We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Atlas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Atlas to your Saves list
Royal Atlas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 20 Aout | B.P 20012, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Florida City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing and luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a real five star. The facilities are top notch. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and very clean. The pool area is gorgeous and spacious. Excellent food and beverage service- attention to details, high customer service skills and goes the extra mile- just flawless.
The entertainment for the evening ends very early and the singer does not stay very long. If you are lucky the singing entertainment in the stone bar will last 30 minutes. It seems like the guests want to stay and have fun but the music is cut short and slow songs start play so that people can leave.
Things that did not make sense for a 5 star : access to the gym after 4 pm will cost you 13$ pp
The jacuzzi will run you 20$ pp, the Internet will be 37$ for 6 days per device! So you have one access code per device pp . Please note that there is nothing extravagant about these services and they are usually included in 5 star resorts but not here...
Beach is lovely, sun is always shining - one thing is that people are not using the garbage cans enough and you may find objects on the beach even glass- toddlers be aware.
Overall great experience and facilities! Bravo especially to food and beverage service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    374
    212
    123
    70
See reviews for
266
632
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For a supposedly 5-star hotel, the Royal Atlas was a real disappointment. It starts at check-in, with the generally unfriendly 'welcome' and the sheet of paper thrust into your hand outlining everything that your all-inclusive package doesn't include.

Whilst the hotel may have three restaurants, we were only allowed to eat in the Italian and Moroccan restaurants once each during our 8-night stay...although we couldn't actually book into the Moroccan at all. You are advised to book into each at least 24 hours beforehand and, when trying to book into the Moroccan on a Wednesday evening for either the Thursday, Friday or Saturday evenings, we were told by a very unhelpful staff member that they couldn't fit us in. We asked reception if we could perhaps visit the Italian instead for a second time as it had been reasonably nice, but the receptionist couldn't have been less helpful or more disinterested!

This leaves your all-inclusive meal option as being the awful buffet restaurant which seems to cater for people who don't mind what they're eating, as long as they can have 7 plates of it! We managed just two nights and then spent the rest of our holiday going out for dinner in the evenings as the quality was so bad.

The hotel itself is fine with a nice pool area, decent rooms and good staff at the pool bar etc, but is let down primarily by the food. If you're thinking about staying here, we'd recommend B&B only (as the breakfast was quite good) and then going out for dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Originally booked to stay at the Decameron hotel but were upgraded to the atlas. Having stayed at the atlas when it first opened i was happy to be returning.
Atlas staff were happy to accomodate our needs and no shortage of english speaking staff.
Comfortable clean rooms with daily maid service.
Pool area is lovely and appeared to be plenty of beds avaliable despite the hotel being full. Fresh towels for use by the pool avaliable daily.
Private section of the beach for use by hotel guests right opposite hotel.
Purpose of visit was my boyfriends 30th and the staff were happy to make this a special occassion and nothing was too much trouble......room service and they even laid on a cake and birthday announcement.
Even entertainment can be fun if you get involved.
Great week, lots of fun and 6 happy guests.
Service has improved greatly since my first visit and after 2 stays here, If I come to Morocco again I wouldnt hesitate to stay here a 3rd time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nasser l, Public Relations Manager at Royal Atlas, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest
On behalf of the management and staff of the royal atlas hotel i would like to thank you for your input on trip advisor .
Its always a pleasure to know if someone did enjoy their holiday and we promise to keep our standards in order to improve the service that gust deserve.
we are committed and dedicated and will go the extra mile for guest satisfaction.
we will be happy to welcome you any time you wish to revisit the hotel.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my partner meant to stay in nearby Royal Decameron, but despite booking it several months in advance, on arrival we were told that were no rooms available and we got '"upgraded" to Royal Atlas.
The best thing about this hotel is its pool area. It is well looked after and clean, quite busy though, so make sure to get there right after breakfast if you want some nice spot. Moreover hotel has it's stretch of private beach.
Location is very convenient just beside the beach and promenade.
Unfortunately there were several things that I didn't like.
We booked all inclusive but while checking into Royal Atlas we got a list of what was included in our package and the actual selection was very disappointing, plus you were only allowed one drink with your meals!
Our room was basic and didn't look or feel like 5*. Pillows were really uncomfortable and I was waking up with sore neck and back every morning. Bathroom had really loud plumbing and you could hear toilet being flushed in the room above. Furthermore, there is a nightclub near by and even with the balcony door closed you could hear the loud music in the middle of the night.
Moreover maids were coming to clean the room at 9 in the morning knocking at the door and then just walking in, which is very disturbing! We have learned to put the do not disturb sign on our door first thing in the morning. Also if you have missed the 9.00 cleaning there was only a slight chance that you would get fresh towels and your room cleaned. We had learned this after one day, when we woke up just after 9 and asked girls to come back a bit later they didn't show up until the following day...
Watch out for your mini-bar. While checking out we were told that we had 240DH bill on it, but we didn't touch anything! It must be pretty common problem as girl at reception just asked me to write a statement that I didn't use anything and she canceled my bill.
What I liked about my room was tv with great channel selection.
Buffet meals were nice but repetitive. Unfortunately, selection of drinks was very poor. Restaurant staff was really friendly and chatty but extremely busy as there were only few of them looking after way too many tables.
Wifi in the hotel was 80DH per day or 300DH for 6 days. This is absolute ripoff and I decided that won't pay that much for Internet.
Gym is free form 10.00 am to 4.00 pm.
We didn't go the spa in the hotel as it was way too expensive.
If you want late check out it costs 100DH per hour.
Taxi to the airport is 200DH.

Room Tip: You can get free wifi in the evenings just beside lifts, where the chairs are, sometimes in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

On an all inclusive we were "upgraded" to this hotel from the 4* next door (Decameron) Atlas had a good pool area and good size rooms, Not much else impressed. Staff disinterested and very poor quality food, luckily we could eat at the Decameron with their friendly staff (perhaps that was down to the differing arm band tag we had to wear)
Asked about a room safe, confirmed at no charge, when in the room and we reported the safe would not lock they said it would be fixed next week. Down to reception and the promise it would be fixed in a couple of hours, back in the room missus found the shower hose was broke, back to reception and a move to an inferior room with out a sea view. Apart from the crack in the bath all else worked, hope those below us did not mind the shower water dripping through

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently had my first experience in Africa and stayed at this Hotel. The staff was friendly and everything was in order. I never had a problem with housekeeping or room service, they were professional and courteous. I would definitely stay here again. This place is also conveniently located to all sorts of restaurants and souks. Great time and great place!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nasser l, Public Relations Manager at Royal Atlas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feed back and will be more than happy to welcome you in the Royal Atlas hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and was satisfied by the room size and view. I found the hotel staff to be kind and polite and was surprised by previous comments. Yes the hotel needs a little top to bottom cleaning in most areas. I asked for a repair to be done on a light switch, and 4 days later when I checked out it still wasnt fixed. I found the breakfast to be pretty decent, but would not recommend the pool bar food as the whole menu is pretty bad (I ate three different items). Take a walk on the Boardwalk and find food, there is plenty of choices.
The pool was great and there was always a towel to dry off with. The nightly entertainment was very good, especially on Wednesday night (soul music). The security was top notch and those people who aren't allowed to enter (you know who I am talking about) are kindly turned around and asked to leave much to the displeasure if the customer. The conference centers were more than adequate for whatever you needed and the staff bent over backwards to take care of our needs. All in all, if you think you are staying at the Ritz Carlton, you are wrong, but don't count this hotel out before you stay a couple of nights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nasser l, Public Relations Manager at Royal Atlas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feed back and will be more than happy to welcome you in the Royal Atlas hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlas

Address: Avenue 20 Aout | B.P 20012, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#16 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#18 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Atlas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 500 meters from the beach, this hotel offers 3 restaurants, spa and air-conditioned rooms with balconies. Indoor and outdoor pools are available.The rooms at the Royal Atlas et Spa feature modern decor and are equipped with a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Each has a private bathroom with free toiletries and some have sea views.A buffet breakfast is served every morning. For other meals, guests are invited to sample Moroccan, Italian or international cuisine in the elegant hotel restaurants or enjoy a drink at the bar.The spa offers massages and hammam treatments at an additional cost. Other leisure facilities include a health club, a sauna and a sun terrace where you can relax amidst palmiers.La hotel reception is open 24/24 and the Agadir airport is 27 km. A shuttle roundtrip airport is available upon request at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlas Hotel Agadir
Royal Atlas Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.