We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great holiday location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Omayades Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Omayades Hotel to your Saves list
Les Omayades Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Secteur Balneaire, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value, great holiday location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had an excellent week mid-March at the Omayades. Here’s our experience of it.

The hotel has a series of 2-storey accommodation terraces, with gardens in between, that cascade for about 100 metres down the slope towards the sea. The reception, bars, restaurant and pool are at the top, and the security gate towards the beach is at the bottom. It’s quite a pretty layout, but if you can’t do steps it could be a problem.

Rooms are basic and a bit dated, but are spacious and attractively decorated. Room staff clean efficiently every day. Balconies face southwest, so they are good for sitting out in afternoon sun and sipping the duty free you’ve brought with you. Hair driers are not supplied.

We loved the hotel food. It’s Moroccan, as you’d expect, and at lunch and dinner there is a big choice of individual elements to mix and match. There is always a tajine and a fish dish – the fish is fresh and local. Breakfast is a bit sparse, but the Moroccan pancakes with honey are superb. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful.

The all-inclusive wines and beer are very drinkable – but bear in mind the wines are local and not the new-world style we are now used to at home. Bar staff are generally friendly and attentive.

We found all the staff very helpful, even the reception staff who have come in for criticism in the past.

Agadir itself is not a pretty town, having been rebuilt after its earthquake in 1960, but it has a super beach and great promenade. There are also good day trips to be had. We booked two trips with the rep – the boat trip with fishing was excellent, and it ended with a feast on board that included the fish we had caught. Take a bottle of wine with you.

We also booked a day trip to Marrakesh using the agency outside the hotel – negotiated price was half the rep price. Marrakesh takes three hours each way, but is truly unmissable.

Overall our holiday was superb value for the money we paid, and we met some great friends too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    99
    94
    82
    78
See reviews for
120
137
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Holiday got off to a bad start as the accommodation agency used by Teletext went bust (without our knowledge) 4 days before we left and Teletext hadn't sorted things out before we arrived. The manager and reception staff were very rude and agrressive and demanded that we pay again for the rooms. It took over 4 hours to get things sorted. They certainly don't like women at this hotel and I had to get a male friend in the UK to speak to the manager before we got into our room.

Sadly this coloured the holiday and we wouldn't recommend this. Rooms were down 6/7 flights of stairs so if you have walking difficulties this isn't the hotel for you. The receptionist barked at us when we asked to have a room close to reception. Be prepared to pay room tax upon departure - manager demanded money from us and wasn't going to give us an invoice for the amount!

Not the friendliest of hotels which is in need of updating and redecoration. Staff either need to be fired or trained in customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Reception staff are VERY rude, I travelled with 2 little kids money hadn't been processed to hotel from UK so I was told I couldn't get a room unless I paid again! No sympathy at all even though it was past midnight & kids needed a bed. No hair dryer, kettle in room. They have a phone but don't work......got stopped by two peadoes after my little girl & staff just made excuses saying they were only having a laugh!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My best friend and I stayed at Le Omayades for the w/c 1/3-8/3/14. I already had 2 prior trips to Morocco under my belt, so knew what to expect re: street hawkers/ taxi's etc, but I will offer tips later in my review.

Firstly, be prepared to queue, for ages, in Passport control on your arrival. Agadir/ Moroccan airports enter everything on your landing card into their computer system (usually with 1 finger). This causes massive hold up and is really frustrating and wastes vital holiday time!
This also has a knock on affect if you are being picked up by shared shuttle, so be warned that there will be a wait (we waited 1 hour for 2 people who were on the same flight as us)!

I had read the reviews on Les Omayades and at 1 point was going to cancel, but I decided against it and to the best part, that was the right decision.

The Hotel needs lots of running repairs. This would not cost a lot to do and to be honest it would really benefit from it. The Gardens are beautiful so credit to the gardeners.

The food is edible, some of the dishes are particularly nice and some are really quite awful. I am in no way fussy, but by mid wee I had had enough and we reported to the FAB restaurant 2 minutes away. Le Grillaridiere is brilliant. Reasonable prices, clean, lovely staff and an amazing selection of delicious food. Check them out on line.

The pool was too cold for swimming, so unless you have really thick skin, or are use to Arctic water then you may have to give it a miss.

All inclusive is restrictive, especially re: alcohol so please take your own if you want a decent drink, as there is nothing much on offer at all (Wine, Beer & bright orange cocktail only)!

Beach was not too far to walk and was wonderfully sandy but it was a little dirty, even on the designated Hotel beach! There is also no where to get a drink or food near to the Les Omayades section of beach, so take stuff with you if you go.

Agadir is tourist friendly but still has unpleasant parts/ people there. Always be cautious and think before you hand money over, as they like to try to flummox you when you get your purse/ wallet.

Trip to the Kasbah (on the Hill). The cab drive will not tell you but they wait for you at the top, to bring you back down, they wanted 160DHR and will only wait for a max of 30 mins. There is not that much to see, apart from the amazing view and you will be hassled by guides, Camel owners and men with baby goats!

The Medina in town is great for watching the local women grinding the Argan nuts for their oil, but go a bit upset with the live tortoise and Chameleons for sale. I know that this is ignorance on the part of the locals, but sad for animal lovers.

Unfortunately we had a situation with the UK Company that we booked the hotel with, Holiday Nights, as they went into Administration the day before we came home. Myself and my friend were being pressured by the Manager to pay the Hotel charges again, despite paying in the UK. He did this even knowing that it was not our fault and that we had no money! We had no help and advice from anyone in the UK and the hotel made us feel very uncomfortable. This became very stressful and ruined the last part of our Holiday.

I have to say that the hotel staff were mostly very nice, especially the cleaners/ Kitchen staff and gardeners. However, the femalel Receptionist they have at the Hotel is aggressive, intimidating and just plain rude. She kept insisting we pay the money we had already paid in the UK then called the Security Guard over and we seriously thought that they were going to take our suitcases. At no time were we aggressive, just worried and scared.
This woman needs either re-training in customer services or she needs to be sacked.

Overall I would say that Les Omayades does what it says on the tin, but not to a great standard! I personally would spend a little more money and get a hotel that had more to offer in facilities, food and entertainment plus a HEATED POOL (for non-summer visitors).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at Les Omayades from 4/3 for one week.
Easyjet flight from gatwick trouble free and arrived early.Suggest on arrival and once clearing passport control get £50 in dirhams at exchange desk to cover taxi and initial costs.Taxi 200-250 dirham per car each way.Get remaining currency at hotel as good rate of exchange here.
Would agree with the majority of posts that hotel is tired and needs updating thoughout but clean with generally helpful and cheerful staff.
Food choice limited but would say that what we had was of good quality.All inclusive drink options very limited as only beer and wine available without extra cost.
Hotel in good location only ten minutes from beach and near shops and restaurants.Local orange taxis are in abundance and will take you anywhere in a two mile or so distance from the hotel for 15-20 dirham(Exchange rate in hotel very good at 13.1 dirham to pound)
Beach lovely as is the promanade with small section of beach allocated to hotel guests.Sea and pool water cold with only the brave daring to swim.Hotel entertainment very limited in the evening albeit if local dancers and music is your thing then maybe this would be ok.Weather cold most mornings and evenings so a fleece and warm clothing needed.Daytime weather variable and hot when no cloud or mist from the sea albeit conditions can change very quickly.
Visted the marina,fish market and market which were well worth the visit.Also took trip to village of Tisnit via local coach which was disappointing as coach was suppossed to be 1 1/2 hour trip each way but actually took a total of seven hours leaving us little time to explore our destination.Coaches to all major destinations in morocco available from the coach depot and offer a cost saving against booked excursions which would appeal to the indepenadant traveler ie marrakech 175 diram each return
To summarise if you are looking for a hotel with extensive all inclusive and entertainment options directly on the beach then the Les Omayades is not for you. If however a clean and low cost hotel in agadir is what you are after and are able to put up with some deficencies in light of the price that you pay then this is hotel would be recommended albeit not for the disabled or with young children with buggies due to the number of steps and no ramped access.

Room Tip: Room nearest reception with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Very clean cute but dated room, bed was not very comfy. I had the air con heater on all night as it got chilly at night time which was good to have that. Good powerful shower, hot sun on the lovely balcony. Also theres a safe in the room to put valuables in.

Not much of a variety of food, very average but still ok. Was not too keen on the coffee selection all of them tasted like hot chocolate?!

Moroccon tea was lovely, staff are friendly and welcoming. You see alot of cats around.

Pool cold most days but one day it was randomly heated. They have table tennis, pool table, darts and own hammam with jacuzzi area and gym. Which is nothing special.

Reception for wifi with big bar is nice but dead atmosphere. Although one night was a belly dancer which was lively.

There is a shisha bar next door from the hotel which was lovely. Really good shisha, alcohol and snacks. Loud music and one night they had a live singer. Recommend you go here for shisha.

Good location near to shops, restaurants and beach through bottom exit.

Overall the hotel is average, nothing special but you get what you pay for! It lacks atmosphere and is dated. I would recommend going on a trip to Marrakech and defiantly booking a hammam and massage but not in the hotel. Book one at the spa that the tour operator offers you.

I came here with my boyfriend and we did not think it was an ideal holiday for couples as it is an Islamic country. But we made the most of it ;)






Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissint, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My partner and I stayed 3 nights, the room is very clean and cleaned daily as expected it could do with being updated, the bed could be more comfortable but it's ok.
The whole hotel is very clean but looks very tired could do with being updated in places, the staff are also friendly and very helpful. We wasn't keen on the food in the resort, we ate in 1 restaurant outside the resort but was disappointed, thank god for macdonalds and pizza hut.

Room Tip: Cheap and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.6 mi away
Tagadirt Hotel
Tagadirt Hotel
#53 of 80 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
#46 of 80 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Club Al Moggar
Hotel Club Al Moggar
#55 of 80 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tildi Hotel
Tildi Hotel
#26 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argana Hotel
Argana Hotel
#28 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Omega Hotel
Omega Hotel
#52 of 80 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Omayades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Omayades Hotel

Address: Secteur Balneaire, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#34 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Omayades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Les Omayades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Omayades Agadir
Hotel Les Omayades

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Omayades Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.