We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant! We came back a second time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Cafe La SQALA

Restaurant Cafe La SQALA
Boulevard des Almohades, Casablanca, Morocco
+212 5222-60960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 541 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant! We came back a second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We found this place accidently, while walking through Casablanca. It is a little piece of a heaven. The atmosphere was great, the decor is everything I dreamed that magical Morocco would be, and the food was devine! We came back on our last night for a special dinner and both service and food were fantastic! Wouldn't miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    340
    92
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Upon arrival for lunch, we entered an amazing, peaceful garden. A welcome oasis from the hustle and bustle of Casa. The staff is friendly and patient. The food was delicious - moroccan bread, olives and tomato dips to start with. The vegetarian mezze is recommended and so are the fish and seafood dishes (fish tagine was delicious and so was the St Pierre). The seafood Bouriats were also a good starter. Of course do not forget to finish your meal with a moroccan mint tea. WE had the milk pancakes for dessert and the chocolate fondue - both are recommended. Our meal was so good that we came back for our last night in Morocco.
Don't miss this restaurant while in Casablanca.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice Morrocan vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went there twice. Once to have dinner with friends, typical Morrocan menus with beautiful setting.
And then again for an afternnon snack (mint tea with creps / churros). Nice to relax after walking thru the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful & traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful setting, very nice food, great warmly feeling and professional service. No complaints at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delicious food, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stumbled onto this place by chance- what a gem! Some of the best food we had in Morocco. Menu has a seafood slant but plenty else on offer. The entree seafood gratin was delicious, and given you receive free bread and olives, was more than enough for me. We went back for dinner, and shared a lamb tagine- divine. The outdoor setting is beautiful (inside is nice too if you are cold!), and the service was very good. It's not a cheap eat by Moroccan standards, but totally adorable for a treat (90 Dirham for tagine, 65 for the gratin). Great juices too (40 Dirham). Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cafe La SQALA also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Restaurant Cafe La SQALA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Cafe La SQALA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.