We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Timoulay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Timoulay to your Saves list
Hotel Timoulay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Timouley is a very friendly clean hotel. Rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. On arrival we were allocated a room that we hadn't asked for (view overlooking a building site, there is a lot of building work going on around the hotel) but it was quickly resolved and we were moved to another room with a better view with no problem. Although the hotel was fully booked it never felt busy and there was always plenty of space around the very nice pool area.There is a very nice beach which is about a 10 - 15 minute walk away - unfortunately uphill coming back! The food was not of a 4 star quality. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a grill where you could get omelettes waffles and pancakes made fresh but all very average The evening buffet left a lo to be desired in culinary skills, the hot food was very bland and again you could get meat and fish from the grill but still all very uninteresting and bland and more of the same every day. We were very disappointed with the location of the hotel as according to the Thomson brochure there were bars and restaurants a short stroll away - not so, there is nothing around the hotel at all and you have to walk for a good 50 - 60 minutes to reach the Centre where all the shops bars and restaurants are. Orange taxis (petit taxis) are always available and you never have to wave them down because they stalk you non stop which is very annoying be careful to agree a price before you get in as they will always try to rip you off, you shouldn't pay more than about 20 - 30 dirham (about £2-£3) altho the price increases by 50% in the evening but there are plenty of them all wanting your money! We were hassled non stop on this holiday by shopkeepers, taxis,etc be especially careful of what or whom you take a photograph of as they will ask for money and will follow you and hassle you until you give them 10 or 20 dirhams Everything is money money money! As far as i am concerned Morroco is the country of 'rip off', Agadir being the capitol of it!!

Room Tip: ask for high floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimoulayHotel, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I was glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Timoulay Hotel & Spa, I have taken note of your opinion about food, nevertheless there is a large choice, we are very surprised that you did not find it good enough " Tastes can not be discussed " I am also upset that you kept such a negative image about our lovely city of Agadir, as you certainly know, Agadir is a resort that is working in progress but which has a wonderfull beach and nice hinterland and very welcoming people.

Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back one day in the future.

Yours sincerly
Zahra RIZQ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    285
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
171
574
32
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Timoulay is a truly lovely little hotel if you don't mind being a little way out of Agadir. The staff were really helpful and responsive to all our demands and the facilities were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The menu changed every day and the food was typically Moroccan and tasty - NOT burgers and chips! Look out for the serving hatch outside the restaurant where hot breakfast dishes were served and grills in the evening - we didn't notice it a first. We loved the pool which never really got very busy except when families with children came but that didn't stop us swimming every day. There's a little shop about 8 minutes walk away on the main road where you can buy water, snacks etc. but no alcohol (ask your rep for it's location). It does help in Morocco (and at the hotel) if you speak French. We would definitely recommend this 'little gem' of a hotel and look forward to visiting it again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor looking out on the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimoulayHotel, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our service and facilities.

I hope that you will be joining us again soon and I look forward to welcoming you,

Best regards

Zahra RIZQ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is such a restful, relaxed, clean, friendly hotel it is exactly as the title says, a little gem! It actually looks exactly like the brochure pictures and the rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned daily. A safe and small fridge are free for your use in each room, which saves alot of hassle and usually, money. The food was lovely and we managed to have something different for each of our 14 days at the hotel! Very unusual! We read the comments about the cats but they didn't seem to bother us and weren't there all the time. Although the area is in the stages of some new building work, this wasn't a problem for us and we never seemed to hear any of the work going on. It is a bit far from the rest of the resort, but this is something we liked about it, as it was quiet and as its a small hotel, it never seemed busy, although we knew that it was fully booked. Orange taxis are always available and you can stop one when you are walking along, they are also reasonably cheap (around 20-30 dirhams - about £1.60-£2.20) but agree a price before you get in the taxi as we spoke to a few people who had been caught out by this and paid alot more....but only once! The people/staff in majority of places we visited and in the hotel were very friendly and not too pushy, we just said 'no thanks', smiled and continued walking and there were no problems. I was slightly worried about the dress code while in this country, as alot of websites state that your shoulders and knees must be covered at all times, but although we took plenty of that type of clothing, they were alot more relaxed than expected and we were both able to wear normal male & female holiday clothes & swimwear. Our rep advised us, that 'if you feel you are being stared at for this reason, then you probably are wearing something too inappropriate'. We just bore that in mind when travelling outside the resort, to Marrakesh and Taroudant for example and we took a shawl and wore clothes that were comfortable but not 'revealing' and all was fine. We loved the rest and relaxed atmosphere that we found at this lovely hotel (its very modern and stylish aswell), but not really directed for older children, younger ones have a small pool (large salt water pool was lovely &clean & towels are provided by hotel for the pool), but there isnt any entertainment for them. So bare this in mind if you're expecting night time entertainment, there is a singer/pianist who plays background music every night, but thats it. This said, there were guests of all ages staying there, from early 20's to 70's and families! We would definitely go back to this little gem of a hotel as we feel completely refreshed and relaxed....shame we had to come home!

Room Tip: The rooms above the restaurant seem to get the sun all day (not so the ones to the side of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimoulayHotel, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and encouraging feedback following your recent stay with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed it.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again to Timoulay Hotel & Spa.

In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Best regards
Zahra RIZQ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

On arriving at Hotel Timoulay we were very impressed, the people were friendly, helpful, and our room was comfy and CLEAN! The only negative aspect regarding our room was the drain in the bath, following my first shower the water failed to go down and we had to call reception for them to fix it! This happened once again right before we left. Other than this the room was lovely!
Breakfast was good! There is a counter where a very lovely woman makes fresh omlettes, crepes & waffles right in front of you. Dinner was also very nice - very healthy food and once again there is a counter where you are able to choose from a selection of grills (fish, meat etc) to be cooked in front of you. FYI the fish is tasty! I would like the salad selection to be covered in future - there are a lot of flies as it is a hot country and there were a few instances where I witnessed a fly on a slice of cucumber or carrot.
Following all the other reviews regarding cats - I am sad to say that I also had a bad experience with them. I am not an animal lover (nor an animal hater!) so I was a bit upset to see 3 cats hover anytime food was present. It made me really uncomfortable. At one point one cat even came into the restaurant and jumped on one of the chairs! They would also surround the pool area and made it very uncomfortable for me to relax in my lounge chair without worrying that a cat will jump on me!!
Other than these negative aspects, overall I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. The staff were especially welcoming and friendly I was sad to say bye!
If you dont mind cats then stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimoulayHotel, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us, I have taken note of your comments, we do believe that this is the only way to improve our service standard.

I am also very sorry to hear of your disappointments with cats, we are trying to resolve this matter the best way.

My team were grateful that you enjoyed their service and we all hope that you will be back again to the Timoulay Hotel & Spa .

Best regards

Zahra RIZQ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews for this hotel and its rating of being the 2nd best hotel in Agadir we expected so much more!
Hotel was very clean and quiet
Staff were not particularly friendly but helpful if asked
Location surrounded by building sites
Food, same most nights, no flavours in anything, left overs re-cycled in some way for the next night and always luke warm!
Drinks expensive and definitely watered down.
Entertainment-Nil!
And the cats!!!!! The poor ginger female would cry by your table each night for food and when we left on the 9th June she was being tortured by the two tom cats (even though we had witnessed one of them having his way with her during breakfast!) She was being chased continuously the whole day by both if them and I asked the lifeguard if they could not put her away somewhere, but no luck!! It was awful to witness and we couldn't wait to leave!
The weather was strange, most days sun does not break through the mist until 2ish!
All in all, we would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimoulayHotel, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all, we want to thank you for having taken some of your time to write this review, and we are really sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations.

We are really sorry that you kept such a negative image of us, we love pets but we are in the service business and sometimes our actions to handle with many different situations, reflects a wrong image of us.

Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back one day in the futur.

Yours sincerly
Zahra RIZQ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

we had 3 days in Marrakech then travelled to Timoulay for a relaxing 11 days after reading the reviews on here. We've stayed in excellent boutique hotels in Malaysia & were hoping for something similar here but it didn't come close. Yes it was quiet & relaxing around the pool, until the day that approx 8 families with children turned up for only a couple of days thankfully. Rooms were large & no real complaints there except the shower temparature & pressure was really poor. The cleaner did a good job & was the friendliest member of the staff we came across. Most of reception were smiley enough but did't really go out of their way to help. As we were there when the Euro's started they had some of the matches on in the bar, but the atmosphere was terrible, the bar staff had no interest in even making eye contact with you let alone having "banter" & trying to make you feel welcome, it was quite painful at times trying to order a drink. On at least 3 occassions while we were dining the waiters would start to clear our table before we had finished, or even more annoyingly remove items from the table before we'd even started eating it!! there were plenty of spare tables so I really don't know what the rush was.

Kittens:- seeing the previous post has prompted me to write a review, the 6 kittens that are talked about, myself & my partner found them in their box in some bushes meowing so loudly we couldn't miss them, we ended up caring for them for nearly a week, taking them fresh water & milk as there was only a disgusting bowl of manky water in the box when we found them, we even put them some of our old clothes in their box they were so helpless, one evening one of the reception staff saw us tending to the kittens & kindly informed us that they belonged to the hotel next to Timoulay (which was obviously not even open when we were there), so I didn't believe him & now it seems that wasn't true if they were born at Timoulay. a couple of days beore we left we heard the kittens down the ramp under the hotel, we had a look & 2 of the 6 were there with some staff who seemed to find it amusing that they were nearly falling down the grid, we went mad & they changed their tune, fetching a clean box, we checked the others where they usually were & 2 were missing, so we took the other 2 back to the hotel to be reuinted with the rest, so the surviving 4 were then kept under the hotel for the remainder of our stay. I was so upset & angry as we;ve no idea how they 2 got there or why they'd been separated & they didn't seem to care, i dread to think what happened to them once we returned home. It seems this is a regular occurance & the hotel do not care in the slightest.

Room Tip: don't go if you like animals :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on caring for all of our guests that's why I was shocked to read your feedback about your experience with us. I am personally going to follow up every point you mentionned with the staff members concerned.

We love animals, but we can't take care of all pets, but I really understand your reaction, we did what we could so as to save this kittens, may be not enough but we really tried,

As I already said to Mrs Flaki2, we are going to castrate our cat so as to avoid more new kittens, I hope it will be a solution.

I do sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you again, and have the opportunity to show you how great The Timoulay Hotel & Spa truly is.

Kindest regards
Zahra Rizq
Gle Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

As others have said, the hotel is small, not suited for children, but has good disabled rooms which are large. Beds are supremely comfortable, clean linen and towels daily and TV channels are decent, one news and one film in English. There are no tea/coffee making facilities, and I like a cup of coffee in bed on my holiday- so take a kettle. The hotel is reasonably clean, but we smashed a jar of coffee in our room (accidently) and had fun watching the coffee granules remain under the bed, right by the wheels and the entire edge of the bed for 6 days- so the moral is, they only clean what you see!.

We are an easy going couple; We had booked and paid for 8 nights, a month in advance for this hotel, so when we arrived and were told that we could only stay for one night in the disabled room, as they had no payment for us nor any room for that length of stay, we were alarmed. The hotel produced further evidence later that night that our room had been cancelled by a 3rd party, but graciously "allowed " us to have our dinner. The next day at 10.15am we went to reception as agreed, only to find the staff that were supposed to be sorting out our problem were off. Eventually after 4 hours it was discovered that we had paid and could stay. We didn't want to move our stuff again so said we would stay in the disabled room. The next evening as we were getting in our car the manager came running out and told us we had to move rooms the next morning, to the room right next door as a guest who is regular there wanted our room. Being obliging we said ok. So imagine our surprise when we asked could we swap our eveing meal for a lunch meal one day, and were told "No". Everything was apparently sorted out and a change of this nature impossible. And I would qualify this as service - which others have said is good, but its not really. You have to ask for things, and then its brought, so they don't seem to care or know what you need, in order to give you good service.

Meals are a restless affairs. You constantly have to hunt down cutlery from other tables if you weren't in the first batch of clients, food was not replenished until the last slice/scrap had been used/taken. Breakfast is supposed to be till 10.30am, but if you go there at 10.25am, everything is being put away. The was an outside kitchen that did omelettes/boiled eggs etc and in the evening chips/pizza/ skewers of food, cooked to order, which we found by accident as there are no signs pointing out its existence. Hygiene for food is a huge problem there, with little to no understanding about covering food, and often we couldn't eat much or indeed anything because of that. Birds would fly in and eat from the bread/cake display in the morning and flies were all over the place, all the time Definately stay away from the fresh salads/fruit/bread . Alot of the evening meal options were lukewarm, but there was a reasonable choice. In short the food was at best ok.

Re kittens;
Please see Dave C review 24th March. As you will read the hotel state the cat and kittens are doing fine. We went May 21st which would make those kittens about 9 weeks old, and there was no sign of them, certainly making them to young to have fled the "nest", but the female cat was pregnant again. Subsquently she gave birth to 6 kittens on 28th May. Somone had placed them in a cardboard box, and the cat was being fed. On 2nd June the kittens disappeared (other guest have kept me up to date), their fate no doubt the same as the first batch. I'm just very annoyed that the hotel thinks it can write responses as to Dave C review and think we are idiots and belive everything they say. This attitude is prevelant in the TImoulay, as if it wasn't, there have been enough bad comments about their restuarant and bar for them to do something about it.

Distance to beach; is about a 8 minute slow walk downhill there, uphill (steep) back.
Distance to night life about the same if you want to go into other hotels, or get a cab for £2 to a more lively area.

The hotels most redeeming feature is its value for money which I feel is excellent and for that reason I would recommend it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have view of sea and pool but no overhead covering, which can make them unbearably h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Timoulay, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was dissapointed that you had issues during your stay with us. I have taken note of them and am looking in to them in more detail.

It is from feedback that guests give us that we try and improve the service at the hotel.

Please let me clarify just the point about the kittens, When I said in my answer to Mr Dave C that the kittens were doing well and we just moved them to other place, I never said that they are still in the hotel, we moved them out of the hotel to a place where they can find food easily when they can be autonome.

It is impossible for us to keep all the cats in the hotel, plus the stray cats who feel free to come in, because we have complains from other guests who feel disturbed by the pool or by the restaurant terrace especially in a small hotel as ours,but it does not mean that we don't care about pets, but solutions must be found.

So as to avoid other kittens, we decided to castrate as soon as possible, the cat who belongs to the hotel.

We are really sorry that you kept such a negative image of us, we love pets but we are in the service business and sometimes our actions to handle such a situation, reflects a wrong image of us, our main goal here is our guest satisfaction and feel sorry that we fault with you.

At your earliest convenience please fell free to contact me persoanlly at any time to discuss your stay further with me.

Sincerly yours
Zahra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Timoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Timoulay

Address: Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agadir
#2 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Timoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timoulay Hotel is located in the popular spa resort of Agadir, Morocco. This 4-star design hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a Spa and Wellness centre and a large sea water swimming pool.Guest rooms at the Timoulay are spacious and have a terrace with a view of the hotel’s gardens, pool and the sea. All rooms are air-conditioned and have satellite TV.A full breakfast buffet is served daily at Restaurant Ayour, which also offers traditional and regional dishes.At the hotel’s Spa, guests have access to a Hammam, sauna and fitness room. There is also a range of leisure activities close to the Timoulay, such as scuba diving and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Timoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timoulay Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Timoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.