We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday & Well Worth a Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Newport, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday & Well Worth a Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely 2 week holiday at Tikida Dunas Hotel. The hotel is ideal for families with plenty of activities to do throughout the day. My 5 year old son loved going to the Kids Club each day even though he was the only english speaking one there. Around 90% of the children attending this club are French and then the rest are German. However, all of the staff could speak good english and as my son is so outgoing he really did enjoy going there. The language barrier was not a problem for him at all. In addition, there was a mini disco each evening which he also loved going to and despite the kid's show being mostly in french and german, he couldn't wait to take part and be on the stage. For older children and adults, there was aqua aerobics every morning and darts, bingo, step aerobics, water polo and other water games daily. However, the evening entertainment for adults in our opinion wasn't that fantastic, but this did not bother us as our young son was ready for bed around 10.30pm each evening. This hotel is definitely not for people who want a quiet relaxing holiday. The hotel is situated on the sea front and is guarded to stop the locals from entering the hotel. However, all of the locals are very friendly and Agadir in general is safe. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There is a choice of 3 different restaurants, ranging from true Moroccan style, to the Grill Restaurant and then the overall main restaurant that caters very well for the French, German, Italian and British nationals. We had a family bedroom that was cleaned daily and was to a very good standard. One thing to note is that approximately half of the guests at the hotel are french with the other 50% consist of british, german, italian and muslim families. The first week of our holiday was rather dull and overcast most mornings, however it was still very warm and by around 2pm, the sun came out and was beautiful for the rest of the day and evening. Apparently, we were told by the locals that this was typical Agadir weather for this time of year. Our second week however was much better and we had sunshine from the minute we woke up. We had no rain whatsoever. However, the locals did say that they would not recommend tourists to visit during August because it is extremely hot and humid and can be very foggy with no sun. The sandy beach runs for miles and there are plenty of lifeguards manning the beach because the waves can be quite big and strong. Whilst we were there, we did a camel trek which our son absolutely loved. We did not organise this through Thomson because if you walk along the seafront in the evening you will see the Berbers with their camels looking for business. They charge half the price of Thomson and it is very safe to go with them. We would definitely return to this hotel with our son. However, for couples looking for a quiet relaxing holiday, I would recommend the Rui Tikida Beach Hotel situated right next door to this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    684
    221
    70
    29
See reviews for
615
1,011
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We chose this hotel after seeing a bargain on Thomas Cook TV and after checking on trip advisor that it had good feedback......and we were not disappointed.
The hotel was lovely and clean and incredibly spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful and we truly had a great stay. The pools were gorgeous and there were always available sun loungers, and the beach is literally on the door step so if you fancy a change its not far to go.
The food was really good, a lot better than some all inclusives, always hot and fresh and the choice was endless. Our stomachs were filled all week!
All in all a lovely holiday in a good location and a fab hotel.
The only aspect that could be improved is the evening entertainment. Staff try hard but it is amateur, but watchable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfriesshire, scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just back from agadir and after reading some of the other reviews we were abit weary of this resort but I have to say our experience out there was absolutly amazing. Firstly on arriving at the riu tikida dunas hotel we were amazed at how big the hotel was, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean with fresh towels and mineral water supplied daily. We could not of asked for a nicer view i would advise to request a top floor room with a sea view or you could end up with a view of someone else's apartment. (please note there are NO lifts) . Breakfast in the hotel was not for us as it was more catered for the french, but you always found something nice like toast or cereal. For lunch and dinner you could choose a variety of meats and pasta which varied from day to day so you were never eating the same thing repeatedly there was also alot of fish. The hotel offers 2 speciality restaurants; a moroccan themed (We never tried so cannot comment) and a grill which we would not go back to as we found there was more variety in the main buffet restaurant. One thing we did find very annoying is the way the FRENCH looked you up and down continuously and stared through out the holiday but after speaking to some other british guests we found it was nothing personal its just the way they are! The best part of the holiday was the ANIMATION TEAM in the hotel, they were there day and night to keep you entertained. During the day they provided water games, darts etc and at night they put on comedy and dancing shows. They put 120% effort into everything they do. We made friends with all the animation team and they were nice enough to take us to a few nightclubs which made you feel safer. We went to PAPAGAYO (tikida beach nightclub), FACTORY and ACTORS. Many people will think agadir has no night life but having been to places like Turkey Agadir has just as much to offer if not more! The only thing is the nightclubs are all part of hotels so they are not altogether but taxis cost you roughly £2 to get to. Music in the clubs can vary from r'n'b, house and arabic house all which were very good. Outside the hotel there was plenty to do, about a 25min walk down the beachfront takes you to the resort centre where you will find a mcdonalds and a pizza hut! We were very surprised after reading other reviews that we were only hassled 3 times as in our group we had 2 blondes! All you have to do is say a firm no and they will leave you alone. As there was so much to do at the hotel we only went out once but speaking to the guests we found the souk would have been worth visiting. There was also a 40min train ride you could do, camel rides, trips to marakech and plenty more. We only booked for a week but this is definately not long enough as there is so much to see and do. The main reason why we are writing this review is to let younger people know that morocco has just as much to offer for our age (21-25), its nightime when agadir comes to life!!! Overall we could not find any faults with the hotel or agadir itself. If your looking for a holiday where you can relax through the day and PARTY till sunrise this is the place to be!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have just returned from a week at this hotel with four girlfriends (in our 50's if that helps!) And it was FANTASTIC. The hotel was superb, brilliant location, spacious rooms, beautiful decor throughout, spotlessly clean, fabulous pools, beautifully manicured gardens, the food was superb with plenty of choice - too much really (we all put on weight!) - such a drag to come home to one plate of food per meal!

The staff were fantastic, most speaking good English and very good French. They were really polite, very obliging and extremely friendly. From chambermaid, pool staff, gardeners, waiters, waitresses, bar staff, reception staff and managers - they all greeted you every time like they were really pleased to see you and had known you forever. They also have a really good sense of humour and you can have a good laugh and joke with them. They ARE a really lovely people.

Even the beach hawkers - if you take them with a pinch of salt and not too seriously (kind of break down the 'them and us' barrier)! Having said that, don't worry, the beach hawkers don't come anywhere near the hotel - they have a clearly defined boundary line on the beach! But relax with them, have a laugh with them, they're ok.

The shops are a different kettle of fish - we didn't enjoy the shopping, they REALLY don't leave you alone. I'm used to travelling to places that hassle and I enjoy a bit of haggling - but this was extreme and not in the slightest bit enjoyable.

Anyway, back to the hotel. It was terrific - in every way. We were there in term time, but I imagine it would also be a fantastic place to go with a family. There is an excellent entertainments team at the pool, looking after the toddlers, entertaining the teens, and providing activities for the grown ups. But . . . . it's NOT in your face.

One of our friends was sick while we were there and we had to call a doctor, who came very promptly and was extremely thorough in his examination. He gave her a perscirption and when we went to reception to find out where to get it, they organised the whole thing - from collecting the prescription to taking up to the room. They couldn't have been more attentive.

I know Riu is a very good chain of hotels and the Tikida Dunas seems to be a fine example of everything you want but don't dare to expect these days! In future, I shall always check out the Riu hotel in future destinations and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this particular one.

Well done Riu - and especially well done Tikida Dunas!

PS If you want a really good leather shop where they don't hassle you, just ask me. I had a beautiful full length trench coat made in 24 hours at a fraction of what it would cost here. I got really bogged down and irritated in all the leather shops but this one was terrific. A proper shop with proper people!!! Not pushy, just really nice, helpful, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The above says it all, we got back on 25th June after one week celebrating our wedding anniversary. The reception staff were very efficient and our cases were in our room within minutes. Pleased with our room, very spacious and well mantained. Food was very tasty and fresh, everywhere was clean. All staff were very friendly and attentive without getting on your nerves.
No problem getting a sunbed later in the morning and the pool was cleaned every day. The animation team were a very happy bunch who obviously enjoyed their job. They also provided the evening entertainment which was ok not brilliant, but something to watch in the evenings. I would say that their is not much for teenagers and twent-somethings to enjoy in the evenings, so they would maybe rather go into town which would only take minutes in a taxi.
We only went on one tour and that was to Touradant to visit the medina and souk. It was in the souks where we got fedup being pestered by the sellers even when you have said "no thank you" numerous times. We found out later that if we had said "La" ( no thank you in Moroccan ) firmly, they would have got the message.
There are quite a few steps at the hotel, but there are also slopes so you're ok if you have a buggy or can't manage the stairs. The Thomas Cook rep Nezha was very nice and efficient. We wouldn't go back only because we never visit the same place twice but we would definately recommend it. Enjoy !
We tipped quite a few staff before we left to show our appreciation and they were very grateful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Hotel and staff wonderful, could not fault them at all. But the hotel is always full of rude greedy arogant french who let their children run amok during meals. They push and shove to get to the food. They also like shouting around the pool area. The staff are very patient, they smille through it all!!! You would need either excellent self control or pack your boxing gloves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Well all i have to say is omg what a brill place this was, Hotel, Food, Room were wonderful every where was kept clean at all times, The staff were all friendly our only wish was we had booked two wks in stead of one because it just goes too quickly.
Of course you get the odd niggle about some off the peeps that were there, but there part of your holiday & like anything you make your holiday what you want to make it.
Overall we had an excellent time met some lovely people & would go back again.
Regards
Linnmo (Lincs) date of travel 15/06/09

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Address: Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#6 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel???S private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.