We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very clean, excellent food, brilliant restaurant staff. Fantastic location.
Very Hard bed, bathroom needs tiles, paint, new shower screen, toilet seat and flush, poor lighting in bedroom.
Very loud and lively French entertainment, rude animation leader.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    295
    95
    29
    29
See reviews for
234
300
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I visited this hotel with my cousin for between 21-29 October 2013. We chose it because it had such high ratings on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Located right on the beach, it is one of the only hotels on the beach front with everything you need, and I mean everything, from great entertainment, even though some of it was in French, but to be fair, it is a French speaking country, to a fantastic deli that serves freshly made oven cooked pizzas and grilled hamburgers to great tasting shandy's and wines between lunch/dinner.

The staff were incredibly friendly and every one, every day, that we encountered said hello, good morning and dealt with any of our queries as best they could. On one night, an electrical fault in the local area left us without electricity or water, so besides being up all night and day until the problem was resolved, they gave us privilege to rooms to bath in, candles to light our room, and were soooo apologetic, even though it was not their fault. They were great and handled it really well.

So what's great about the hotel, well, where do I start? The staff are brilliant, the entertainment will keep you entertained regardless of your preference, the food is excellent, all freshly cooked and the menu changed daily, they have another restaurant on the beach with an a la carte menu, private beach with loungers and shades, excursions...did I mention excellent staff.

Well done Annette for managing a great hotel and for employing Mohamed who is a great asset to the company.

Go go go...Morocco and the Decameron will be a good basis for a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you can, spend a little extra and go for a sea view room, views are amazing and you'll be clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, well maintained, and impeccably cleaned daily. The staff were friendly, and the entertainment varied, however, the majority of the entertainment was in french, so unless you have a good grasp of the language, it can feel like you've been excluded.

The reps were great however, and happy to help where-ever they can.

We met a couple with their young boy who did feel a little excluded as the "kids club" was all in french.

Location of the room was the only real disappointment as was located directly above the night-club which went on until the early hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Loved this hotel . Everyone very friendly . We did not find it a problem that everyone spoke french they all tried to communicate always a smile from all the staff, food really good, but both my partner and I have returned with Campylobacter infection not what we bargained for. We did find undercooked chicken in one meal but hygiene appeared to be of utmost importance so not sure where we got it . I have now been ill for a week and am on antibiotics. We loved the resort of agadir. We went to Marrakech on a day trip long day and would not return. We also went for a hamma and massage which was different. Not so sure if my breasts should have been included in massage! Overall an interesting trip.would return to agadir and this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After readiing all the reviews recently regarding this hotel we were very worried about staying here. We called the company we booked with and the hotel prior to the holiday to confirm the booking and this was all ok.
On arriving at the hotel which was very late due to a delayed flight our room was a available and we were taken to our room. We found sandwiches in the room as we had missed dinner. We booked a sea view suite and weren't disappointed, the view was great! The only bad point about our room is that we thought it could do with a fresh coat of paint, especially in the bathroon and the balconey. Our room was cleaned daily.
The food was great and there was always a good choice available. The staff in the restaurant were very polite, always clearing up after us quickly and getting us drinks.
Plently of sunbeds available around the pool and umbrellas can be got for you on request. We didn't use the beds on the beach but these were available also. The beach was lovely but there was quite a bit of rubbish on there but that isn't the hotels fault.
The hotel is very clean and there were always maintence or cleaning staff around doing something.
This hotel is very French. All the entertainment and activities are in French also. It didn't bother us and it didn't ruin our holiday. I was disappointed with the Kids club as it was in French it put my 9 year old Son off from going. There were no other activities for children to do and they weren't allowed to join in on the adult ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this is awonderful hotel, spotlessly clean fabulous food,great staff, stayed for 23 nights in october13 couldnt ask for better. The hotels private beach is in front of the hotel, for the boys the sportsbar shows every sport in the world only open in the evening. The entertainment is in french which is only to be expected when 90% of the guest are french or belgian, for anyones information all the hotels in Agadir are the same. we certainly did not feel left out of it especially with the lovely Letia. I cant understand previous reviews about this hotel, all I can read is reviews about other hotels and Agadir which is irrelavent to the Decameron.

Room Tip: hotel is branded bronze silver and gold rooms which is self explanatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel in January 2013 for a stay in October 2013. We arrived at the hotel carried our cases into the hotel to be told that they were overbooked and sent us to another hotel which was 3*. We spent 2 nights at the hotel then back to the Decameron. We were then sent to the Founty Beach for 3 days so off we went in a taxi. The Founty beach was ok don't get me wrong but I had 14 days holiday and wanted to settle. Once returning the the hotel they had a room for us. Well what a dive. The room balcony looked out onto a brick wall and smelt bad of damp. There was mould round the bathroom and 2 dead cockroaches by the bed. We went back to reception and by this time my girlfriend was in tears. The staff did apologise but there were no more rooms available so we had to stick with it. The beds were ok but we had many visits from ants and cockroaches during our stay.

The meals at the restaurant were nice I must say and always something nice to eat. The only downside was flies around uncovered food. The pool was tightly packed with sunbeds so you found it difficult to get on and off your sunbeds it was that bad. The animation team only spoke French so we did feel left out and felt like an outsider. The beach was dirty with litter. If you had a bed by the beach you would have to go back to the pool bar for a drink so we bought cans from the shop and took them to the beach with us.

Overall I have spent time in 2 and 3 star hotels but never felt that I wanted to go home as much as I did here. If you like good food yes the hotel does have it. The drinks were watered down and the local spirits were abysmal. The entertainment and rooms ...well....I would say they were Turkish 2 star. Never ever again....I will go back to Agadir in the future but will opt for the Riu Palace as we walked round all 3 of them and to be fair they were all good but the palace was the best. They do cater for the Brits as well as other nationalities and the manager from each hotel di sow us round. Please Please give this hotel a wide berth and spend your hard earned cash on a better quality hotel...you have been warned

Room Tip: Choose another hotel and listen to the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#9 Family Hotel in Agadir
#10 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.