We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brillant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Village Agador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Village Agador to your Saves list
Caribbean Village Agador
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a brillant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have never written anything on trip advisor before, but I felt that I had to for this hotel as some people have rated it unfairly.
After reading the reviews on trip advisor, we were a little worried about going here, but decided for the price we could make our own minds ups.
We were only there for 4 days before going to Marrakesh and we wished we had booked a longer stay here.
For those who said they couldn't find anything to eat and only ate the chips, then all I can say is that you must be very fussy eaters as we were able to find something to eat every night and in most cases 2 or 3 main things to eat which we added rice or vegetables to and all were very tasty (and for someone with a wheat intorlence that is very good).
Some one mentioned them being tight with their drinks this could not be further from the truth. On our first night there the member of bar staff who served me poured my drink then asked me if I wanted some more gin in it, he then topped it up and for the rest of the holiday I got a good measure,
Yes the rooms are basic, but for the amount of time we actually spent in our room we didn't care as long as they were clean and tidy and as for people moaning about the sheets only being changed every 3 days, could they honestly say they change their sheets at home every day?
What really makes this hotel is the staff we have stayed in many places before and I would say the staff here are the best. They bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your holiday. A waiter on our first day asked us what we were doing for the rest of the day and we told him we had to go into town to get our coach tickets to Marrakesh, he told us he lived just round the corner and offered to take us. We went with him and we both felt he was doing it out of the kindness of his heart as he even paid for the taxi and wouldn't let us even after we protested. If it wasn't for him we would have never found the ticket office.
The animation staff are very friendly and they know when to talk to you and when you want to be left alone.
All in all they are very friendly and open people we sat with some of the staff a couple of nights and they were very open about their way of life and were interested in what life in England is like for us.
We both said that we would like to go back and have only been back four days and are deciding whether to go back later in the year on next year, but we will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    461
    321
    171
    171
See reviews for
508
443
64
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were at the Caribbean Village Agador 3 years ago and we were somewhat apprehensive about returning, we needn't have worried. Some of the staff have changed yes but the friendly attmosphere was the same, it was so nice that staff could remember you from 3 years ago.

This is a 3star hotel and the rooms are basic but are always clean, i love the walk in showers. we have stayed in the Agador side both times but have seen the rooms on Tamlet and the rooms are much more basic here. We did notice that some money has been spent on the place since our last visit and it remains a work in progress.

The gardens where much more lush on this visit with flowers aplentiful and some we had never seen before. You know some things are a little run down but i do think they seem to be trying to improve the whole resort.

Food was again ok, you would deffinetly not go hungry here as there was something for everyone and the english tea is quite a good brew although i did miss my morning MUG of tea and had to keep getting up for another one. You have got to try the fried dounuts in the morning but ask the chef to do fresh ones as they are a bit chewy when left.

Lunch was always a bit of salad and bread then nice choice for your evening meal, i loved there carrots, dont know how they did them but they where lovely and sweet.. The other restaraunts where good, especially the Moroccan and the Steak house.

We didn't get hasstled half as much this time as i remembered we did the last time, things in Morocco are deffinetly changing and the whole attmosphere seemed much more relaxed. The Beach has changed and is getting a lovley modern promonade to walk along and theres a beautiful water feature at the bottom entrance to the hotel.

The Animation Team are brilliant as usual and still doing all the silly club dances that we all love, the shows have improved somewhat but im sad to say Machine's miming to Micheal Jackson is still hillarious, but the Mamma mia show was good. The best shows where the ones with the guest interaction, they were always so funny.

I was even dragged along to the Disco which is just outside the entrance to Agador and i really enjoyed myself, it was also nice to see some of the hotel staff being able to enjoy themselfs away from work, it was free to get in with your bracelet but the drinks where a bit steep inside.

All in All, if you are expecting 5***** luxury at 3*** prices then you obviously going to be let down but if you want a place to relax and make new friends in an avarage accomidation then you will enjoy your stay and even could make some Really Good Friends for Life...

We fell in love the place 3 years ago and fell in love with it again this time, we will deffinetly be planning to go back.

Brandy and Hot chocolate please...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Room was OK though there were cosmetic faults, like curtain lining was ripped, cupboard doors kept opening, etc.

Food was plentiful, but not round the clock; the snack bar is like a restaurant, ie sit down, order and wait vs. quick nip in for some chips.

Camel ride on premises during Moroccan day - 50 dh, worth doing if this is your first time.
Watch out for family members who just want to watch or take photos being 'conned' into having a ride themselves.

NB** For the ladies: If you don't cover your shoulders and knees, you run the risk of being treated to a lot of wandering hands. Apparently the men consider the way we dress as a sign of being 'lose' and treat the Western women as such. No rapes or anything, but a lot of touching, which may not be welcomed by fat, aging Arab men.

Finally, BRUSH UP on your French. Many staff speak little English, which makes it difficult to get accurate information, and you get a better price if you haggle in French.

I would recommend this place if you want a spot in the sun for little cash. If you have high standards of decor and are looking for all night disco, this is not a place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Lets get one thing straight, this hotel isn't as bad as some people make out. In areas it is looking a little tired and run down but it is a big hotel.

Rooms

As others have said rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, fresh towels every day & bathroom & W.C cleaned. There isn't A/C in the rooms although this wasn't a problem for the duration of our stay as it wasn't that hot. Yes, there is a TV with some English channels if you want to watch the news etc, you'll have to collect the remote control from the hotel reception. There is a safe in the room for which you'll be charged approx £16 per week. Overall the rooms are clean & basic, what more do you need from a room? ?

Pools

The hotel has about 5/6 swimming pools with much of the "entertainment" happening round the main one. It is pretty much geared up for children so they'll have a good time. There are smaller pools with nothing going on so you can just lay back, relax and catch some rays. Be warned they can be pretty cold Brrrrrrrr

Food

Something very close to all of our hearts and some people get themselves wound up over it. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner are all served form the main restaurant which is called Oasis. For an All Inclusive holiday I found the food to be of a good standard & lots of it. There are also themed restaurants around the complex for which you book in and eat, we only ate in the Chinese one which is good if you're not very hungry, the food wasn't bad just not enough of it. Errrr not sure what else to say about it it to be honest, although if you have any burning questions about it then please get in touch.

Bars

The hotel has a few bars scattered around and as some other people have said 10Dh (70P ish) really does go a long way. Service can be slow at times this is when the 10Dh will come in handy and as I found out they'll bring drinks out to where you are sitting. They have a varied selection of drinks I tried the Vodka, Lager & the local Red wine not the best brands in the world but they aren't too bad & achieve the main aim ;-)

Trips

Unrelated to the hotel but just to give you a heads up really. DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go on the "Mini Sahara" tour it'll cost you £38, total waste of money YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. Instead go on the 2 day Marrakech tour, it costs £108 per person and worthy of the money, Marrakech is a mental place with loads going on, again, any questions just contact me and i'll tell you all about it.

Overall this hotel isn't a bad place to stay but can see the restaurant getting crowded in the summer/peak periods. If you get a good deal on this hotel then go for it, although the El Pueblo Tamlet use the same pools & restaurants, you might find you'll get a cheaper deal staying there, we were offered that at £100 less but didn't realise that they are the same. Not sure what the rooms are like other that side but TRUST me everything else is shared.

Hope this helps, any questions what so ever just get in touch and I'll answer best I can.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Our stay was great (let down a little by 3 overcast days). Agadir itself is a bit run down (talk of the earthquate in 1960 kept arising). There is rubble around and many parts yet to be rebuilt. In contrast the new Mariner is filled with designer shops / restaurants.

The hotel itself was on a large complex and was big enough to spend the whole day without feeling claustrophobic. There are 4 large pools with extensive areas for small children (pools were very cold during our visit), and the animation team worked extremely hard keeping everyone entertained whether it be with sports, or evening shows. They can feel pushy at times, but you just have to learn to say no if it's not your thing.

Rooms were more than sufficient - clean, sky tv (reception a little hit and miss), safe (£15ish per week), balcony, clean towels etc etc. We asked to move rooms as we were initially on the ground floor. This wasn't too much trouble, were offered a porter to assist us, and all hotel staff were friendly, helpful and plentiful. In such a French speaking area there were plenty of English speaking staff too. Rooms are not air conditioned, but it was cool in the evenings during our stay.

The food and drink were just what we expected for what we had paid. A large buffet restaurant was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with plenty of choice (the usual mix of chips, pasta, salads, soups, a grill section etc etc). I could understand why some people may not like some foods e.g. the meat was always on the bone, and veg was covered in mayo or oil. The snack bar on a lunch time offered some variety, and the 5 themed restaurants open in the evening were very good regarding the effort they had gone to. We ate at the Italian, Moroccan (the best one), steakhouse, Oriental (very good). You need to book up early for these but definitely provide a welcomed change to the buffet restaurant. There is also pizza available later in the evening around the evening entertainment area, and a creparie, waffles, paninis and icecreams on sale for a reasonable price.

Drinks were free flowing (vodka not the nicest) but martini, beer, and red, white and rose wine was all good. (Other spirits available too). Branded soft drinks were also available (even if cups were a little small). These continued at the private beach (150m away).

We really enjoyed our week at the Caribbean Village Agador. We didn't feel the need to leave the hotel (as we usually do). The kayaks, windsurfing, ping pong, tennis (at a small charge), minigolf, volleyball, basketball, aerobics, pool games and shows all kept us entertained. I was even quite envious of the kids club who had their own pool!

I would recommend this hotel - I feel it is a strong 3* rating. If you are very fussy you may find faults, but I cannot complain.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

we needed a cheap holiday this easter and had never gone all inclusive before, nor had we been to Africa, so we were apprehensive.

We couldnt have been more happier with the value for money we have had from our 7 days away.

Reading some of the reviews on here, we were expecting a fleapit and to be served slop, but the room we had although basic was large, very clean and maintained every day by a very sweet housemaid.

we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food, it was not haute cuisine but then again we were paying 3 star prices, in which case i believe the food was excellent and plentiful.

The staff are helpful and delighted to be tipped even a small amount, such as 10dh (about 70p).

There are numerous watering holes, restaurants and swimming pools, load of kids activities and the youngsters working on the animation team work hard to provide entertainment.

We would definately recommend this complex to any larger family trying to travel on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

agadir is up and coming.in 5 years time everyone will be going there instead of marracech.hotel carribean village is a very nice hotel.rooms done everyday,most of the staff are nice.not suitable for people with walking difficulties the site is huge and very hilly.its a bit hard to find your way round there at the start.i was still getting lost on my last day.theres loads going on there all day/evening absaloutley loads.would be perfect for a big family with lots of children.you WONT get bored.5 good pools,some hectic,some alot quieter.good beach.the downside there,were the shop sellers trying to make you buy stuff,and the food was repetetive.sign up for as many themed restaurants on site straight away,if i was you.didnt see the rep alot either,but me, the mrs and my daughter had a really good time.would go back,maybe in a few years time though

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Village Agador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Village Agador

Address: Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#18 Spa Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Village Agador 3*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caribbean Village Agador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Village Agador Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Village Agador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.