We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberb surroundings, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Atlas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Atlas to your Saves list
Royal Atlas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 20 Aout | B.P 80000, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Suberb surroundings, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying in a neighbouring hotel but came here most nights for drinks, dinner and great evening entertainment. This hotel is really opulent and the staff are so kind and friendly. I wish I had chosen to stay here. Oh well !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Holidays at the Hotel Atlas remember very well. The hotel offers a great holiday and unforgettable memories. At the beginning of a nice welcome guests. Super nice clean rooms. The food outstanding. Service very nice. great disco.

I would recommend to anyone who expects luxury.

The weather is the best in the morocco holiday period of November.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid an extra £280.00 to Thomas Cook for a Sea View Executive Room. It turned out to be room Number 973. There was a continuous loud noise, which wasn't the aircon, that kept us awake all night. We asked to change to another room.
They moved us to room 312 saying it was an "Executive" room which it clearly wasn't. Reception would not give us another room and they were quite off hand towards us.

Room Tip: View the room before you take your luggage there to make sure you are having what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here early November, and although not speaking any French can be a struggle here, the receptionist who greeted us was lovely and helpful!! We had trouble checking in due to not having a voucher, although we had brought all the documents we needed! We were told that it would be a twin room rather than a double, she told us this would be for one night and then she would sort out a better room, because she wanted us to have a view! We were happy with this, we got to our room and it was a double room- but not much view at all! But nothing we would complain about! The next day we went to reception and as promised she gave us a room with a pool view and told us if we weren't happy with that room she would give us a sea view!!! She was a lovely lady and a credit to the hotel, I just wish we got her name!! All the staff were friendly, and the hotel was stunning, the spa was also lovely! We went every night and spent most of our money there! Location was perfect, opposite the beach and close to restaurants and shops! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I hope to stay there again!! Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on the 20th December staying for ten days, all inclusive. I have an 8yr old and a 20 month old toddler. After 2 days our room key wouldn't work reported to reception who said there was a fault with the electrics in that part of the hotel n would we mind moving rooms. We did so, all was fine for a day or two. After visiting the beach we went back to our room, tidying up the toys I noticed a wire on the floor right next to my daughters bed..... It was live as my husband found out after getting an electric shock. I was fuming, again reporting it to reception, they sent a maintenance man up which took over 30 mins, he was then using our room phone to call reception and was speaking French and laughing. We called our rep and wrote a statement. The hotel reception staff clearly didn't take this seriously as the way they treated it was rubbish in a non believing way. We had no apology either, what would have happened if it had been one of my children?????

The food was ok but not brilliant apart from Xmas eve which was fantastic :-). The selection of food at the pool bar was v limited to what all inclusive could have. The restaurant staff were fab and couldn't have faulted them one bit. Sad to say and disappointed to say it was a waste of money.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely holiday. Lovely hotel. Staff very good especially with children. Hotel was not full so probably made it better. With the exception of reception who were 'efficient', staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good though I didn't try any meat but there was plenty of everything else. Language not a problem but was good to use a little French. Even children were saying bonjour and au revoir before we left. Pool area very nice but not really enough for children to do at this time of year. Main complaint no sun on balcony. Would I go again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing beach. We didn't so view was mediocre and no sun on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We flew to Agadir on 23rd December 2014 and stayed at the Royal Atlas Hotel and Spa for a week, leaving on 30th December 2014. We were there on an all-inclusive basis.

I would say at the outset that it is better if you speak French in Morocco.

First impressions of the hotel were good. Reception area clean and tidy. Check in went smoothly. Room comfortable, clean and tidy. Maid service daily.

For some reason the corridors in the hotel are very dimly lit, and sometimes it was a little difficult to insert the key card because you couldn't see properly. Proper lighting needed on every floor.

For all inclusive the food was good. There was plenty of choice every day, and loads of fresh salad and fruit. The dining room staff were very attentive, friendly and polite.

The pool bar was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the service let it down. On our first day we waited for over 40 minutes for a tuna sandwich, and we were one of the first in the bar so it wasn't a question of "waiting in turn" or them being too busy. Just seemed a bit disorganised. It seemed to be like this most days. The staff were however friendly.

The hotel is in a great location - right across from the beach, which was good and the promenade is directly in front of the hotel. Lovely walk to the marina. Be warned however, that you get pestered every step of the way, from street hawkers to restaurant workers, all trying to either sell you jewellery/sunglasses/iphones or get you to eat and/or drink in their restaurants. If they don’t get you on the way up the promenade, they will get you on the way back (or, if you’re unlucky, they’ll get you both ways). Browsing in the shops is difficult - you are not left alone to look at the goods and it becomes more hassle than it’s worth. Watch out for the guy selling donuts on the beach (he forces them on you and then sticks his hand out for payment) and also the chap sitting in a café near the marina, who joins you in your walk and veers you to the fish market, then demands payment.

You can change Sterling at the reception - on average 13 Dirhams to the Pound. They will also change your Dirhams back to Sterling when leaving.

One thing I was actually quite annoyed with, and I feel I must mention it, is that one afternoon we had gone back to our room to drop off some items we had bought. I was stood in the room and my other half was in the bathroom. I heard a click and our door opened. It was another hotel guest, who apologised when she saw me and said she was on the wrong floor. Obviously of great concern was that another key card was operating our door. We both had expensive camera equipment in the room. We immediately went down to reception to bring this to their attention and to complain. Not quite sure whether we were believed, but we were given new coded key cards. This is however a serious breach of security, and we were not at all happy with this.

It was a pleasant winter holiday in the sun, but probably wouldn’t go back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlas

Address: Avenue 20 Aout | B.P 80000, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#18 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#22 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Atlas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 500 meters from the beach, this hotel offers 3 restaurants, spa and air-conditioned rooms with balconies. Indoor and outdoor pools are available.The rooms at the Royal Atlas et Spa feature modern decor and are equipped with a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Each has a private bathroom with free toiletries and some have sea views.A buffet breakfast is served every morning. For other meals, guests are invited to sample Moroccan, Italian or international cuisine in the elegant hotel restaurants or enjoy a drink at the bar.The spa offers massages and hammam treatments at an additional cost. Other leisure facilities include a health club, a sauna and a sun terrace where you can relax amidst palmiers.La hotel reception is open 24/24 and the Agadir airport is 27 km. A shuttle roundtrip airport is available upon request at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlas Hotel Agadir
Royal Atlas Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.