We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just spent the most relaxing week at the Riu Tikida Dunas in Agadir. Having been once before, it was just as we remembered it. The rooms are very big and are kept spotlessly clean. The food is excellent. So much choice even at lunchtimes. The staff are the most friendly and helpful you will find anywhere. The pool area is excellent. Alot of space and you are not cramped altogether. The gardens are very well kept. There is a big pond where frogs seem to reside. One evening on our way back to our room we found two or three of the staff trying to catch the frogs. We asked them why and what they were going to do with them. They told us that they were transferring them a little bit further away because some guests had complained about the noise. How sad is that?. We remembered the frogs from our last visit and they are amazing. We wouldn't hesitate in returning and in fact alot of English people seem to return time after time. If you want a really relaxing break you must try this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    720
    229
    70
    29
See reviews for
646
1,067
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Riu Tikida Dunas: Arrived at Agadir on the 18th March on time from Manchester, our transfer took us approximately 35 minutes. We were greeted at the hotel with the traditional welcoming drink and finger snack. The check-in was quick and efficient, and our luggage was taken to our room by the porter.

Room: The room I found was a bit dated, and would certainly benefit from a facelift. Twin beds pushed together, along with a sofa, coffee table, small fridge. You may find that the TV will have no English speaking channel, just ask at reception and the will tune some news channels in for you. There is a security box that comes free of charge, not electronic and you will need to ask for a key from reception. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, neither is there a bidet in the bathroom. The maid kept the room spotless and changed the bed lined and towels each day, which was great, but yet she could not be bothered to put the bottles of water in the fridge? Being a wheelchair user I had asked for a wet-room facility, again I was told the hotel does not have such facilities. At least I had a ramp at the front and rear entrance to the room.

Dining Room: As in most Riu Hotels you would expect to find quality food and service in its dining room, you will not be disappointed at the Tikida Dunas. But saying that, this time Monday to Friday every was 1st Class, then Saturday and Sunday approx 100 locals came in and everything but the quality of the food changed. It seemed as if the influx of these locals changed the holiday atmosphere and impressed a certain amount of strain on the staff. Speaking to one or two of the dining room staff I got the impression they were glad to see them go. If you have one of your party celebrating a birthday/anniversary don’t forget to tell the head waiter, you will get a cake with candles and a bottle of champers and the staff will sing “Happy Birthday To You”

Swimming Pools: The hotel prides its self with huge manicured grounds in which there are situated 3 fair size swimming pools, none of which are heated. Whilst we were there towards the end of March shall we say that the water was quite refreshing when you first got in. As such there was plenty of room for you to swim around. As in most holiday hotels the early risers get up to reserve their sun bed by putting a towel on it, even though there is signs saying that this is not allowed. So if you want to guarantee a sun bed for your self set your alarm clock. There is no wheelchair access to the toilet facilities on pool side owing to the number of steps; You will need to use the lunch time restaurant or health spa. The are areas of the pool where the floor tile are missing.
There is also a nice indoor pool if there is a change in the weather, this water is warm, there are sun beds but they could do with a few more, there is also a changing booth that can be used. They do an aqua-aerobics class in this pool to suit all ages, and there is good easy access to the water.

Public Toilets: The public toilet are kept spotlessly clean, but what you will find is that there are a number of the cubicle doors that have either broken or no lock fitted to them. So be on you guard when you hear some one coming into your area, you may be receiving an unexpected guest.



Entertainment: The entertainment comes from two sectors, the Animation Team and a three piece Moroccan band that play most nights. The Animation Team work around the pool and on the beach during the day, and at the Founty Bar at night time where the put on a variety of shows throughout the week. The Moroccan band plays local music for people to get up and have a dance after a few drinks? Good selection of drinks at the bar which is backed up with good bar service, the drinks are of good quality not wishy/washy like I have had in some AI hotels.

Outside the Hotel: Outside the hotel you will find a promenade that separates you from the beach where there is a small roped off area with beds that belong to the hotel. If you walk to you right you can go for some distance right up to the marina where there are a number of designer boutiques where you can use you plastic. There are a few nice restaurants on route if you get a little hungry.

In Summary: This hotel has a lot to offer its clients in the way of quality product and service. Although it is spotlessly clean there are areas that look tired and in need of a facelift just to brighten it up. It is just small thing like the broken locks on the toilet doors, the walls in places that needed a coat of paint, broken tiles around the pool. Saying this I had a good time during my recent stay, and I will return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We returned from holiday at this hotel 2 days ago. I RETURNED WITH TEARS IN MY EYES AND BAGS UNDER MY EYES.
When we arrived room wasn't ready.we were waiting with our luggage on the outside terrace.after couple of hours we finally could pick up the keys! Rooms are not to 4* standard,even curtain in our room had small holes from bugs probably cause we found beetle and ants and best of the best COCKROACH in our bedroom.our friends had exactly same problem!so after couple days they changed our room where i plugged all the drains and holes in the walls so insect come come in!Isn't that sad?!It was meant to be our romantic get away!
Cleaners start early in the morning.In the whole of the hotel is tiled floor,so they are dragging all the furniture on that floor!no chance of having lay in as the noise of that cleaning process is really loud!i had to bang on the wall with my fists at 8.30am for her to realize she is noisy!not everyone on holiday wants to be up at that time.
Food was very repetitive but ok i guess.apart from ketchup tasting like fish. Lets put it that way you won't be hungry.
Pool outside is missing tiles,its really cold. Indoor pool is dirty but warm.
It is a lot French people there who can be really rude and at some point lots of Arab people as well who will give you looks of disagreement of what you wearing etc.That experience wasn't nice as i didn't go to that hotel so some Arab is not happy cause i hold my partners hand and drink alcohol,it was quiet off putting as it shouldn't happen in the resort!
If you decide to go to this hotel tip on the beginning before anyone does service otherwise you won't receive any service. Restaurant managers are waiting for tip when you entering the restaurant!isn't that strange?we always tip after dinner in UK!Do TIPPING!IF DON'T FORGET ABOUT HAVING NICE TABLE OR DRINKS ON THE TABLE.
We went with Thomson holiday and we were very disappointed!it is barely 2*holiday with quality of service and rooms they provided for us.we came tired and really annoyed from holiday and it shouldn't be like that!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from spending a week at this resort and have come home feeling really relaxed .This was our first time at an all inclusive Hotel and this hotel just ticks all the right boxes .The welcome we recieved from all the staff was genuine, and was maintained throughout all of our stay .The food was excellent , and plentiful. Our room was spacious and very clean ,every day fresh bottled water was given ,free. The entertainment on offer was to suit all taste. We will definitely be returning next year for longer .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We came back yesterday from a wonderful holiday here ... got the holiday blues today!!! We didn't know what to expect as we had never been to Morocco before and didn't know anyone either that could tell of us of their holiday experiences. The reviews on tripadvisor were really positive so we booked --- and we are so glad that we did! We went through First Choice and from the booking, the arrival at our hotel and the departure they were very good. We were a bit disappointed when we landed to see clouds and it was chilly (although nothing that we had left behind in England!) but the weather was lovely by the time we got to the hotel (the journey on the coach there was a novelty seeing how they live as we drove through the streets).

When we arrived at the hotel the staff were so welcoming, they took our luggage to our rooms while we went to the pool bar for some lunch and a glass of wine. Our room was spacious, the only downside was the beds and pillows were really uncomfortable and I did struggle to sleep. We couldn't believe the amount of cleaning that went on around the hotel at all hours, there seemed so many maids, bar staff and anyone in general who worked there had a broom or cloth in their hand! The management staff were always on hand to help,nothing was too much trouble for them.

We did have to move room as I didn't think our air conditioning was working, it was making a lot of noise but didn't seem to chill the room, we opened the door of a night to let some air in, I think this might be a bit of a problem in the Summer when the temperature rises, it was ok for us as it got quite cold of a night, we did get moved to a bigger room but unfortunately it was the same.

The food (and drink/cocktails) was great there was a main dining area which served lots of different food and also a Moroccan and Italian which you had to book. We dined in the Moroccan three times as it was cosy, the food was lovely but it was the same every time, the Italian was nice but it was where the lunch was served by the pool and it would have been nice to have a more intimate setting and waiter service, all in all we were impressed with the food.

The weather was better than we had expected, it was a bit chilly first thing til about 10ish and again about 5ish when it seemed to get windy but we laid out on the sunbeds all day, got a tan and needed the aftersun when we came in, the wind was very deceptive.

We didn't venture outside the resort of a night, we were happy to stay at the bar where there was always lots of people around and entertainment. and have few drinks and eat about 9.00 in the restaurants. We did have a walk along the promenade which is directly outside the hotel a couple of times during the day, we got approached by men trying to sell but a polite 'no thank you' was all it took for them to leave you alone. We overheard some conversations from couples who had gone to nearby nightspots and it seemed that they did have a great time! There is a little train that runs outside the hotel and takes you to the harbour, that was worth the experience and cost just under £3 for both of us for the return journey.

Would we go back - definitely ..... but just hope that they take note that the beds are uncomfortable!!! We did have a lovely relaxing break and have got some lovely memories from staying at the Riu Tikida Dunas.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent eleven days at this excellent hotel. From checking in to checking out I could not fault this hotel. The staff are absolutely brilliant - never too busy to exchange a few words whilst going about their duties. They were most friendly and helpful and any concerns we had were attended to either immediately or very soon the next day. Nothing was too much trouble.

OK - the beds and pillows were a little hard for my taste - but that would be my only real complaint. I was unwell one evening and management was really considerate and went out of their way to ensure that I was helped back to my room. Later that evening there was a kind telephone call to see if I was feeling better. These seemingly small acts of kindness really made me warm to the hotel staff and I would not think twice about returning for another holiday.

Well done to the staff and management!

Room Tip: I had a quiet room on the ground floor which was very nice, but on reflection I wish I'd chosen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just arrived back from the Tikida Dunas after a restful week of lots of food and drink and sunshine. After reading the reviews before we left could not wait to arrive and I must agree with all of the reviews concerning how clean the hotel is and how wonderfull the staff are.
We requested a quite room with a sea view and could not fault the room we as given it was the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. the rooms were cleaned everyday to a very high standard. The staff in the hotel work very hard and they make all the difference.
My honest opinion on the food was it is ok very all inclusive and I found the restarant a nightmare most nights, we found it hard to get a seat and it was not relaxing, the weekends got evan worse when the moroccan familys arrive as we did not go in to eat until 2115 as we could not find a table. The moroccan restarant was the best option which you have to book and this is great as they sit you with 6 other people so you get to make new freinds so would recommend this to you if you want a change from the hustle and bustle of the restarant.
My husband and myself ended up with stomach upset for the last three days of the holiday which was a shame and a few other people had the same.
But overhall the hotel is great the only thing I would change is the restarant of a night it would be better if they had different sittings.
thankyou to all the staff for your hard work that made our holiday great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, high floor with a sea view we was in room 3236 wonderfull nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay
Hotel Timoulay
#2 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#21 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#22 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Address: Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#6 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel???S private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.