We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Timoulay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Timoulay to your Saves list
Hotel Timoulay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Faultless hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Timoulay for a week after spending three nights at a Riad in the centre of wonderful mad-Marrakech, and the difference was tangible!

The Timoulay is a 4* hotel that thoroughly deserves to be a 5*! I can only praise this hotel in everyway. The communal areas, rooms and spotlessly clean and well maintained, and all the staff are just fantastic.

The restaurant has a great selection of delicious, well cooked Moroccan (obviously!) styled food.
There's a good selection of wines and bottled beer, but i would say that the wines are Moroccan, and that some of the reds aren't to everyones taste.
The bar and lounge sitting areas are also comfortable, as are the patio areas.

I've noticed that on this site that a few people have mentioned that the pool water is a bit salty, maybe they didn't read the brochure correctly because it's quite clearly advertised as being a 'salt-water pool'. That doesn't mean it's just sea-water, it's cleaned and filtered and doesn't cause any of the burning-eye problems that often occure in over chlorinated pools.
Like everything else at Timoulay, the pool area was spotlessly clean and well kept.

We stayed mid June, out of high season and out of the school holiday period. There were plenty of free sun loungers and other pool side sitting areas available throught the day, and no-one was up at the crack of dawn setting their towels on the loungers, which was a very pleasant first!!

The beach is an easy walk from the hotel (less than 10 mins) and you can hire two loungers and parasol for 40Dh per day (£2.80).

Agadir beach is huge, 6Km in length. Hotel Timoulay is situated and the quieter south end. There are some bars and restaurants, but most of the bars are at the north end along with the Marina and harbour.
The corniche is well paved, and well maintained. It's also regularly patrolled by security from various hotels, and also by Police. It's a VERY safe area (as is Agadir in general) and is a lovely walk. Taxi's are easily available, and you can get pretty much anywhere in Agadir form the Timoulay for less than 20Dh (£1.40)

I really can't praise this hotel or its staff highly enough, and i'd be more than happy to recommend it highly.

Well Done Hotel Timoulay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    259
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
163
523
28
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel and which really feels like a five star hotel and I honestly could not fault a thing with my 2 week stay here.

From the moment you arrive to check in your are sat down and made to feel welcome and ultra relaxed which sets the tone for the rest of the holiday.
The rooms are large, modern and spacious with a lovely view of the hotel. (I would say the higher you are the better view of the bay you get) but nevertheless you still get a nice view of the pool and rest of the hotel. The rooms were always clean and spotless and come with a fridge and even a secure safe at no extra charge .

We went half board(breakfast and dinner) and were not disappointed. There was a great selection of food and there was something for everyone. The evening buffet was absolutely fantastic and the bbq grill was also excellent.

The Timoulay has a really relaxed atmosphere where you are not hassled and are left to totally relax and unwind however if you want anything the staff are always there to assist. The staff could not do enough for you and always had a smile on their face. NOTHING was ever too much trouble. One evening we arrived late for dinner but the staff went out of way to accommodate us and were so polite as they didn’t want to rush us!!! A special mention to Youseff, Tarik and Issam who really went above and beyond what we could have expected and made our holiday extra special.

All in all a great hotel and think you would be hard pressed to find any faults with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors have better views of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My sister and I have just come back from a week holiday in Agadir staying at Timoulay. The hotel was lovely and the highlight of our trip. We were half board and were very impressed by the choice of food at breakfast and dinner, particularly the pancakes and couscous/veg! The staff were so helpful. The waiters were friendly and always happy to chat and ask about your day. The staff definitely made us feel very welcome and always had a smile.
We found our holiday a little uncomfortable due to the unwanted attention we received outside of the hotel, as we were 2 blonde girls. However, we felt very comfortable in the hotel and as it was such a nice environment with good food, and pool, we didn't mind relaxing at the hotel all day.
The hotel is away from the centre and I think this is a blessing, as it is full of neno lights and nightclubs!! The spa was also worth a visit. I had the package including thr traditional scrub, massage bath and oil massage. One tip, have the scrub at the beginning of your holiday as it definitely removes a few layers of skin, and your tan may suffer :-)
Overall, I definitely agree that Timoulay should be 5* and #1 hotel in Agadir.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

WOW...

After a recent trip to Marrakesh, we wanted to try agadir, after sifting through lots of hotels we found The Timoulay hotel. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.
As most people would say.."you get what you pay for", it seemed we paid so little for such an outstanding service the whole 2 weeks we stayed. The service was amazing and the staff could never do enough for you. 2 waiters in particular stood out - Tarrik and Youseff, they were always happy and smiling and whatever you ask they do with in a matter of minutes. All members of staff were always smiling and if you turned up a little late for breakfast or dinner they would always say "take your time". Nothing was ever a hassle.
Reading some of the other reviews, I can't believe some people have said that there is not enough choice for breakfast as there is a whole range of choices including; fresh fruit, yogurt, English breakfast (but with lamb and beef sasuages as this is a Muslim country and pork is not usually served) toast, a wide selection of jams and butters, fresh juices including orange juice, cucumber juice and grapefruit juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc - don't forget the waffles and pancakes made to order at the grill!
The swimming pool was cleaned everyday and the rooms were always spotless and very large with fresh towels everyday. You can also use the pool towels which are supplied by the hotel, they also allow you to take them to the beach (as long as you bring them back of course!).
After speaking to another English couple, who told us that this hotel could not be rated no#1 in Agadir because they dont have over 500 rooms...I think it is better that the hotel isnt as big as the others as there are lots of big generic hotels by the beach in Agadir. The hotel is tucked out of the way from the Marina and is quiet (but is a 10-15 min taxi driver), a taxi anywhere in the City is 20MAD so make sure you agree a price with them before you get into the taxi.

The only criticism I have is that I asked for a double bed and we had 2 single beds pushed together. it wasnt that much of an issue, but it would have been nice to have a double bed.

Overall I would say that this is by far the best hotel in Agadir. I want to thank the Timoulay and all the staff for making my holiday so relaxing. I just wish it could get the rating it deserves - No#1.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/beach facing balcony and ask for a double bed rather than 2 single beds pushed togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We saw other hotels along the beach walk that looked too big, too many people. Fine if you want to join the crowd however with only 58 rooms this oasis of calm and relaxation was the ideal hotel to take my wife and 2 children. All the other positive reviews are spot on-the staff, rooms, facilities and the food -so good our children looked forward to seeing what was on the buffet every day and staff really friendly and helpful. Word of advice....and well known in Morocco....tip little and often. Just a couple of quid (20 dirhams) is all you need to give when you want to show appreciation. Can't go wrong with this hotel-had a day trip to Marakesh and felt like home when we got back....enjoy!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Agadir and I definitely would recommend Hotel Timoulay. It is very well situated, a short walk to the beach/promenade or a short ride in a "tomato",( red taxi ) to the town centre. We had 2 spacious and very clean rooms on the 3rd floor with view of the pool and the ocean. All the staff, from the restaurant to the cleaner, were extremely friendly, helpful and tried their best to make our stay comfortable. It was our daughter's 13th birthday during that week, they had prepared a cake and presented it to her at dinner time on the day with all the staff singing "Happy birthday". She was really chuffed, a lovely touch. The pool area was nice, clean and well maintained. On half board, we found the food excellent with plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner with a mix of French and Moroccan cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very nice,clean. Breakfast is very nice. The people managing it are charming. It is situated away from center city. You can get to the beach Easley, there are hotels and restaurants all along the coast. It is a hotel that I would recommend to singles and families. The view is breath taking.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Timoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Timoulay

Address: Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#1 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Timoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timoulay Hotel is located in the popular spa resort of Agadir, Morocco. This 4-star design hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a Spa and Wellness centre and a large sea water swimming pool.Guest rooms at the Timoulay are spacious and have a terrace with a view of the hotel’s gardens, pool and the sea. All rooms are air-conditioned and have satellite TV.A full breakfast buffet is served daily at Restaurant Ayour, which also offers traditional and regional dishes.At the hotel’s Spa, guests have access to a Hammam, sauna and fitness room. There is also a range of leisure activities close to the Timoulay, such as scuba diving and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Timoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timoulay Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Timoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.