicken tagine with lemons and goat tagine with onions and tomatoes -- were just ok. The meat in both was tender, but the sauces were overly salty and lacked the delicious spices and sweet/savory flavors that we had been enjoying. We went here on our last night in Morocco and this meal just didn't compare to those that we had had in Fes and Marrakech. Based on the top TripAdvisor restaurants, it seems it might be hard to find good Moroccan food in Casablanca, but I wouldn't settle for this.

Note that the menu is only in French. Staff spoke English and could help with words we weren't familiar with.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in the hustle of Casa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant proved to be an amazing respite of calm, with the sound of flowing water and birds in the middle of casablanca's horrendous traffic. we arrived there after a couple of hours in the traffic and the place was like an oasis.

The hospitality was nice and the food was good. We ordered 2 mixed appetizers, 2 mains and a dessert. The meat was really well cooked and tasty.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Enjoy a peaceful lunch here while in Morocco, if not for the food, at least for the fountains, tiles, and great wait staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cafe La SQALA also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Restaurant Cafe La SQALA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Cafe La SQALA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.