We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good points - but beware of false advertising!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of good points - but beware of false advertising!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We chose this resort because we wanted a beach location and our room was lovely - view of the sea, very quiet. However, we also chose it because it claimed to have watersports (my husband is a keen windsurfer), tennis and three restaurants which we would have access to have during our stay. We read the terms and conditions carefully, as we know from experience things sometimes close down during the low season; however, our package as advertised on the internet certainly claimed to have these conditions. It also claimed to have international brands of drinks and as other travellers have commented, if this used to be true, it is no longer. When we asked at reception about the watersports, they said they had 'swimming'. This did not impress us! There is a tennis court somewhere you can get a voucher for, but they told us we would have to get a taxi there, so we didn't bother. The gym is tiny and the photograph misleading. We were also disappointed to be told not only that the Asian-style restaurant was totally closed (we love Asian food), but that we could only eat at the other restaurant once during our entire stay. While this is common in many resorts, once again, it was not stated in our package. Reception staff were generally unhelpful.
However, given all of this, there were some very positive sides to our stay. The facilities were clean and service (except reception) was attentive and friendly. We speak enough French to get by but my accent is not very good and the waiting staff were good humoured and helpful. The buffet restaurant was the best I have ever experienced (I don't generally like buffets, which is why I was disappointed about the other restaurants). Food changed daily; there was a wide selection; it was hot rather than the usual lukewarm in many places. It was easy to get a table (although it was February) and drinks service was very attentive. The shows were mixed and there is very little tv worth watching, so bring a book or your own entertainment, particularly if you don't speak any French. We enjoyed walking along the beach and the fact the hotel was clean and people were friendly. We just think the advertising should match the reality of the situation.

Room Tip: Try to get near the beach rather than near the pool, unless you like all-day fun quizzes and music a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    276
    89
    29
    29
See reviews for
224
283
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just spent a week (early Feb 2013) at the Tahoukt and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel was clean and comfortable. All inclusive food was excellent with a varied selection for breakfast luch and dinner each day, plus a snack bar if you wanted more. The wine was pretty good and whilst the spirits were limited to local brands they were fine. As has been said begore, the hotel was mostly occupied by French guests (explains the decent wine I guess) and the entertainment was in french. Dont let this put you off though, we barely speak any french but had no problems as many of the hotel staff also speak some english. Location is great, right on the beach with its own private area and only a few minutes walk to other nearby bars and restaurants. Whilst the public areas and restaurant are 4 star, our room was more like 3 star - the lighting was poor and the shower head loose but nothing worth compalining about. We had a sea view junior suite that was right at th front of the hotel and this was an excellent location. We will definately be back to the Tafiukt to enjoy some winter sun next year.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are great, there is a night club near the hotel entrance so that may be worth avoidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for a week in February. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent with a different selection every evening. If you are sensitive to noise, you should be aware that there is a night club underneath the reception area which starts at 11.30 and goes on until 4.30+ am and you should be aware that it can be very noisy. the hotel changed my room when I asked, but it might help if you asked for a room as far away from reception as possible. The front desk staff have a problem with maths, four of our party were short changed when we went to change large notes to smaller notes. The shortage was rectified immediately, but I would suggest that you check carefully that you get what you are expecting before you leave the desk.

Room Tip: As above avoid the rooms near reception, if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days all inclusive. we are a British couple in our mid 20's . Here's how we rated the hotel in each area:

Food/Drink:
The food was really nice varied every day and was always plentiful. Every night a different cuisine.

Drink was good (however does not offer imported drinks as per stated on their website under the all inclusive features) they have imported bottles on show but these are purely decoration. In night club they only offer you limited drinks for free until 1 then you pay after. However overall can't complain with the drinks as they were all to decent standard just feel that they mislead you on the website.

Location:
The hotel is perfect location one of the closest to marina and one of the only ones that we saw which you could sit out front on beach to eat. Beach is right in front and private beach sector keeps hawkers away.
Agadir itself is nice but there isn't a hell of a lot to do I would say 4-5 days is enough here. We had perfect weather 25-30 every day but if it rained I think you would be bored very quickly.

TIP: if you want to book excursion don't book with hotel they wanted 1000 dirham for quad biking for 2 people walk out of the hotel and there's an excursion place that did it for 350 ... big difference!

Staff.
Waiting staff, bar staff and cleaners were lovely. Only a few spoke English but all were pleasant, bar man in Sports bar was really nice. The animation team only spoke French and as soon as they knew you were non French they left you alone . Please note ALL animation is in French so if you like to get involved and you don't speak French this isn't hotel for you.
The lady in reception really lets this place down. From the moment we walked in we could tell she took a dislike to us and she made us feel unwelcome. She failed to check us in properly then tried to charge us extra at the end for her incompetence of losing the voucher we handed in.

Room:
we had a standard double which had sea view.Standard was nice and the cleaners brought my partner in roses and fruit on her birthday which was nice touch.

Overall:
Hotel is geared up for French OAP's and as a Brits we felt slightly left out. We paid £75 a night all inclusive and for this price I would say it is more than worth its price . However slightly misleading website and receptionist with foul attitude let this hotel down a bit .

Room Tip: ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second and third visit (these last two forming the beginning and ending to a week in January 2013). The staff make the place, and the fare is first class and second to none for a hotel of this nature.

We have only spent two days on each occasion, but have noticed how well the place is run - and makes for an excellent springboard for arriving and departing Morocco in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went on a girls holiday to Agadir in October and stayed at the Decameron Tafoukt. I have traveled quite a bit and usually go away at least twice a year, but I must say this has to be one of the best holidays I have been on. It was my first time in Morocco and if the staff at this hotel and all the lovely people we encountered on our trip are anything to go by, you would be hard pushed to beat this experience. The food was lovely from breakfast to dinner. Every day there was a different theme and a wonderful variety of goodies to try. We spent a lot of time by the pool or browsing the nearby souks, and every evening there was a fantastic show for all guests. We definitely chose a great week, as there was a dance group visiting and they put on the most spectacular performances on several of the nights. There is a nightclub next door, which is great on any night, but really livens up after midnight. However, if you are looking for a great night out away from the hotel, the Sofitel Nightclub, which is a short taxi ride away is definitely a must. We had the most amazing Saturday night there; great DJ, live band, and again we met so many nice people.

Agadir is a small town so it was very cheap and very easy to get around. We visited the main "Sunday" souk, which was crazy, but fascinating, went to the Argan Oil factory, and also went on a tour of the island, which was also very interesting. The marina is a beautiful spot with chic boutiques and lovely cafes and bars.

Overall I would say this trip was the best time I've had in a long time, and I would most definitely visit again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went on a girly holiday with three other friends for a week, it was our first time here and we all had a wounderful time and where made to feel very welcome well more like royalty we had a very memorable time.
Our rooms where a good size for two sharing with lots of room for clothes and shoes but would have liked a few more hangers althought if i had asked im sure i would have got them, the room where also very clean and tidy and with a small fridge and a safe if your going in a group just ues one safe between you it will work out a bit cheeper as you pay for it for by the day /week we also had balconies that gave lovely views of the grounds that are beatifuly kept evrywhere is very clean.
The currency is regulated so you will get the same price in the airport, hotel,bank so you dont have to hunt around for the best deal.
There was a massive selection of food that was fresh every day lots of fresh fruit and veg you couldnt go hungry and the menu changed daily and there where themed evenings too which were a lovely experience.The staff also added to our great time while eating always helpful freindly polite and very entertaining we also really enjoyed thier Rose wine with our meals it was a lovely wine. There is entertainment thoughout the day and night was so you always have something to do if you wanted to but during the day we where mostly by the pool or at the beach thats only a few moments walk away, and the hotel has its own private section with loungers and umbrellas and tables to keep drinks on we loved it the only downside was the towles you have to get towels as certain times that where a bit strange but as long as you remember what they are and always give your towle in when you finished with it youll be fine!
In the evening we almost alway watched different shows that where on again each nigth is something different dance comady ect yes its all in French but they do really try and cater for the non french speeking and do translate so dont be put off but other reviews as all the staff where very welcoming and accommodating!! The hotels is in a really good locaton and everything is very close by the beach the souk, there is a small souk just behide the hotel if you walk down the beach frount there are loads of shops resturants even a mcdonalds.
The hotel has its own night club so right next door its great and we had some fun nights there dont get there to early and things dont liven up till later but a good night out and you can just stumbel to your door no cab needed!!
All in all great hoilday would highly recommend and cant wait to get back there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#9 Family Hotel in Agadir
#10 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.