We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why leaving this heavenly place?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why leaving this heavenly place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

This holiday week was splendid.
We enjoyed the meals in every restaurant. The variety, choice and quality of the food was incredible. The staff in the restaurants and bar where impeccable: always a smile, always ready, always attentive.
We want especially like to mention the animation team, in particular Omar and Youni. We have never experienced such devoted animators. Not pushy but always enthusiastic and sincere: a real joy to participate an activity our just chatting a bit. Omar and Youni form a definite plus for the hotel!
Our room was always tidy and clean every day cleaned with care. That made us feel really welcome and that what is a stay in a hotel is all about of course. Not only our room but every area was kept clean at all times.
We never had a worry on our minds. We didn’t even feel like leaving the hotel for excursions. Why leaving this heavenly place?
I hope we get the chance of returning to Agadir and then, of course to the Tikida Beach Hotel.
Looking forward already!
Bert & Catherine.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    440
    165
    48
    26
See reviews for
226
641
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Well this hotel was amazing, what can i say..????????
Staff were great.!! On arrival we were given a Cocktail each which was amazing.
Our Room was great, it had a massive bed, (i mean enough to sleep like 3 adults) sofa T.V balcony with a sea view. Our rooms where cleaned daily with fresh towels and towelling robes we were supplied with 2 bottles of cold water in our fridge everyday.
the T.V had great channels including BBC 1 (WOW).
Pool was really nice, It was clean and constantly being maintained through the day, the sunbeds/ sun loungers were very pleasent, they were thick double matresses on four poaster wooden frames or single. very comfy. :)
AND the food?? all i can say is WOW....!!
My husband is originally from Morocco and he thought the standard of the food was great. For breakfast they had things like bacon sausage eggs, fryed, boiled, poached, pancakes fresh fruit, sliced meat all different kinds sliced cheese all different kinds, doughnuts, croissants and lots more which i can't remember, they also so had a good selection of juice's orange, pineapple, cucumber, tomato and sooooo much more...
Lunch was a great to, a selection of fresh fish barbecued, chicken, and other meats also a great salad bar and desert stand. ICE CREAM TOO...!!!
Dinner Was A MASSIVE selection about 5 varieties of Moroccan Tagine (which my husband said tasted as good as home made. :D) and lots of other options pork and other meat, veggies ans salads and great cakes and ice creams for desert...!!
We didn't leave this hotel during the days only evenings as there was only 1 BAR open in the evening so it was hard to get service and was sooooooooooo busy,
Overall a GREAT stay at this hotel, we are 100% going back next year.. :D

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Fancied a short break in the sun and also to pursue my hobby of Astronomy with a spot of stargazing and watching the Hubble Space Telescope pass overhead (its not visible from the UK, only Morocco).
Couples everywhere as expected but its not a romantic location for moonlit walks along the beach if that's your thing ; It probably was 8 months ago but since then they have installed football style blinding floodlights to illuminate the beach all night. Great if you want to play football at 10 pm (they were). Useless for stargazing . Bang goes that idea.
Did see Hubble through binoculars, despite lights and the beach and pool are good.
Mostly French people, who seem more civilised than the average brit on holiday. Nice and quiet. If you enjoy cruises then this hotel is for you. NB avoid a room on the nighclub end. I had to move my room after the first night to get some sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

My second time at this hotel, so Yes it must be ok/good or i would nto have gone back.
1st of all this time i did two weeks (v's one week last time) and i feel its a one week hotel.
2nd some parts of the hotel were better this time, some were not so good.
my stay was 5th-19th Oct 2009 in a party of three.
Our first week was quiet and the Brit crowd were less friendly then the 2nd weeks brits.
Made some goods friends in the 2nd week inc "Mad Dave" lol if you read this you was there between the 12th-19th you will know what i mean, made the holiday so much fun.

I will break the hotel review down into groups
RECEPTION- Very poor and i would have to give it zero stars. We had booked two books one twin sea view and one single room. When we arrived to a long check in Que and finally got seen to they told us we dont have the rooms you have booked (paid for) you will have to accept a suite, firstly i agreed to look at this but soon returned and said no i was not going to sleep on a sofa when i had paid a lot for a single room ( a lot extra ) the man on reception would not listen and just kept on saying we dont have the room so its hard luck you have to take what we give you. I would not back down and after a hour argusing they found a single room as if my Magic so at 23.30 we finally got the two rooms we had paid for. The staff on reception are rude, not helpful and the worse i have ever meet anywhere in the world ZERO STARS

BAR - Staff were great, always bringing you drinks to the table of an evening, peanuts on the table for pre-dinner drinks and the drinks were good for all-inc FOUR STARS

POOL, SUNBEDS, POOL BAR - All great, clean pool, best sunbeds in the world, staff at pool bar (Tarik was the best) good and got to know your drinks requests, just need to give a little more ice when asked for. FIVE STAR just cos of the beds were so nice.

RESTURANT - We felt that the food lacked presentation and was limited choice in our eyes, i got very bored with the food and some days the only thing to eat was pasta or chips. However the cakes were very good. 3 STAR

ROOMS - lovely room once we got them, great sea view from the twin room, and good side sea view form the single room. Cleaned very well every day. needs some draws in the rooms, i guess they are a little dated but all in all very nice. 4 STARS

SERVICES -
Pool cleaning and bed cleaning round the pool good. 5*
Mantainance - needed drain un blocked this was done as soon as i asked for it to be done 4*
lifts - broken a lot 1*

OVERALL i feel this hotel is a 3+ star hotel and not 4+ however i had a lovely time and would return, however the UK tour companies have pulled out of this hotel, so will give the Rui DUNES next door a try next time which looked nice form the tour we was given of it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We went in October 2009. Good time to go if you don't want it too hot or busy.
It tended to be cloudy in the morning then came out to about 25 degrees C in the afternoon. Like a good sunny summer's day at home (if we ever got them).

The place is very clean. Rooms are a good size with bathroom, shower, toilet, mini fridge and TV with limited Satellite - Have you ever seen "The Simpson's" and "Malcolm in the Middle" in French??
Try and get a room with a balcony as these are bigger. We were originally allotted one without a balcony and asked to change . This was done very efficiently with no problem. Maybe because the hotel was fairly quiet??
Our room had a sea view, of sorts, it was side of the hotel on so you COULD see the sea.

I recommend you request a sea view or pool view.

The pool is very clean. I could swim underwater, eyes open and no stinging. There are a range of sunbeds, from the traditional type to Queen Bed size with mattresses.

Food is generally good with a fair selection, but you do get some repetition of foods.
i.e. you get Tagine - the local Moroccan dish every meal, either chicken, beef, lamb or vegetable. But there are plenty of other options and generally of a good standard. The waiters are attentive and friendly without being fawning and obviously waiting for a tip.

The Animation team were good and friendly with a good sense of humour. I had 3 tennis lessons (as part of the All inclusive) The guy had limited English but we got by with my limited French/Anglais.. There was water aerobics, table tennis, boules/petanque, archery, yoga etc.

The drinks are OK. The beer is typical lager type - not particularly strong but palatable.
We tried Gin & Tonics, and one of the cocktails along with a Brandy and they were OK but not brilliant. The red wine is good - I'm no connoisseur but I like my red wine and it was very palatable. We tried the rose too and that was fine.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the restaurant where they have lunch. This looks over the beach and the promenade (more about this later). So you get a lovely view of the harbour. Food is good here too.

The hotel is set a little out of town along a brick promenade. This is a great walk in an evening. The promenade is about 3 miles long and very flat for those who aren't that good with steps. It's about a 2 mile walk to town.

One thing about the hotel. It does have rather a lot of steps. Whilst there are lifts, you need to go up and down steps quite a bit to get around. Those who are unstable on steps or not that agile may want to give this a miss. It won't even work if you get get a ground floor apartment as you still have to go down steps to get to the restaurant.

The hotel had a mix of English and French, with a few Germans. If you can remember some O Level French it helps to get by generally in Morocco. Though everyone speaks English in some way. There was also a French TV crew there on our last day filming for a French soap. So I may by on French TV at some point !?!

My wife went for two massages and this was comparable with UK rates, (though more expensive than we have been to before in Egypt for example). Both were very good apparently.

There was the occasional aircraft noise - you are only 25 minute transfer time from the airport, but this was only about once a day.

There is some evening entertainment. It has more corn than a packet of those Kelloggs cereals, but it is is OK. There is a duo singing various songs in various languages to various levels of tunefulness. I think the most recent English song we heard them sing was "Letter from America" by SuperTramp - about 1976 we think.
They have entertainment such as a Magic act, Snake charmer, A whirling Dervish type act - which was more entertaining than you may imagine. I know there was other stuff but we didn't go every night.

Couple of Tips:

Suggest you leave a 20 Dirham tip (approx £1.50) after an evening meal and you get great service then for the rest of your holiday......

When you go have some small change in euros at the airport. There are some be-suited persons who will grab your bags and take them to your transfer coach. If you get there and you're not quite sure what's going on it can catch you on the hop. Give them a Euro and they're happy. Either that or say clearly "No Dirhams". Then they leave you alone apparently. If your travel currency person is like ours and gave you the smallest note of 200 Dirhams - about £18. you don't want to give a tip for carrying your case 100 yards!!

There is a limit on the number of currency you can take in per person - 1000 Dirhams (About £90). But there is a cash point at the hotel, just outside the main entrance.

If you go to the Souk - it's worth it. Just need to be careful. We went and were approached by a chap as soon as we got out of our taxi. He said he would show us round!!. Bit shady, we thought. But something our rep didn't tell us is that the government pay for 25 people to show people round. Initially I tried in my limited French to explain that we wanted to be left alone. But one of the stall holders came up and explained the situation.
After that he was great. Showed us to the areas we wanted to go to. Helped with the haggling. No charge for the service and he didn't hang around for a tip after.
Don't be afraid to walk away when haggling. You'll be amazed what happens to the price...

Overall - Very good hotel. Not as impressive as some I've seen in Egypt, but more "homely" and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdare
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband & I have just spent 2 weeks at the Riu Tikida Beach & had a great holiday . It was our first visit to Morocco & we were very pleased both with the hotel & agadir . Every part of the hotel was spotlessly clean . Our room was very spacious & comfortable . The food was very good with a good selection , the only downside was that the breakfast never seemed to be very hot so i just had toast every morning but there was plenty of selection of cereals , pastries ,bacon , sausage , eggs pancakes , waffles , cheese & ham .We found some of the waiters at the main restaurant were very good but there was one or two were quite rude & would give the french guests priority over the british . If we asked for wine at lunchtime or dinnertime we would be given a full bottle which was left at our table . The service at lunchtime meals at the pool / beach restaurant was second to none , we usually sat at the same table & was served by Lhoucian who we found to be the friendliest waiter at the hotel , he looked after us very well & just a 20 dirham tip every day he would cut our bread for us , just keep bringing us beers , clean cutlery & nothing was too much trouble for him . All the waiters work very hard . The moroccan restaurant we found to be very nice & we ate there a few nights as they have a different set meal every night which was very filling & very hot , I don't think we have ever had such hot meals anywhere as we had there ( but not spicy hot ).The waiters there were excellent & made us feel very special especially Siad who i believe was in charge of the restaurant .
The pool was very clean & the sunbeds were the biggest I have ever seen , some of them were like double beds . We spent our days on the beach which was great because there was always a lovely breeze , but in the afternoon it got a little too breezy & the sand would blow into your face , but we had to be careful not to burn . One day at 4.30 pm it was 39 degrees . Zuba was our beach attendant who reserved our loungers every morning & ask us if we would like drinks from time to time . One morning my husband got stung by a bee on the beach & Zuba rushed to the bar to get some ice & fresh mint & rubbed it on my husband's leg to stop the stinging , he was excellent .
The entertainment wasn't too bad actually , with different shows every night such as a magician , belly dancer , snake charmer , acrobats , but we saw the same acts twice in two weeks but it wasn't a problem . There was a resident singer & keyboard player there nearly every night ,and the keyboard player even downloaded a particular song for me to sing as i sang a few times , they make such an effort .
The animation team were really nice people who always spoke & made a fuss when they saw us . Omar & Youni were the main ones , they made the women feel very special & would take us by the hand & take us to the dancefloor for a dance , then take us back to our tables .
The reception staff were hit & miss , it all depended who was on duty , if you had a problem some would help but others weren't that bothered . When we arrived at the hotel we were put in room 267 ( if i remember rightly ) & it was directly above the main bar which was very noisy but we were moved to the 4th floor the next day , but we could still hear the music blasting from the Zanzibar a couple of nights , when we phoned reception at 1 am we were told there was nothing they could do & it would stop at 2 am , so we had to grin & bear it basically .
All in all we had a great time with the lovely people we met , and we will definately go back to this hotel , hopefully in the near future & it's only a 3 hr flight there & 3 1/2 hr flight back .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Just come back from a week at this hotel - lovely place, and Agadir is really nice too!
Yes there were a couple of downsides - the reception staff are useless and quite rude (waiters and bar staff are lovely), some people were put in rooms near the Zanzibar which was extremely loud (they complained and were moved), I complained and the manager was there within 5 minutes and sorted things for me (regarding a late meal). But I honestly had a great time, the food, drinks and entertainment were great. THe hotel itself is very clean and the pool area and the beach is great. This was my first time in Morocco and I would definitely go back - the people are not as pushy as in Tunisia and Egypt. I had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay
Hotel Timoulay
#3 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#24 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#20 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#9 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#12 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach* 4-story building* 12,000 garden* 1 km from downtown Agadir* 500 m to a supermarket and shops* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Beach Hotel
Riu Tikida Beach Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.