We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for tennis and golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Agadir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Agadir to your Saves list
Club Med Agadir
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route de l_Oued Sous, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great for tennis and golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband is a golfer and I love tennis. We both enjoy a lot the Club Med in Agadir. Training and matches in the morning for me , 18 holes for him, lunch, beach. Perfect ! 3 hours flight from our old Europe , no jet lag. What else would you ask for? The team of the club is nice and does its best.Of course some people like to criticizes, it could be better if..., it used to be better before, food could be better ... Well the formula remains perfect if you like a mix of sport, socializing , rest and night dances if you wish . Instead of criticizing people should enjoy their time and their holidays !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for writing this great and positive review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are very happy to see that you and your husband enjoyed practising Tennis and Golf in the morning with our well trained G.O.s, and resting on the beach in the afternoon after a great lunch!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    558
    197
    81
    37
See reviews for
686
215
134
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

As previous comments have clearly attested, Club Med Agadir is by no means the crown jewel of the world famous franchise. In some respects this resort would be lucky to be called "Camp Med" if properly rated with other Club Meds. To be fair, it is the oldest Club Med in the world, operates at nearly full capacity year round, and is in an environment challenging for even routine maintenance, much less a full remodeling. That said, it operates fairly successfully despite these challenges and even excels in some areas as every Club Med must.

Let's start with the positive. The beachside setting is beautiful as are the pristinely cultivated grounds. The architecture, although only modestly adorned with classic Moroccan features so as to distinguish it from concrete bunkers, works well with the collection of garden rooms and suites that populate the large compound. It's a good layout that offers a sense of privacy for every group of suites in every unique garden.

We found the food at the open buffet during the entire week to be outstanding -- a tribute to the Club's and Morocco's French heritage. Breakfast was the consistent exception to this, which was ordinary at best, but perhaps most Club Med visitors would not count breakfast as a real meal anyway. The daily menus varied sufficiently to make them interesting and nearly everything tasted freshly made. The daily specials, of which there were 2 or 3 at every meal, were exceptional and every evening featured a "themed" menu of regional or international cuisine. House wines were always Moroccan and actually quite good. On balance, the food was 4+ stars in quality, selection and taste.

Another plus was the staff, which was, almost without fail, approaching Disneyland-level in their constant friendly and courteous demeanors despite occasional language barrier problems. Also, the selection of programs and range of facilities was impressive, particularly for children. As for services and equipment, all of the essentials were easily available and working, although perhaps not always at a standard of excellence expected from Club Med.

Now, for the areas for improvement... Upon our arrival we were offered no tour of the large compound and no printed information about the facilities or programs of activities during our stay. They did not even provide us a map to help us navigate. Many things we did not discover until nearly the end of our visit. No one explained to us how to make purchases at the Club not covered by the all-inclusive booking (which require a Club Med card), and of the deluxe rooms we were shown, only one was actually available. Even the upgrade we were offered turned out to be unavailable in the end. In any event, despite the apparent management problems, our deluxe room was adequate for our needs.

Although our room was small for a "deluxe," it was nicely appointed with Moroccan fixtures, architectural touches and handicrafts, but it was the small details that took it from shabby chic to just shabby. Torn cushions, poorly fitted drapes, broken tiles and electrical fixtures, and damaged furniture, not to mention the pest control problems – ants and roaches -- combined to rob the room of any rustic charm. I do have to admit, however, that the bed was quite good. Our very nice cleaning lady was as helpful as she could be with the pests, but it seemed nearly impossible to get our minibar stocked or toiletries replaced regularly. We learned in our desperate hunt for instant coffee, for example, that such things were kept under lock and key and only one person had the key, so it was nearly impossible to get it stocked daily.

The age of the 1965 complex shows, but the lack of proper external maintenance makes many of the aging buildings seem even older. Minor architectural improvements, more attention to painting, and regular replacement of rusting fixtures and broken tiles could make a big difference. Similarly, many of the so-called amenities needed substantial updating. For example, the antiquated washing machines and outdated fitness equipment should be replaced, and the primitive Wi-Fi, only available in the bar and which barely operates at a dial-up speed, definitely need upgrading. Also, it is unclear why optional services offered on the compound, such as the spa, recreational and excursion services, must be priced up to 10 times the rates offered just outside the gate. Many visitors considered this among the most serious problems. Many believe the quality is no different and the outside services are easier to book. During our stay the majority of visitors seemed to be divided between young families and retirees, although a number of hip 30 and 40 somethings were out and about as well.

Would we come back and recommend it to friends in spite of the shortcomings? Probably, but with some appropriate warnings. It does not seem to deserve to be a three trident Club Med, but the friendly staff, good food, beautiful grounds, and family friendly environment make it a reasonably good value and, overall, an enjoyable stay. We had the good fortune to make some new friends there as well.

Room Tip: No matter what kind of room you book in advance, ask to see other rooms before you settle in. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We would like to thank you warmly for writing this detailed and well-informed review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the quality and variety of the food, our staff friendliness and involvement, and the family friendly environment of our Resort.

On the other hand, we would like to inform you that your constructive comments in respect of the lack of information, the problems in your room, the lack of external maintenance and the cost of non-included activities have been taken most seriously and forwarded to the relevant departments within our organisation for their attention.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We went here on our 1st Club Med holiday together with our two boys aged 1.5 and 3. We arrived in February not really knowing what to expect. Our two boys were booked into the baby and mini club respectively. Unfortunately neither were quite interested in the clubs, but the facilities for the children and the level of supervision was excellent. This left us with the two for most of the week. This was the only slight negative. If they were a little older it would have been great for them. In relation to everything else, we couldnt find fault, the quality of food was excellent throughout the week and the effort made at the evenings entertainment and various theme nights was fantastic. They were non intrusive but very entertaining and really made you feel like the staff were making great efforts on each night. There was a great atmosphere there we felt. We all had limited enough french, but most staff could assist and we never found it a difficulty.

If you want a spanking new modern hotel/resort then this is not for you, if you want a break in a resort that is spotless, has character, some french/african charm and warm weather this is for you. We were extremely slow initially to roam out of the resort, but by the end of the week we were happily walking along the promenade which was at that time very safe, but clearly you need to be aware you are in Africa and when given friendly offers of being shown one thing or another - just be sure to refuse their offer kindly!

We would return without hesitation again but perhaps when the kids were a little older or if you had children who are used to creches. It was nice to be back in Africa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a good time and that you enjoyed our staff dedication, the quality of the food and the variety of the evening entertainment and parties.

Although you wrote that the facilities and level of supervision of the Kids' Clubs were excellent, we are sorry to read that your two sons did not really enjoy the Childrens' Clubs. We can assure you that we try to offer activities which suit every age category. We will make sure to forward your comments to the Kids Club Managers in our Agadir Resort for their perusal.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've known Agadir since 1999 and we witnessed its slow fall in quality, unfortunately. Once upon a time...it used to be the smartest club of the Club Med. The buffets were fantastic, really good food. Now...it's quite the oposit : tasteless salads, meat, even tajines ! The fruits, especially, are rooten, badly presented (just unloaded on the table called "buffet" and you can choose between aples, grapes, bananas and clementines. That's all folks !
The bread, the pizza and some vegetables are the only tasty food.
The atmosphere is quite dull. They announce events like oriental dance and the GO supposed to do it doesn't show up, the musical program is awful, just some noise (was there any DJ ?).

Yet, in the middle of this you can find a VERY telented young man, JOSS who does hiw best to cheer up the GM. It's a terrible waste that this guy so funny and smart is there and not in a real theater, for a one man show !

It's a pitty for this club, for the people who still work there. WHY such a decline ???? I let the Club Med managers to find the answer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Having sold many Club Med holidays over the years but first became hooked two years ago trying my very first village. I went here at the end of September for a week in a deluxe terraced room which was very spacious with Moroccan artefacts dotted around the room .The gardens are immaculate and are tended by an army of gardeners including a lady gardener who was nit work shy in least.The transfer takes approx half an hour
The village has it's own section if beach which is very clean and a guard on hand so you don't get hassled by hawkers which to be fair once you decided you weren't buying off them moved on up the beach.The food was excellent with a wide range of pasta,pizza,salad,patisserie,cooked meats etc also they had tables for two which in previous Club Med trips they only seem to have larger tables for families .The drinks were good and even though I don't drink the non alcoholic cocktails were refreshing.As my children are all grown up now and at University it didn't deter from me taking an avid interest in what the child care facilities were and all the children seemed oblivious to their parents as they were having such a good time painting, doing shows, making pancakes etc. The evening entertainment was great on most nights a bit cheesy but it filled the evenings after dinner before we retired fir the night.The deluxe rooms had a fully stocked mini bar also in case you wanted to go to your room and half a drink on your balcony.There is a great little Decleor Spa here and I treated myself to a manicure in the last day and very reasonable that was too approx £10
I didn't try any sports is time apart from aqua aerobics if you can call that sport but I am returning here on the 1st December so will give more things a try then.My husband is not a travel agent but he has high standards and was thrilled with this Club so much so as I said we are returning in three weeks and we never go to the same place twice so that speaks volumes
On a Monday the locals are invited into the village to sell their goods but always haggle with them they had some nice and unusual things to sell most of it hand made.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were larger and more spacious to be honest but the club rooms were clean but the idea o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your husband had good time there and you enjoyed the comfort of your room, the food quality and our Club Med Spa by DECLEOR.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
296 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just came back from a really nice week in Agadir. This Club Med is quite old and is showing some signs of its age, but our family room was great. We had 2 seperate bedrooms with comfy beds and a clean bathroom. The housekeeping staff were very good at their job. The large dining room was a little run down but there was always plenty of tables available at all meal times. I felt the food was very good indeed with a wide range of options at all meal times. The cocktail selection for pre-dinner drinks was excellent - they mix a good mojito! The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The pool could do with some work as there were many missing tiles. However, the beach is what you come here for and Club Med have one of the best positions on the beach with plenty of sun lounges and umbrellas. If you don't like sand, Club Med has a terrace near the entrance to the beach promenade with another small range of sun lounges and umbrellas.
We used the Kid's Club for our 4yo daughter and she certainly enjoyed the afternoon program. But, she didn't like the morning program, so we never sent her to that after the first day. Another issue is that she was the only English-speaking child and found it difficult to relate to other kids. It is important to note that French is definitely the language of Club Med and indeed the Agadir property. There are quite a few English speaking staff on site but you must be prepared that English is a 2nd language in the resort.

Room Tip: Agadir is NOT a place to go for Moroccan culture - it is a place for the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Agadir, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Agadir Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the Resort's beach and the food quality.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Me and my partner had a great time at the Club Med.. But... Lets see where do they win and where do they fail exactly.

1. Arrival: The bus and the tranfer from the airport to the hotel was problem free, quick and easy.. Altough the passport check take like forever:|

2. Room: We booked a deluxe room with a terrace (1213)... Thank God, as the standard rooms are look so small, like a rabbit hole, and soo desperate. But our room was very spacious, nicely decorated. The furniture a little bit dated but nothing major issue. The water pressure great. Beds are comfortable. Our room attendant, Samira was very efficent and nice during our stay.

3. Food: we had a full plate. The food was great, the choices are huge. The service a bit slow and disorganized. Almost impossible to get a table for 2 people.If you want to sit with vry very old people or screaming maniac kids, then its not a problem.
We booked a dinner at their other restaurant. It was okay, the aura is lovely, romantic, but the food is not really special.... Would be better if they make a normal menu.

4. Garden: lovely green and like a little paradise. well maintained.

5: Boutique: OVERPRICED.... the keyrings are 60 dirham.. you can buy exactly the same outside the hotel for like 1 dirham .....Do not bother with the boutique.....

6. Beach: the beach is nice, but soooo dirty:( the hotels private area is nice, but the rest is just terrible...

Overall: Good hotel, ok service..Way toooo much crazy screaming kids and babies (not the hotels fault:).

Probably will come back!

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room as it is small, dark and desperate:( Pay a bit more and get your own ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay
Hotel Timoulay
#2 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#21 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
lti Agadir Beach Club
lti Agadir Beach Club
#30 of 80 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Agadir

Address: Route de l_Oued Sous, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#11 Family Hotel in Agadir
#12 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Agadir 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Agadir, shielded from the noise of the town, another world thrives, quickened by the rhythm of the day's sports, lulled by the "art de vivre" of Morocco. A world that's brightened by oleanders and scented by eucalyptus, where parents and children meet around the infinity pool to share the day's adventures, their exploits on the tennis courts, the golf course, or just a ride along the beach. The Village's medina-style lead you down to Club Med Spa* for an invigorating treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Agadir Hotel Agadir
Agadir Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.