We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“centre of a building site” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flathotel Residence

Save Saved
You added Flathotel Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flathotel Residence
Baie Des Palmairs | Cité Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“centre of a building site”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Bed was like sleeping on a board so we decided to sleep on sofa which was just as bad, electric shock from two ring hob which was all that was available to boil water for cups of tea which incidentaly took in excess of half an hour to boil two small cups.
Constant noise from three close building sites which start at 7am and finish at 6.30pm, six days a week with the one next door only stopping on sunday afternoon including breaking up concrete with compressor for five out of our seven night stay. there was a small terrace bar next to the pool which was never manned, therefore you could only buy drinks in the evening from the smog filled and noisy bar behind, which was open untill the early hours with no consideration for residents.
Reception staff were friendly but could not understand our requests very well. The sign outside advertised a supermarket, restaurant, spa and massage, which when we asked the staff we were told they were shut. The Cleaner came in every day to do the bare minimum and bring our wet ragged towels in from the airer only to fold them up and put on the shelf in the shower. Apart from that the hotel was situated about half a mile or so from the wonderfull beach, not 200m as stated in the Itinery, We thoroughly enjoyed the long walks, restaurants and friendly locals and would certainly go back but not to this hotel. It is a shame as this hotel with the right management could be wonderfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
highflyer123
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Great place for young people great pool area.
clean and tidy place staff are very friendly

we managed to flood the room twice and yet they didn’t kick us out the hotel.

the bar does play load music from 11pm-2am so if you want to sleep in-between those times then it can be a slight problem.

Beach is 200m away but that’s the dead side of the beach. Main beach area is about a £1 taxi ride 10 Moroccan dirham’s.

there is wifi but only at the reception area.

gym is very disappointing nothing like the picture.

overall great place to stay.

Stayed 28/04/10 to 05/05/10

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Huge clean pool + small childrens' pool, surrounded by spacious sunbathing patio with enough sunloungers. Nets at the edge of the pool for water polo & a table tennis table on the patio. Well designed complex, with all apartments overlooking the pool & sea in the distance. Apartments spacious & well designed, each with balcony or terrace, but the furniture & fittings are showing their age, with no apparent maintenance policy eg. the kitchen cupboard door fell off & the shower head was not connected to the hose etc etc.

Catering equipment is limited, but you can ask for more - however as you can enjoy a 3 course meal for 60 dirhams, approx £5, you'll probably only want to make breakfast. (The hotel's 40 dirham breakfast is bread & butter & a cup of coffee). We strongly suggest you take your own towels, as those supplied are old & grey & are taken away for laundering each morning, but not returned until late afternoon, so you have no towels for most of the day. Bed linen, again old & grey, was not changed during our stay.

The lady receptionist deserves a special mention, as she is very good at her job - friendly, helpful & funny. She would make a good manager.

This hotel is surrounded by half finished buildings & other hotels that don't appear to be occupied. Consequently, there is no absolutely no atmosphere or sense of being in an exciting foreign resort. Marjane hypermarket is a 10 minute walk away & there is a mini market 100 ms away (but expensive by Moroccan standards). You can walk to the beach in 10 mins, but the beachside restaurants are a further 10/15 min walk along a very pleasant promenade. This was OK when we went (Easter 2010) but maybe not so OK when the weather is very hot, but taxis are constantly cruising - just flag one down.

As someone else has commented, there is loud disco music from 10.00 p.m. until 2.00 a.m., which means that it can be difficult to sleep - just switch on the aircon, as this is louder than the music!

During our stay there were a lot of youngish teenagers, boys & girls, staying without any accompanying adults. They weren't a problem, but did tend to monopolise the pool at times.

For the money the Flathotel is fine, but if we go to Agadir again, we would choose somewhere closer to town, even if it costs a bit more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The apartments are nice, airy and light. Well situated near a shopping center with supermarket. DO BRING your own chopping knives, kettle and frying pan. You will need a rental car or use taxis.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND the spa. They are unprofessional, arrogant and have no notion of customer service. We booked a 1-hour massage. After 30 minutes, the masseuses left without a word. When we complained, Management was reluctant to deal with the complaint and it felt like WE were being uncooperative and iunreasonable. We had no apology and no explanation. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floro, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We stayed for 8 nights and this has to be one of the best places to stay in Agadir if you are looking for an apartment .
It is not in the center of town, but a short walk or taxi ride and you are in the center of town. The staff are very helpful and willing (they do speak english)to explain to you the do's and the don'ts, advise you if you need help and help provide transport to other places if you need it.
After a day exploring or on the beach it is wonderful to relax on the terrase with a perfect cold glass of wine or beer or tak a Hamman or massage downstairs in the berber salon.

  • Liked — It was spacious and clean
  • Disliked — There was some music from the bar in the evenings
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flathotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flathotel Residence

Address: Baie Des Palmairs | Cité Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Flathotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flathotel Residence Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flathotel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.